The Drop Edge of Yonder

The Drop Edge of Yonder

by Rudolph Wurlitzer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Time Out New York's #1 Best Book of 2008.

"[A] funny, inquisitive novel [that] asks readers to re-examine their ideas of the Western frontier and personal freedom." —Jeffrey Trachtenberg, Wall Street Journal

"May be the most hallucinogenic western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye." —Erik Davis, Bookforum

Overview

Time Out New York's #1 Best Book of 2008.

"[A] funny, inquisitive novel [that] asks readers to re-examine their ideas of the Western frontier and personal freedom." —Jeffrey Trachtenberg, Wall Street Journal

"May be the most hallucinogenic western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye." —Erik Davis, Bookforum

"A picaresque American Book of the Dead... in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Joseph Heller, Kurt Vonnegut and Terry Southern." —David Ulin, Los Angeles Times Book Review

"Should be as well known as anything by Cormac McCarthy, Steve Erickson, or Jim Harrison." —Paul DiFilippo, Barnes & Noble Review

“Rudolph Wurlitzer takes no prisoners. An uncompromising, wild, and woolly tale.”—Sam Shepard

“Sam Beckett with a six-gun and a sack of rattlesnakes.”—Gary Indiana

"Where has Rudy Wurlitzer been for the last fifteen years? The mental traveler who gave us Nog and the Two-Lane Blacktop screenplay takes another vision quest, this time into the Old American West. His mapping of mythic and sacred landscapes and his ability to distinguish between different tribal world-views makes this a truly revealing conversation."—KCRW's Bookworm

In his fifth novel, Rudolph Wurlitzer has written a classic tale of the Western frontier and created one of his most memorable characters in Zebulon, a mountain man whose view of life has been challenged by a curse from a mysterious Native American woman whose lover he inadvertently murdered.

The Drop Edge of Yonder begins in the mountains of Colorado and ends in the far reaches of the Northwest, a journey that includes the beginnings of a Mexican revolution, a voyage across the Gulf of Mexico to Panama, and up the coast of California to San Francisco and the gold fields. Along the trail, Zebulon becomes involved in a series of tragic love triangles, witnesses the death of his mother and father, and confronts the age-old questions of life, love, and death.

Rudolph Wurlitzer is the author of the novels Nog, Flats, Quake, and Slow Fade, and the nonfiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places. Among his twelve produced screenplays are Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, Two Lane Blacktop, Voyager, Walker, and Little Buddha.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Known for 1969's Nogand the 1973 script for Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, Wurlitzer delivers a mystic western possessed of anarchic charms and incantatory beauty. Mountain-man, trapper and opportunistic beast Zebulon Shook starts the tale by getting cursed by a half-Shoshoni half-Irish woman. Doomed never to know whether he is in the spirit world, the real world or just dreaming, he departs from his homestead along the Gila River in New Mexico to sell pelts. After meeting up with his adopted brother, Hatchet Jack, and losing at cards to Delilah, a beautiful Abyssinian courtesan, Zebulon is shot during a barroom dustup and sets out for California, where the gold rush is gathering steam, bringing with it the law and order that threatens the "mountain doin's" that he loves so dearly. Zebulon is pulled ever deeper into the era's bizarre historical footnotes: immortalized as a notorious outlaw by a reporter; narrowly missing joining the Walker expedition to colonize Nicaragua; reconnecting with Delilah at a San Francisco opium den; and finding the law and order forces dogging his heels to the last. This furiously told legend weaves history and myth into a riotous tale. (Apr.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780976389552
Publisher:
Two Dollar Radio
Publication date:
04/01/2008
Pages:
304
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.80(d)

Meet the Author


Rudolph Wurlitzer is an acclaimed screenwriter and the author of The Drop Edge of Yonder, Quake, Flats, Slow Fade, and the nonfiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >