New Year's Concert 2004

( 1 )


New Year's Concert 2004 - Orchestra del Teatro features performances of pieces by some of the legendary composers of all time. The video includes interpretations of works by Rossini, Verdi, and Ponchielli.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
DVD (DTS / Stereo)
$24.99 price
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (4) from $7.00   
  • New (3) from $7.00   
  • Used (1) from $14.08   


New Year's Concert 2004 - Orchestra del Teatro features performances of pieces by some of the legendary composers of all time. The video includes interpretations of works by Rossini, Verdi, and Ponchielli.
Read More Show Less

Special Features

[None specified]
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Barnes & Noble
Conductor Riccardo Muti leads the Vienna Philharmonic in its annual New Year's Day concert, televised live around the globe on January 1, 2004 from Vienna. This year's program celebrates the 200th anniversary of the Johann Strauss the elder's birth with a program entitled "Johann Strauss the Father and his Sons," and is directed by Brian Large.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/22/2005
  • UPC: 824121000882
  • Original Release: 2004
  • Rating:

  • Source: Tdk Dvd Video
  • Region Code: 0
  • Aspect Ratio: Pre-1954 Standard (1.33.1)
  • Presentation: DTS / Stereo
  • Sound: stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround
  • Time: 59:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 67,673

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Riccardo Muti Conductor
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Read More Show Less

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Pietro Mascagni - Cavalleria Rusticana: Intermezzo Sinfonico [3:15]
2. Gioachino Rossini - La Gazza Ladra: Sinfonia [10:26]
3. Amilcare Ponchielli - La Gioconda: Danza Delle Ore [8:12]
4. Giuseppe Verdi - Otello: Ballabili [6:40]
5. Giuseppe Verdi - La Traviata: Preludio - (Atto III) [4:11]
6. Giuseppe Verdi - Aida: Danza di Piccoli Schiavi Mori [1:47]
7. Giuseppe Verdi - Aida: Ballabile [4:51]
8. Gioachino Rossini - Il Barbiere di Siviglia: Sinfonia [7:32]
9. Giuseppe Verdi - Nabucco: "Va Pensiero" [6:35]
10. Giuseppe Verdi - La Traviata: "Libiamo, ne' Lieti Calici" [3:55]
11. Credits [1:09]
Read More Show Less


Side #1 --
   Play in Order
   Chapter Selection
      Dolby Digital
   More TDK Releases
      La Traviata
      Neujahrs - Konzert 2002
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Director's Cut by Brian Large belongs in your video library.

    Riccardo Muti appears here for the fourth time as guest conductor of the Vienna Philharmonic¿s New Year¿s Concert. In this video the world-class Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra demonstrates its complete mastery of the music of Johann Strauss (father and son) and Josef Strauss and Eduard Strauss. This video shows the traditions of the New Year¿s Concerts - the distinguished audience and the tens of thousands of fresh flowers used to decorate the Musikvereinssaal. A ninety minute edited version of the concert was televised in the USA on New Year¿s Day. This Director¿s Cut by Brian Large captures 144 minutes of the festive concert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews