Duainfey (Duainfey Series #1)

Duainfey (Duainfey Series #1)

3.1 6
by Sharon Lee, Steve Miller
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

1. Anne McCaffrey raves about the fantasy of Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, “Every now and then you come across an author, or in this case, a pair, who write exactly what you want to read, the characters and personalities that make you enjoy meeting them. . . . I rarely rave on and on about stories, but I am devoted to Lee and Miller novels and stories.

Overview

1. Anne McCaffrey raves about the fantasy of Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, “Every now and then you come across an author, or in this case, a pair, who write exactly what you want to read, the characters and personalities that make you enjoy meeting them. . . . I rarely rave on and on about stories, but I am devoted to Lee and Miller novels and stories. Start at the beginning, dear reader, and you will be rewarded with a sanctuary you can escape to, as I do when this world we’re stuck with is impossible to endure.”

2. Mary Balog, author of Slightly Dangerous, heartily agrees: “I was mesmerized, awed, and totally entertained. I am hooked by the Liaden world. Bravo!”

3. Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s The Sword of Orion (Phobos Books) was a Locus best seller.

4. Lee and Miller have published ten novels (from Ace and Meisha Merlin) in their popular Liaden series.

5. Lee and Miller have a huge internet presence and a rabid fan base, as determined for their best-selling series for the Liaden series e-books on Baen.com..

6. Will appeal to readers of Mercedes Lackey and Lois McMaster Bujold.

7. Advertising in Locus, Romantic Times, and more.

8. Includes teaser chapter for the sequel, Longeye.

Rebecca Beauvelley is a ruined woman.

In a moment of girlish folly, she allowed a high-flying young man to take her up in his phaeton, not realizing that he was drunk. When he dropped the ribbons, she recovered them, but not in time to avoid disaster. The young man was killed in the accident. Rebecca survived, with a withered arm to remind her of the wages of folly, and a reputation in tatters.

Against all expectation, her father has found someone, an elderly rogue, who will marry her. Rebecca's life seems set, and she resigned to it, when Altimere, a Fey, appears and uses his magic to show her two futures: In the first, she is abused and neglected as the dutiful wife; in the second, she is dressed and bejeweled like a princess. Rebecca chooses the second future and elopes with Altimere.

Unfortunately, Altimere has an agenda of his own.

The first of a two-book series. Watch for the sequel, Longeye, coming April 2009.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

In a world separated by a thin border from the lands of the Fey, Rebecca Beauvelley knows that for her younger sister Caroline to make a marriage beneficial to their family, a husband must soon be found for Rebecca, despite her crippled and useless arm. When her father betroths her to a cruel northern lord, she runs away with the charming elder Fey Altamire. Too late, Rebecca discovers that Altamire's intentions are far from honorable and that she has become a sexual pawn in his rise to power among the Fey and human lands. The husband-and-wife writing team, authors of the "Liaden Universe" series (e.g., I Dare), begin a new series that blends the fantasy and romance genres in one seamless whole. Some steamily graphic sex scenes may limit this to an adult readership; otherwise, for most libraries.


—Jackie Cassada

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781416591672
Publisher:
Baen
Publication date:
02/24/2009
Series:
Duainfey Series, #1
Pages:
496
Product dimensions:
6.86(w) x 4.12(h) x 1.02(d)

Meet the Author

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller live in the rolling hillls of Central Maine with two insistent muses in the form of cats and a large cast of characters. The husband-and-wife team's collaborative work in science fiction and fantasy include twelve novels and numerous short stories in their award-winning Liaden Universe®. In addition to their collaborative work, Steve has seen short stories, nonfiction, and reviews published under his name, while Sharon has seen published short stories, newspaper pieces, and two mystery novels.

Steve was the founding curator of the University of Maryland's Kuhn Library Science Fiction Resesarch Collection and a former Nebula juror. For five years, Sharon served the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, consecutively as Executive Director, Vice President and President. Sharon's interests include music, seashores and pine cones. Steve also enjoys music, plays tournament chess, and collects cat whiskers.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Duainfey (Duainfey Series #1) 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Rebecca Beauvelley has little prospect for a good marriage ever since her arm was crippled in a phaeton accident in which the drunken young male driver died. In order for her younger sister to make a good marriage, Rebecca first must be wed. Shockingly, her father has arranges for her to marry some elderly rake. Though she would prefer not to, Rebecca has no say in the matter.

However Altimere the Fey crosses the thin divide to show Rebecca her mortal future of abuse from an uncaring spouse if she says I do or she can go with him and cross into his realm. She daringly chooses to accompany the charming Altimere. Once she enters the land of the Fey, she learns her host is using and abusing her as a degraded sexual pawn to gain political power.

At the Fey court, Meripen Vanglelauf awakens from his needed healing sleep after suffering torture at the hands of humans. He hates mankind who also killed his beloved after torturing her in their quest to control fey power. In spite of his dark feelings, his queen sends Meripen across the divide to the human side to learn what poison they are using to kill the woods.

This is an engaging erotic fantasy that fails to tie up any major thread even the anticipated meeting between the two flawed lead characters never occurs; the assumption is their encounter will happen in the sequel, LONGEYE. The story line is action-packed with both subplots fast-paced as the theme switches from a Regency romance to a dark horror fantasy. Radically different from the "Liaden Universe", DUAINFEY is a strong set up tale that will probably better serve the audience to read it just before LONGEYE.

Harriet Klausner
scot2512 More than 1 year ago
I bought this eagerly as I have enjoyed the Liaden series. Don't waste your money. Between the sex, S&M, poor dialogue and non existent plot it reads as if the authors are throwing together a screen play for a soft porn video. Normally I donate my overflow books to our public library but this went straight to the garbage where it belonged.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago