Gift Guide

Julius Cesar (English National Opera)


This performance of the George Frideric Handel opera Julius Cesar by the English National Opera and Chorus under the conduction of Charles Mackerras features vocalists such as Janet Baker, Valerie Masterson, Sarah Walker, and Della Jones in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (6) from $18.04   
  • New (4) from $18.04   
  • Used (2) from $33.69   


This performance of the George Frideric Handel opera Julius Cesar by the English National Opera and Chorus under the conduction of Charles Mackerras features vocalists such as Janet Baker, Valerie Masterson, Sarah Walker, and Della Jones in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/22/2011
  • UPC: 032031456990
  • Original Release: 1984
  • Source: Kultur Video
  • Region Code: 1
  • Aspect Ratio: Pre-1954 Standard (1.33.1)
  • Presentation: Stereo
  • Sound: stereo
  • Language: English
  • Time: 3:00:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 71,412

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Janet Baker
Valerie Masterson
Sarah Walker
Della Jones
James Bowman
John Tomlinson
John Kitchiner
Tom Emlyn Williams
Brian Casey
Noel Davies Conductor
Charles Mackerras Conductor
Technical Credits
John Copley Director, Producer
John Michael Phillips Director
George Frideric Handel Score Composer
John Pascoe Set Decoration/Design
Michael Stennett Costumes/Costume Designer
Brian Trowell Translator
Read More Show Less

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Julius Cesar
1. Overture [3:07]
2. Scene One: Caesar! Caesar! Egypt Acclaims Thee! [1:38]
3. Scene One: Kneel in Tribute, Fair Land of Egypt [2:04]
4. Scene One: Curio, Caesar Has Come [2:39]
5. Scene One: Tyrant Avoid My Sight [3:51]
6. Scene One: Mother! / Cornelia! [:42]
7. Scene One: Grief and Woe All Hope Deny Me [6:27]
8. Scene One: The Time for Tears Is Over [:28]
9. Scene One: Come Rouse Yourselves to Vengeance [4:13]
10. Scene Two: You Shall Be Queen Cleopatra [1:58]
11. Scene Two: Yet Why Despair? [4:35]
12. Scene Two: Pharaoh, My King! [1:17]
13. Scene Two: Upstart, Barbarian and Traitor! [3:45]
14. Scene Three: Spirit of Mighty Pompey [3:10]
15. Scene Three: A Nobly Born Young Maiden [2:18]
16. Scene Three: Here Within Thee [3:10]
17. Scene Three: Alas! Reviled and Neglected [1:57]
18. Scene Three: O Star of My Desire [5:23]
19. Scene Four: Caesar! A Generous Destiny [1:14]
20. Scene Four: How Siletly, How Slyly [6:32]
21. Scene Four: Sire, With Sextus Her Son [1:47]
22. Scene Four: Never Reject a Tender Lover [5:08]
23. Scene Four: Mother! / My Dearest! [:33]
24. Scene Four: Condemned to Grieve and Cry [7:36]
25. Scene One: Have You Done as I Ordered [1:13]
26. Scene One: Listen! / What Is That? [1:41]
27. Scene One: Lamenting, Complaining [4:27]
28. Scene One: Fly Then, Fly Oh My Heart [:40]
29. Scene One: Aria: "Fleet O'er Flowery Meadow Gliding" [7:19]
30. Scene Two: Still Despairing, Still Lamenting [2:08]
31. Scene Two: Lady, Forget Your Grieving [3:26]
32. Scene Two: Sigh No More, Forget Lamenting! [3:08]
33. Scene Two: He Is No Son [:25]
34. Scene Two: Wounded the Serpent [5:08]
35. Scene Three: Soon He Wil Come [:36]
36. Scene Three: Venus, Fair Lady [4:50]
37. Scene Three: Ah Gods! What Do I See? [2:40]
38. Scene Three: In Anger and Fury [1:44]
39. Scene Three: They Have Found Him [1:13]
40. Scene Three: Hear My Prayer [10:08]
41. Scene One: Sinfonia [:40]
42. Scene One: So! You Are Beaten! [:52]
43. Scene One: I Shall Tame Your Pride [4:16]
44. Scene One: And So in One Brief Hour? [1:06]
45. Scene One: Flow My Tears [6:39]
46. Scene One: From the Perils of the Ocean [8:50]
47. Scene One: Nirenus, the Battle Is Fought and Lost [2:36]
48. Scene One: See in Spate the High Cataract Storming! [4:29]
49. Scene Two: Ladies, My Faihful Servants [6:44]
50. Scene Two: Stormy Winds My Ship Has Taken [2:48]
51. Scene Three: Sinfonia [3:02]
52. Scene Three: Here, Curio and Your Legions [2:30]
53. Scene Three: Dearest! / Fairest! [2:50]
54. Scene Three: Long, Long May Egypt [:31]
55. Scene Three: Proclaim We All Great Caesar's Glory! [2:44]
56. Scene Three: Credits [2:06]
Read More Show Less


Disc #1 -- Julius Cesar
   Scene Selections
      Act I
      Act II
      Act III
      English Subtitles: On
      English Subtitles: Off
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously