Theodora (Salzburger Festspiele)


This performance of George Frideric Handel's opera Theodora was recorded at the Salzburger Festpiele in 2009 with accompaniment from the Wiener Philharmoniker, and featuring vocalists like Johannes Martin Kranzle and Christine Schafer in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo)
$39.99 price
Other sellers (DVD)
  • All (8) from $26.72   
  • New (6) from $26.72   
  • Used (2) from $45.71   


This performance of George Frideric Handel's opera Theodora was recorded at the Salzburger Festpiele in 2009 with accompaniment from the Wiener Philharmoniker, and featuring vocalists like Johannes Martin Kranzle and Christine Schafer in the leading roles.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 5/31/2011
  • UPC: 814337010577
  • Original Release: 2009
  • Source: C Major
  • Region Code: 0
  • Presentation: Wide Screen / Stereo
  • Sound: stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround
  • Language: Deutsche, Français, Español
  • Time: 3:09:00
  • Format: DVD
  • Sales rank: 65,075

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Christine Schäfer Theodora
Bejun Mehta Didymus
Joseph Kaiser Septimius
Johannes Martin Kränzle Valens
Bernarda Fink Irene
Ryland Davies Messenger
Ivor Bolton Conductor
Technical Credits
Hannes Rossacher Director
Read More Show Less

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Theodora: Part l
1. Opening [7:25]
2. 'Tis Diocletian's natal day [:36]
3. Go, my faithful soldier, go [1:52]
4. And draw a blessing down [2:06]
5. Vouchsafe, dread dir [1:15]
6. Racks, gibbets, sword and fire [3:26]
7. For ever thus stand fix'd the doom [1:41]
8. Most cruel edict! [:39]
9. The raptur'd soul [8:54]
10. I know thy virtues [:39]
11. Descend, kind Pity [8:05]
12. Tho' hard, my friends [:27]
13. Fond, flatt'ring world, adieu! [4:29]
14. O bright example [:30]
15. Come, mighty Father [2:48]
16. Fly, fly, my brethren! [:59]
17. As with rosy steps [5:28]
18. All pow'r in Heav'n [2:22]
19. Mistaken wretches! [:22]
20. Dread the fruits of Christian folly [3:01]
21. Deluded mortal! [:51]
22. Oh, worse than death, indeed! [:27]
23. Angels, ever bright and fair [3:32]
24. Unhappy happy crew! [1:07]
25. Kind Heav'n, if virtue be thy care [5:24]
26. O love, how great thy pow'r! [:22]
27. Go, gen'rous, pious youth [5:44]
Disc #2 -- Theodora: Parts ll & lll
1. Ye Men of Antioch [:55]
2. Queen Of Summer [:47]
3. Wide Spread His Name [2:15]
4. Return, Septimus [:41]
5. Venus Laughing from the Skies [1:22]
6. Sinfonia [:44]
7. O thou, bright sun! [:33]
8. With darkness deep as is my woe [3:32]
9. Sinfonia [1:20]
10. But why art thou disquieted, my soul? [:28]
11. Oh, that I on wings could rise [3:21]
12. Long have I known [1:35]
13. Tho' the honours [3:37]
14. Oh, save her, then [:38]
15. Deeds of kindness [9:39]
16. The clouds begin to veil the hemisphere [:36]
17. Defend her, Heav'n [4:57]
18. Or lull'd with grief [:30]
19. Sweet rose and lily [2:19]
20. Oh, save me, Heav'n [1:28]
21. The pilgrim's home [3:09]
22. Forbid it, Heav'n! Ah! What is liberty [1:26]
23. To thee, thou glorious son of worth [5:33]
24. 'Tis night [:47]
25. He saw the lovely youth [4:40]
26. Lord, to thee [:29]
27. But see! The good, the virtuous Didymus! [5:11]
28. When sunk in anguish [:41]
29. l Staccato ma non troppo allegro [4:30]
30. ll Andante larghetto e staccato [3:33]
31. lll Menuet [3:56]
32. lV Gavotte [2:01]
33. Undaunted in the court Is It a Christian virtue, then Be that my doom [2:47]
34. From virtue springs [2:51]
35. Cease, ye slaves [6:17]
36. 'Tis kind, my friends [1:05]
37. How strange their ends [1:00]
38. On me your frowns Ye ministers of justice [3:26]
39. And must such beauty suffer? [:57]
40. Streams of pleasure [1:01]
41. Ere this their doom [5:44]
42. O love Divine [:22]
43. Applause & Credits [3:10]
Read More Show Less


Disc #1 -- Theodora: Part l
   Select Title
      Part l
      Subtitles: Off
      PCM Stereo
      DTS 5.1
      Der Ring des Nibelungen
      ll Mondo Della Luna
      Thielemann Conducts Beethoven
      Karajan Conducts Mozart and Dvorák
Disc #2 -- Theodora: Parts ll & lll
   Select Title
      Part ll
      Part lll
         Organ Concerto HWV 310
      Subtitles: Off
      PCM Stereo
      DTS 5.1
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously