Siegfried (Staatskapelle Weimar)


Carl St. Clair conducts the Staatskapelle Weimar in this staging of Siegfried, the third part of Wagner's magnificent Ring Cycle. Recorded in 2008, the production features strong performances by Johnny van Hall, Frieder Aurich, and Catherine Foster. ~ Sandra Bencic
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)
$39.99 price
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (9) from $13.16   
  • New (7) from $13.16   
  • Used (2) from $27.10   


Carl St. Clair conducts the Staatskapelle Weimar in this staging of Siegfried, the third part of Wagner's magnificent Ring Cycle. Recorded in 2008, the production features strong performances by Johnny van Hall, Frieder Aurich, and Catherine Foster. ~ Sandra Bencic
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 7/28/2009
  • UPC: 807280135794
  • Original Release: 2008
  • Source: Arthaus Musik
  • Region Code: 0
  • Presentation: Wide Screen / Subtitled
  • Time: 4:11:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 87,945

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Johnny van Hall Seigfried
Frieder Aurich Mime
Tomas Möwes Wotan as Wanderer
Mario Hoff Alberich
Hidekazu Tsumaya Fafner
Catherine Foster Brünhilde
Heike Porstein Forest Bird
Nadine Weissmann Erda
Erika Krämer Grane
Johannes Martin Hagen, Son of Alberich
Burkhard Wolf Voice of the Norns
Lars Cruezburg Donner
Steffen Bärtl Froh
Lars Creuzburg Donner
Carl St. Clair Conductor
Technical Credits
Dirk Becker Set Decoration/Design
Renée Listerdal Costumes/Costume Designer
Read More Show Less

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Siegried: Act I & Act II
1. Opening [2:54]
2. Prolog [1:55]
3. Vorspiel [4:35]
4. "Zwangvolle Plage! Müh' ohne Zweck!" [3:27]
5. "Hoiho! Hoiho! Hau ein!" [4:01]
6. "Als Zullendes Kind Zog Ich Dich Auf" [1:25]
7. "Vieles lehrtest du, Mime" [2:05]
8. "Mein Kind, das lehrt dich kennen" [1:30]
9. "Es sangen die Vöglein so selig im Lenz" [4:47]
10. "Einst lag wimmernd ein Weib" [8:25]
11. "Des Niblungen Neid" - "Heil dir, weiser Schmied!" [4:46]
12. "Wie werd ich den Lauernden los?" [8:34]
13. "Nun ree, weiser Zwerg" [3:11]
14. "Nun, ehrlicher Zwerg, sag mir zum ersten" [5:24]
15. "Dreimal solltest du fragen" [2:12]
16. "Verfluchtes Licht!" [4:21]
18. "Fühltest du nie im finstren Wald" [3:10]
17. "Her mit den Stücken, fort mit dem Stümper!" [4:36]
19. "Nothung! Nothung! Neidliches Schwert!" [8:12]
20. "Hoho! Hoho! Hohei!" Schmiede, mein Hammer" [3:11]
21. "Den der Bruder schuf, den schimmernden Reif!" [2:55]
22. Vorspiel [6:30]
23. "In Wald und Nacht vor Heidhöhl' halt' ich Wacht" [2:22]
24. "Zur Neidhöhle fuhr ich bei Nacht" [5:56]
25. "Mit mir nicht, hadre mit Mime" [2:36]
26. "Fafner! Fafner! Erwache, Wurm!" [6:41]
27. "Wir sind zur Stelle! Bleib hier stehn!" [6:22]
28. "Daß der mein Veter nicht ist" - Waldweben [9:14]
29. "Einer Waldweise, wie ich sie kann " - Siegfrieds Hornruf [3:21]
30. "Haha! Da hätte mein Lied mir was Liebes erblasen" [3:39]
31. "Wer bist du, kühner Knabe, der das Herz mir traf?" [4:56]
32. "Zur Kunde taugt kein Toter" [2:10]
33. "Wohin schleichst du eilig und schlau, schlimmer Gesell?" [5:20]
34. "Willkommen, Siegfried! Sag, du Kühner" [6:45]
35. "Neides Zoll zahlt Nothung" [2:26]
36. "Heiß ward mir von der harten Last!" [3:34]
Disc #2 -- Siegfried
1. Vorspiel [2:37]
2. "Wache, Wala! Wala! Erwach! [2:12]
3. "Stark ruft das Lied" [2:15]
4. "Mein Schlaf ist Träumen" [4:38]
5. "Wirr wird mir, seit ich erwacht" [3:22]
6. "Dir Unweisen ruf' ich ins Ohr" [4:17]
7. "Dort seh' ich Siegfried nahn" [4:26]
8. "Geduld, du Knabe!" [3:50]
9. "Bleibst du mir stumm, störrischer Wicht?" [3:34]
10. "Mit zerfochtner Waffe" [:47]
11. Orchesterzwischenspiel [2:50]
12. "Selige Öde auf sonniger Höh!" [7:40]
13. "Das ist kein Mann!" [7:06]
14. "Heil dir, Sonne! Heil dir, Licht!" [6:14]
15. "O Siegfried! Siegfried! Seliger Held!" [4:13]
16. "Wie Wunder tönt, was wonnig du singst" [1:58]
17. "Dort seh' ich Grane, mein selig Roß" [5:46]
18. "Sangst du mir nicht" [2:14]
19. "Ewig war ich, ewig bin ich" [4:02]
20. "Dich lieb' ich: O liebtest mich du!" [5:21]
21. "Lachend muß ich dich lieben" [7:22]
22. Credits [2:00]
Read More Show Less


Disc #1 -- Siegried: Act I & Act II
   Start Programme
   Select Title
      Act 1
      Act 2
   Audio Format
      PCM Stereo
      Dolby Digital 5.1
      Subtitles: Off
Disc #2 -- Siegfried
   Start Programme
   Select Title Act 3
   Audio Format
      PCM Stereo
      Dolby Digital 5.1
      Subtitles: Off
      Wagner: Das Rheingold
      Wagner: Die Walküre
      Massenet: Werther
      Deshevov: Ice and Steel
   Resume Film
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously