Don't Look Back

Don't Look Back

5.0 4

Editorial Reviews

Barnes & Noble - Rachel Saltz
A portrait of the artist as a young brat, D. A. Pennebaker's Don't Look Back follows Bob Dylan on his 1965 tour of Britain. On the cusp of his incarnation as a rock-'n-roll icon, Dylan exhibits an eerie confidence and self-possession on stage. Offstage, the center of a media onslaught -- almost quaint to today's eyes -- Dylan is a whirlwind of words, sometimes charming and insightful, sometimes badgering and sophomoric. He delights in irritating journalists small and large (he informs a Time reporter that a bum vomiting in the street is what's "real") and playing bad boy with his hangers-on and pals -- Alan Price, Bob Neuwirth, Joan Baez, and, in a wonderfully vicious sequence, Donovan. Pennebaker's verité camera shows clearly what sets Dylan apart from the hurly-burly that surrounds him: his ability to withdraw and focus. Watch him typing lyrics in a hotel room while Baez sings, or in a telling moment just before going onstage: Neuwirth clowns, people wander in and out, but Dylan is already apart and alone -- the artist ready to step into the spotlight of the world stage.

Product Details

Release Date:

Special Features

Five Additional Uncut Audio Tracks; tWO COMMENTARIES by D.A. Pennebaker and tour road manager Bob Neuwirth; Alternate Version of the Subterranean Homesick Blues Cue Card Sequence; Original Theatrical Trailer; D.A. Pennebaker Filmography; Bob Dylan Discography; Cast and Crew Biographies

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Bob Dylan: Don't Look Back - '65 Tour Deluxe Edition
1. Subterranean Homesick Blues [2:18]
2. London Arrival [6:37]
3. Who's This Donovan? [3:18]
4. The Times They Are A-Changin' [12:22]
5. I Just Go There and Sing 'Em [5:07]
6. Turn, Turn, Turn [9:51]
7. Denmark Street [6:14]
8. Newcastle [2:16]
9. The Science Student [8:15]
10. The High Sheriff's Lady [1:36]
11. I Don't Feel Like Singing [6:48]
12. Who Threw the Glass? [3:47]
13. Donovan [4:26]
14. Royal Albert Hall [3:30]
15. The Interview [6:28]
16. The Last Concert [12:49]
Disc #2 -- Bob Dylan: Don't Look Back - '65 Tour Deluxe Edition
1. Prelude [2:46]
2. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright [4:53]
3. Purple Heather [2:45]
4. Love Minus Zero/No Limit (Soundcheck) [1:39]
5. To Ramona [3:55]
6. Liverpool, May 1 [1:09]
7. You're the One [1:49]
8. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [6:41]
9. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry [1:57]
10. The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll [1:56]
11. Savoy Hotel, London, May 4 [1:27]
12. Remember Me (When the Candle Lights Are Gleaming) [1:27]
13. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding) [7:29]
14. Newcastle, May 8 [3:19]
15. It Ain't Me, Babe [3:15]
16. Manchester, May 7 [:55]
17. If You Gotta Go, Go Now [2:22]
18. Savoy Hotel, London, May 8 [4:51]
19. Royal Albert Hall, London, May 9 [2:05]
20. She Belongs to Me [4:54]
21. I'll Keep It With Mine [1:21]
22. Alternate Take - Subterranean Homesick Blues [2:18]

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >