Dvorák and America: Hiawatha Melodrama

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $6.75   
  • New (4) from $6.75   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 6/10/2014
  • Label: Naxos American
  • UPC: 636943977729
  • Catalog Number: 559777
  • Sales rank: 138,072


Disc 1
  1. 1 Pawnee Horses, for piano - Arthur Farwell & Joseph Horowitz (1:17)
  2. 2 Navajo War Dance No. 2 for piano, Op. 29 - Arthur Farwell & Joseph Horowitz (3:12)
  3. 3 Suite for orchestra in A major ("American"; arr. from suite for piano, B. 184), B. 190 (Op. 98b) - Antonin Dvorák & Joseph Horowitz (20:25)
  4. 4 Humoresque No. 5 for piano in A minor, B. 187/5 (Op. 101/5) - Antonin Dvorák & Joseph Horowitz (3:07)
  5. 5 Humoresque No. 4 for piano in F major, B. 187/4 (Op. 101/4) - Antonin Dvorák & Joseph Horowitz (2:53)
  6. 6 Sonatina for violin & piano in G major ("Indian Lament"), B. 183 (Op. 100): 2. Larghetto - Antonin Dvorak & Joseph Horowitz (4:32)
  7. 7 Goin' Home (adapted from Dvorák's Symphony No. 9 "From the New World", 2nd movement) - William Arms Fisher & William Arms Fisher (6:12)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Angel Gil-Ordóñez Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Several composers have tried their hand at musical melodrama, i.

    Several composers have tried their hand at musical melodrama, i.e. an existing literary work embellished with musical accompaniment. Two notable examples come to mind: Schumann’s Manfred and Richard Strauss’ Enoch Arden. Both are rarely performed except for Schumann’s darkly dramatic overture. On the other hand, Copland’s inspirational Lincoln Portrait is by any calculation, standard repertory. Hiawatha, the centerpiece of this disc features the famous Longfellow poem with several Dvorak compositions arranged and interpolated by the work’s co-composers. On paper this project looked promising. Unfortunately, the resulting amalgam falls short. You find yourself drawn primarily to Dvorak’s masterful writing. Longfellow’s poetry comes across as intrusive and is not well served by the stilted recitation. Its 32 minute duration seems excessive. The remaining 44 minutes is taken up with some familiar Dvorak items readily available elsewhere as well as three brief, moderately interesting evocations of Native American music by Arthur Farwell, an avid Dvorak admirer. The Fisher arrangement of Goin’ Home is effectively done. The well-played Larghetto from the Violin Sonatina is available in its entirety on a previously released Naxos disc. Did anybody notice the tuning and voicing issues on the piano used in tracks 9-15? Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews