Gift Guide

El Niño

( 1 )


This performance of the opera El Nino recorded at the Theatre de Paris-Chalet in 2000 features vocalists such as Dawn Upshaw, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Willard White, and more in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo / DTS)
$39.99 price
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (7) from $3.98   
  • New (4) from $22.38   
  • Used (3) from $3.98   


This performance of the opera El Nino recorded at the Theatre de Paris-Chalet in 2000 features vocalists such as Dawn Upshaw, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Willard White, and more in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less

Special Features

Making-of includes interviews with Peter Sellars, Kent Nagano, Dawn Upshaw, John Adams
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/19/2002
  • UPC: 807280022193
  • Original Release: 2000
  • Source: Arthaus Musik
  • Region Code: 0
  • Presentation: Wide Screen / Stereo / DTS
  • Sound: stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound
  • Time: 1:59:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 96,608

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening Credits [1:12]
2. "Mai Mai Mai Mai... Maiden" [6:39]
3. "Hail, Mary, Gracious!" [4:47]
4. "Porque Desde el Principio" [6:21]
5. "Porque Desde el Principio" [2:25]
6. "He Aquí Que Te Anuncias" [1:25]
7. "For With God No Thing Shall Be Impossible" [1:06]
8. "And Mary Said, Behold the Handmaid of the Lord" [3:36]
9. "And Mary Said, My Soul Doth Magnify the Lord" [3:31]
10. "Now She Was Sixteen Years Old" [3:20]
11. "Then Joseph Feared Greatly" [3:11]
12. Interlude [1:43]
13. "For Thus Saith the Lord" [3:53]
14. "They Drew Near to Bethlehem" [1:59]
15. "Como Todos Los Huéspedes Mi Hijo, Mi Hijo Me Estorbaba" [1:08]
16. "Fea, Enferma, Aburrida" [2:15]
17. "[Consentí.] Y Por la Herida en Que Partío" [2:13]
18. "Now I, Joseph, Was Walking About" [2:53]
19. "A Little Girl Comes Running" [1:41]
20. "People Shout at Her and She Won't Let It Go" [1:57]
21. "[O Quam Preciosa Est Virginitas Virginis] Huius Que Clausam Portam Habet" [3:39]
22. "Pues Mi Dios Ha Nacido a Penar" [4:49]
23. "Now When Jesus Was Born in Bethlehem of Judaea" [2:32]
24. "Woe Unto Them That Call Evil Good" [4:24]
25. "When They Had Heard the King, They Departed" [2:34]
26. "I Am Gaspar. I Have Brought Frankincense" [5:31]
27. "And When They Were Departed" [1:09]
28. "My Soul's Above the Sea" [4:18]
29. "Then Herod, When He Saw That He Was Mocked by the Wise Men" [1:34]
30. "La Oscuridad Engendra la Violencia" [2:11]
31. "Nadie. Nadie" [2:13]
32. "No Hurgues en los Archivos" [1:31]
33. "Mas He Aquí Que Toco una Llaga"/"Recuerdo, Recordamos" [3:18]
34. "And There Shall Be Upon Ev'ry High Mountain" [3:27]
35. "Pues Está Tiritando Amor en el Hielo" [3:28]
36. "They Came to a Certain Cave and Wanted to Rest in It" [2:50]
37. "And So It Happened, That on the Third Day After Their Departure" [3:21]
38. "Señora de los Vientos, Garza de la Llanura" [8:05]
Read More Show Less


Side #1 --
      Start Programme
      Select Title
      Making Of
         John Adams - The Composer
         The Making of El Niño
         The Virgin Mary
         A Cosmopolitan Performance
      Audio Tracks
         PCM Stereo
         Dolby Digital 5.0
         DTS 5.0
         Subtitles Off
      Resume Movie
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't miss

    This isn't an opera but rather a staged oratorio about the Christmas fairy tale. Dawn Upshaw, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson and Willard White sing and tell the story in English, Spanish and Latin. Three countertenors from Paul Hillier's group Theatre of Voices back them up, and the London Voices serves as a chorus. The singers use a lot of hand and body motions to illustrate what they are singing, and they are accompanied in this by three dancers. The dancers also appear in films that are shown on a screen above the stage. The film is done in 3 settings, so you're actually seeing the story in 4 different ways simultaneously. There are no sets or props, and everyone is in street clothes. The sound and picture quality are excellent, and subtitles are in 4 languages. Peter Sellars directs, and he wrote the libretto with Adams. There's a 30 minute feature with Adams, Sellars, Upshaw and conductor Kent Nagano in which they talk about the piece. Enough with the background, this is an excellent oratorio, and the performers do a splendid job of presenting it. Adams' music flows so well that people who don't like ''modern'' music will have no trouble with it. The only problem is the price. Adams' music sells so poorly to begin with that charging half again as much as most classical DVDs will only prevent people from buying it. If you can afford it, it'll be a jewel in your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews