A-Team - Season One

A-Team - Season One

5.0 4

Cast: George Peppard, Dirk Benedict, Mr. T, Dwight Schultz


View All Available Formats & Editions

See more details below

  • Checkmark DVD & Blu-ray Box Sets  Shop Now
  • Checkmark TV on DVD Sale: Save Up to 50%  Shop Now

Editorial Reviews

Barnes & Noble - Christina Urban
Considered the most violent TV show of its day -- even if the gunfire rarely hurt anyone -- The A-Team helped revive NBC's sagging ratings during the 1983 season. This lighthearted action series from Stephen J. Cannell afforded a triumphant second act to fading big-screen star George Peppard as Lt. Col. John "Hannibal" Smith, leader of a Vietnam Special Forces team that had been imprisoned for a bank robbery they didn't commit. The men escaped and worked as soldiers of fortune while on the run from the government. The A-Team consisted of Smith, Lt. Templeton "Face" Peck (Dirk Benedict), Sgt. "B. A." Baracus (Mr. T), and chopper pilot Capt. H. M. "Howling Mad" Murdock (Dwight Schultz). Providing muscle for the weak and beating up the bad guys were the show's recurring themes, and episodes revolved around the team's being hired to solve problems -- generally for a fee -- and always featured an elaborate, makeshift plan coming together, as the team often constructed pre-MacGyver contraptions that helped carry the day. Included in this first-season set is the original pilot, "Mexican Slayride," which aired on NBC in 1983 as a two-hour movie. A delicious rarity for fans, the episode's "Face" is actor Tim Dunigan, whom Cannell deemed too youthful, so the role was recast with Benedict. Also part of the team for these early episodes is Melinda Culea as Amy Amanda Allen, a.k.a. Triple A, who in the pilot is introduced as a reporter who hires the boys; she appears in the first-season episodes but never gets much of a chance to participate in the fun. Season 1 highlights include "Children of Jamestown," built around the rescue a girl from a cult leader (played by John Saxon) and featuring Benedict's debut; and "West Coast Turnaround," where the Team sides with a farmer who is being driven out of business by a rancher. Another fan favorite is "The Out-of-Towners," which guest-stars Yaphet Kotto and finds the A-Team coming to the aid of New York City shopkeepers fighting the neighborhood protection racket. NBC's lone Top 10-rated show for 1983, The A-Team 's mix of adventure, humor, and gunfights still entertains.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:
Universal Studios
Region Code:
[Full Frame]
Sales rank:

Special Features

Closed Caption

Related Subjects

Cast & Crew

Read More

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The A-Team: Season One
1. Soldiers of Fortune [17:33]
2. Rounding up the Boys [28:50]
3. Getting Started [16:01]
4. Confronting the Enemy [32:44]
1. Maniacal Hunt [14:11]
2. Pray for Your Souls [10:15]
3. No Rest for the Weary [10:31]
4. Ready for Your Barbeque [12:09]
1. Arrest Us, Please [17:46]
2. Establishing Supremacy [6:51]
3. "I Want Some Trach Bags!" [13:19]
4. Death Match [10:47]
Disc #2 -- The A-Team: Season One
1. Killer Cops [11:15]
2. Little Buggers [8:23]
3. Shut Down [14:55]
4. States Evidence [13:53]
1. Leaking Bag [15:43]
2. Hold 'em Up [13:53]
3. Joining Forces [11:19]
4. Playing Chicken [7:44]
1. Beating the Odds [11:24]
2. In Disguise [10:24]
3. Mr. Big Shot [15:17]
4. Let It Ride [11:02]
1. Extortion Racket [19:33]
2. Got Your Attention [11:48]
3. Call in the Boys [8:57]
4. Block Party [8:18]
Disc #3 -- The A-Team: Season One
1. Crash Landing [19:19]
2. Just Like Nam [9:34]
3. Waste Not, Want Not [7:21]
4. Up, Up and Away [12:14]
1. Hauling Produce [19:03]
2. Friendly Advice [7:11]
3. A Feel for the Business [12:15]
4. Bombs Away [10:14]
1. Running From the Lynch Mob [14:42]
2. The Perfect Assault Team [13:47]
3. Behind Enemy Lines [10:50]
4. Change in Plan [9:13]
1. Here Comes the Bride [16:47]
2. Shotgun Wedding [8:31]
3. The Morning After [6:46]
4. Sore Losers [16:20]
Disc #4 -- The A-Team: Season One
1. Welcome Aboard [13:09]
2. On the Offensive [12:32]
3. Stowaways [8:50]
4. Energency Landing [13:57]
1. Not From Around Here [19:50]
2. First Time for Everything [7:10]
3. Under Fire [8:53]
4. When the Going Gets Tough... [10:37]

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >