Dragonslayer (Babymouse Series #11)

( 4 )

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and ...

See more details below
Hardcover (Library Binding)
$11.69
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (16) from $1.99   
  • New (9) from $6.12   
  • Used (7) from $1.99   
Dragonslayer (PagePerfect NOOK Book) (Babymouse Series #11)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

Get ready for the next big epic fantasy . . .
In a distant kingdom a growing darkness falls over the land. One is called to defend . . . to bring hope . . . to slay the Mighty Dragon. . . .Could it be . . . Babymouse? Our brave young hero will lead her fellow Mathletes in the quest of a lifetime, a death-defying fight to win back both her school’s honor and the coveted GOLDEN SLIDE RULE. Can she conquer the evil Owlgorithms and her own personal dragon—MATH? Find out in Dragonslayer—the 11th hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
Babymouse reigns supreme in this cute addition to Jennifer Holm's winning series. This episode pits this heroic rodent against her most fearsome personal dragon: Math. To win back her school's honor and wrest the coveted Golden Slide Rule, this diminutive gladiator must put pull out all the stops and decimal points. An epic adventure in a playroom near you.
From the Publisher
Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Children's Literature - Kathie M. Josephs
I never liked math myself, but I sure didn't have the adventures that Babymouse does when she gets an F- on a math test. Instead of her teacher calling her in at lunch to help him, she is called in at lunch to be part of the Mathlete Team. Is she ever shocked! Then, on her way to her locker, a very strange occurrence takes place. Babymouse learns that her locker is actually a portal to another world, where a witch tries to change her into stone. Back at school, she learns about the Golden Slide Rule trophy, and she knows that she wants it. If she can bring the trophy back, she will restore honor to the school. The story takes the reader to a hazardous battle in which Babymouse and her teammates successfully slay the Mighty Dragon. Babymouse also learns how to face her fear of Math triumphantly. This is a delightful adventure story that will please readers. Written in graphic format, this book is especially well-suited to those who are reluctant readers and never seem to finish a book on their own. It is also a wonderful way to introduce a less well-known genre to young people. Young readers who want to read anything they can get their hands on will enjoy the graphics and fast-paced text. The full-color graphics make an enormous impact on the story. This is a good story for both boys and girls, and it will be read over and over again. I can't say enough good things about the terrific illustrations. Reviewer: Kathie M. Josephs
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780375957123
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Publication date: 8/25/2009
  • Series: Babymouse Series , #11
  • Format: Library Binding
  • Pages: 96
  • Age range: 7 - 10 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.70 (w) x 7.10 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several highly acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor-winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Babymouse + "MATH" Dragon = Funny Story

    Babymouse is back again in book #11 of this smart, sassy graphic novel series. Surprise - the "dragon" is not a fire-breathing beast but something Babymouse fears most...MATH! When she gets an (F-) on her math quiz, Babymouse is forced to join the school mathlete team, the Fighting Fractions, to help bring back the Golden Slide Rule and restore the school's honor. How can a student who gags at geometry survive this arithmetic nightmare? With a little humor and a lot of imagination. Readers will enjoy her daydreams that refer to popular movies such as The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe and The Lord of the Rings. As an educator, I love the way Babymouse slays her personal math dragon. When her teacher encourages her to "believe in herself" she relies on her drawing and reading skills (not to mention her lively imagination) to solve a complicated word problem and bring home the math trophy. One of the best Babymouse books to date!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    I liked this book because.....

    I love the babymouse seires because it's like a real person in middel school.Wite an another soon!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)