Dusklands

Dusklands

by J. M. Coetzee
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"J.M. Coetzee's vision goes to the nerve center of being."—Nadine Gordimer

J.M. Coetzee's newest book co-written with Arabella Kurtz, The Good Story, is now available from Viking Books 

A shattering pair of novellas in the tradition of Conrad's Heart of Darkness, Dusklands probes the links between the powerful and the

Overview

"J.M. Coetzee's vision goes to the nerve center of being."—Nadine Gordimer

J.M. Coetzee's newest book co-written with Arabella Kurtz, The Good Story, is now available from Viking Books 

A shattering pair of novellas in the tradition of Conrad's Heart of Darkness, Dusklands probes the links between the powerful and the powerless. "Vietnam Project" is narrated by a researcher investigating the effectiveness of United States propaganda and psychological warfare in Vietnam. The question of power is also explored in "The Narrative of Jacobus Coetzee," the story of an eighteenth-century Boer frontiersman who vows revenge on the Hottentot natives because they have failed to treat him with the respect that he thinks a white man deserves.

With striking intensity, J. M. Coetzee penetrates the twilight land of obsession, charting the nature on colonization as it seeks, in 1970 as in 1760, to absorb the wilds into the Western dusklands.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Intense, clear and powerful. The promise, so brilliantly fulfilled in his later work, is clear in this earliest novel." —Daily Telegraph

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780140241778
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/28/1985
Pages:
144
Sales rank:
358,547
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.38(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"Intense, clear and powerful. The promise, so brilliantly fulfilled in his later work, is clear in this earliest novel." —Daily Telegraph

Meet the Author

Born in Cape Town, South Africa, on February 9, 1940, John Michael Coetzee studied first at Cape Town and later at the University of Texas at Austin, where he earned a Ph.D. degree in literature. In 1972 he returned to South Africa and joined the faculty of the University of Cape Town. His works of fiction include Dusklands, Waiting for the Barbarians, which won South Africa’s highest literary honor, the Central News Agency Literary Award, and the Life and Times of Michael K., for which Coetzee was awarded his first Booker Prize in 1983. He has also published a memoir, Boyhood: Scenes From a Provincial Life, and several essays collections. He has won many other literary prizes including the Lannan Award for Fiction, the Jerusalem Prize and The Irish Times International Fiction Prize. In 1999 he again won Britain’s prestigious Booker Prize for Disgrace, becoming the first author to win the award twice in its 31-year history. In 2003, Coetzee was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Adelaide, Australia
Date of Birth:
February 9, 1940
Place of Birth:
Cape Town, South Africa
Education:
B.A., University of Cape Town, 1960; M.A., 1963; Ph.D. in Literature, University of Texas, Austin, 1969

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >