Dr. John Teaches New Orleans Piano

BN.com price
(Save 9%)$49.99 List Price
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (7) from $29.69   
  • New (5) from $29.69   
  • Used (2) from $48.89   

Special Features

[None specified]
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 6/28/2005
  • UPC: 073999789812
  • Rating:

  • Source: Homespun
  • Time: 2:00:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 67,087

Scene Index

Side #1 -- Dr. John Teaches New Orleans Piano, Vol. 1
1. Intro [:58]
2. "Frankie and Johnnie" Performance [1:43]
3. "Frankie and Johnnie" Broken Down [3:00]
4. "Frankie and Johnnie" 'Walk Up' to IV Chord [:32]
5. "Frankie and Johnnie" Contrary Motion [2:34]
6. "C.C. Rider" Performance [2:25]
7. "C.C. Rider" Turnarounds [4:57]
8. "Pine Top Boogie" Performance [2:02]
9. "Pine Top Boogie" Left and Right Hand Basic Patterns [:43]
10. "Pine Top Boogie" Intro [:37]
11. "Pine Top Boogie" Improvisation [1:21]
12. "Blueberry Hill" Performance [2:51]
13. "Blueberry Hill" Broken Down [3:30]
14. "I'm in Love Again" Performance [1:43]
15. "I'm in Love Again" Broken Down [1:08]
16. "The Fat Man" [1:16]
17. "Junkers Blues" [5:42]
18. Second Line Rhythms Explained [1:41]
19. "Shoo Fly" [1:20]
20. "Workin' in a Coal Mine" [:44]
21. "Get Out of My Life" [2:30]
22. Dr. John's Background [6:28]
23. "Goodnight Irene" Performance [4:32]
24. "Goodnight Irene" Broken Down [1:35]
25. "Swanee River Boogie" [4:05]
Side #2 -- Dr. John Teaches New Orleans Piano, Vol. 2
1. Intro [:59]
2. Huey Smith Style [5:03]
3. Huey Smith Style Broken Down [3:00]
4. 8 Bar Blues [7:55]
5. "Tipitina" [2:22]
6. "Qualified" Performance [3:44]
7. "Qualified" Broken Down [1:33]
8. "Qualified"Intro [1:17]
9. "Iko Iko" Performance [2:27]
10. "Iko Iko" Broken Down [3:01]
11. "Big Chief" [3:38]
12. "Mess Around" [3:25]
13. "Mess Around" Broken Down [1:15]
14. "Louisiana Lullaby" [2:15]
15. "Louisiana Lullaby" Broken Down [2:12]
16. "Big Mac" [4:00]
17. "Big Mac" Broken Down [:47]
18. "Midnight in New Orleans" [3:08]
19. "Midnight in New Orleans" Broken Down [1:09]
20. "When the Saints Go Marching In" [3:25]
21. "When the Saints Go Marching In" Broken Down [2:18]
22. "Just a Closer Walk With Thee" [2:06]
23. Outro [1:15]
24. Web and Contact Information [:22]
Read More Show Less


Side #1 -- Dr. John Teaches New Orleans Piano, Vol. 1
   Song Menu
      "Frankie and Johnnie"
      "C.C. Rider"
      "Pine Top Boogie"
      "Blueberry Hill"
      "I'm in Love Again"
      "The Fat Man"
      "Junkers Blues"
      "Get Out of My Life"
      "Goodnight Irene"
      "Swanee River Boogie"
   Chapter Points Menus
   Web and Contact Information
Side #2 -- Dr. John Teaches New Orleans Piano, Vol. 2
   Song Menu
      Huey Smith Style
      8 Bar Blues
      Iko Iko
      Big Chief
      Mess Around
      Louisiana Lullaby
      Big Mac
      Midnight in New Orleans
      When the Saints Go Marching In
      Just a Closer Walk With Thee
   Chapter Point Menus
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously