×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dred Scott's Advocate: A Biography of Roswell M. Field
     

Dred Scott's Advocate: A Biography of Roswell M. Field

by Kenneth C. Kaufman
 
In Dred Scott's Advocate, Kenneth C. Kaufman suggests they are to be found in the character of Roswell Field himself, in his interests and beliefs, and in the circumstances of the times in which he lived. Told through the eyes of the brilliant attorney and plaintiff who participated in this historic courtroom drama, this story re-creates the suspense of more than a

Overview

In Dred Scott's Advocate, Kenneth C. Kaufman suggests they are to be found in the character of Roswell Field himself, in his interests and beliefs, and in the circumstances of the times in which he lived. Told through the eyes of the brilliant attorney and plaintiff who participated in this historic courtroom drama, this story re-creates the suspense of more than a decade of litigation, as Dred Scott maneuvered his way through an often hostile American judicial system in the hope of achieving his freedom.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Kaufman, a freelance scholar based in St. Louis, uses scattered archival collections and secondary sources to flesh out the life of the lawyer who became Dred Scott's attorney in 1852 and helped steer his case to the Supreme Court. Although one of the best property lawyers in Missouri, the antislavery Field was unable to overcome the proslavery bias of the court. Fragmentary evidence leads to a heavy use of phrases like perhaps and must have been. Frustrating because of this speculativeness, Kaufman's work is nonetheless a well-written attempt to re-create the life of an intriguing minor actor in the history of the antebellum United States. For academic libraries.Anthony O. Edmonds, Ball State Univ., Muncie, Ind.
Booknews
Recreates the story of more than a decade of litigation as Dred Scott maneuvered his way through the American judicial system with the help of Field, who took the case from Missouri to the Supreme Court. For readers of American, African American, and legal history. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780826210920
Publisher:
University of Missouri Press
Publication date:
09/24/1996
Series:
Missouri Biography Series
Pages:
280
Product dimensions:
6.42(w) x 9.58(h) x 1.02(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews