Les Contes d'Hoffmann


This performance of the Offenbach opera Les Contes d'Hoffmann recorded in Paris features vocalists like Aquiles Machado, Konstantin Gorny, Katharine Goeldner, and Maria Bayo in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (8) from $21.97   
  • New (6) from $21.97   
  • Used (2) from $38.55   


This performance of the Offenbach opera Les Contes d'Hoffmann recorded in Paris features vocalists like Aquiles Machado, Konstantin Gorny, Katharine Goeldner, and Maria Bayo in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less

Special Features

Interviews with María Bayo, Aquiles Machado & Juan Carlos Matellanes (President of ABAO); Illustrated synopsis; Cast gallery
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/27/2007
  • UPC: 809478009689
  • Original Release: 2006
  • Source: Bbc / Opus Arte
  • Region Code: 0
  • Sound: DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound
  • Time: 3:05:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 89,534

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann - Act I
1. Prologue: Opening Credits [3:18]
2. Prologue: Prelude & Introduction - Glou, Glou, Glou [2:36]
3. Prologue: Recitative - La Vérité, Dit-on, Sortait D'un Puits [3:00]
4. Prologue: Recitative & Couplets - Le Conseiller Lindorf, Morbleu! [1:22]
5. Prologue: Recitative - Voyons 'Pour Hoffmann'. Bon! [3:59]
6. Prologue: Scene & Chorus - L'entr'acte Commence [4:01]
7. Prologue: Scene & Song - Vive Dieu! Mes Amis [2:09]
8. Prologue: Recitative & Song - 'Notte e Giorno Mal Dormire'... Il Était Une Fois Á La Cour d'Eisenach [7:40]
9. Prologue: Finale - À La Bonne Heure Au Moins! [2:32]
10. Prologue: Je Vous Dis, Moi, Qu'un Malheur Me Menace [5:28]
11. Act I: Recitative & Couplets - Là...Dors En Paix [1:49]
12. Act I: Recitative - Allons! Courage Et Confiance [2:48]
13. Act I: Couplets - Voyez La Sous Son Éventail [1:44]
14. Act I: Recitative & Trio: C'est Moi, Coppélius [3:13]
15. Act I: Hein!...Vous? Ce Cher Maître! [2:03]
16. Act I: Chorus, Scene & Couplets - Non, Aucun Hôte Vraiment [4:58]
17. Act I: Couplets - Les Oiseaux Dans La Charmille [6:59]
18. Act I: Ah! Mon Ami! Quel Accent! [2:02]
19. Act I: Recitative & Romance - Ils Se Sont Éloignés Enfin!...Ah! Vivre Deux [3:26]
20. Act I: Finale - Tu Me Fuis?... Oui, Pauvres Fous [4:36]
21. Act I: Est-il Mort? [1:34]
Disc #2 -- Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann - Act II/III
1. Act II: Barcarolle - Belle Buit, Ô Nuit d'Amour [4:09]
2. Act II: Recitative & Couplets - Amis, l'Amour Tendre Et Rêeur, Erreur! [1:26]
3. Act II: C'est Bien! On Est En Fête! [2:58]
4. Act II: Air - Scintille, Diamant! [2:25]
5. Act II: Cher Ange [2:53]
6. Act II: Air & Duet - Ô Dieu! De Quelle Ivresse [1:55]
7. Act II: Aujourd'hui, Cependant [2:27]
8. Act II: Scene & Song - Schlémil!...J'en Étais Sûr! Ensemble! [1:41]
9. Act II: Septet - Hélas! Mon Coeur S'égare Encore [3:10]
10. Act II: Finale - Écoutez, Messieurs [2:55]
11. Act III: Opening [:28]
12. Act III: Romance - Elle a Fui, La Tourterelle [4:40]
13. Act III: Recitative - Malheureuse Enfant, Fille Bien Aimée [2:59]
14. Act III: Couplets - Jour Et Nuit, Je Me Mets en Quatre [3:44]
15. Act III: Frantz... C'est Ici! [:43]
16. Act III: Recitative & Romance - Enfin Je Vais Savoir Pourquoi... Vois Sous l'Archet Frémissant [4:57]
17. Act III: C'est Une Chanson d'Amour [6:37]
18. Act III: Qu'as-tu Donc? [2:20]
19. Act III: Trio - Pour Conjurer le Danger [6:02]
20. Act III: Ne Plus Chanter! Hélas! [3:03]
21. Act III: Trio & Finale - Tu Ne Chanteras Plus? [4:08]
22. Act III: Ta Mère, Oses-tu L'invoquer?...Chère Enfant, Que J'appelle [5:04]
23. Act III: Mon Enfant! Ma Fille! Antonia! [3:01]
24. Epilogue: Entr'acte, Scene & Finale - Voilà Quelle Fut l'Histoire... Il Faut Se Décider [7:05]
25. Epilogue: Pauvre Hoffmann [2:27]
26. Epilogue: Des Cendres De Ton Coeur [3:39]
27. Epilogue: Curtain Calls [3:50]
28. Epilogue: Agur Jaunak (Basque Traditional Song) [1:36]
29. End Credits [1:57]
Read More Show Less


Disc #1 -- Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann - Act I
         María Bayo (Antonia)
         Aquiles Machado (Hoffmann)
         Juan Carlos Matellanes (President A.B.A.O)
      Cast Gallery
         Hoffmann - Aquiles Machado
         Olympia - Milagros Poblador
         Giulietta - Valentina Kutzarova
         Antonia - María Bayo
         Lindorf/Coppélius/Dr. Miracle/Dapertutto - Konstantin Gorny
         Nicklausse/Muse - Katharine Goeldner
         Luther/Crespel - Christophe Fel
         Spalanzani - Christian Jean
         Andrés/Cochenille/Frantz/Pitichinaccio - José Ruiz
         Hermann/Schlémil - Marco Moncloa
         Nathanaël - Manuel de Diego
         Stella - Itziar Fernández De Unda
      DTS Surround
Disc #2 -- Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann - Act II/III
      DTS Surround
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously