An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

4.5 13
by Jeff Guidry
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation….[A] gorgeous tale of redemption.”
—Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

“I could not put this book down.”
—Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

In

See more details below

Overview

“A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation….[A] gorgeous tale of redemption.”
—Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

“I could not put this book down.”
—Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

In the tradition of A Lion Called Christian and Alex and Me comes An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff Guidry’s remarkable story of how he rehabilitated a severely damaged bald eagle back to health—and how the majestic bird later inspired the author to triumph over cancer. Animal lovers and readers fascinated by the spiritual ties between animals and humans will not soon forget this beautiful, inspiring true tale of an extraordinary friendship.

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
After a musician took an injured eagle under his wing, the bird returned the favor. In 1996, professional guitarist and animal-lover Guidry began volunteering at the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center, a nonprofit organization devoted to animal rescue and rehab. For years, the author found immense satisfaction in the few hours each week spent cleaning, feeding and caring for injured "wild ones," as he calls them-the animals ranged from a Patagonian cougar to flying squirrels, hawks, raccoons and black bears. In 1998, his engagement with Sarvey took a more serious turn when a young eagle was brought in. "The eagle looked up at me," he writes, "and my old life was over, a new second life begun." Covered with lice, the eagle had two broken wings and was so emaciated that she couldn't stand. Guidry and others tube-fed her for more than a month and were within days of having to euthanize her when Freedom, as the bird eventually came to be named, finally stood up. Because the extent of her wing injuries had rendered Freedom unable to fly and, consequently, be released into the wild, Guidry began the slow process of glove training her to help her adapt to a new life in captivity. When the author was diagnosed with stage 3 non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, the bond between the two grew. Physically and psychologically ravaged by eight months of crippling chemotherapy, Guidry sought and found spiritual refuge in Freedom, with the bird figuratively comforting him in his dreams and literally embracing him with her wings on the day he learned he was in remission. Though plainly told and often syrupy, this inspirational memoir of mutual courage and compassion is sure to have wide appeal. Agent: Kate Epstein/EpsteinLiterary Agency
From the Publisher
"Listeners will never believe that narrator John Pruden didn't himself fall in love with this beautiful bird of prey. The way he tells of the two beings—one bird, one human, each bringing freedom from peril to the other—sounds as intimate as life itself." —AudioFile
Library Journal
Guidry, a former guitarist with the Beach Boys, was volunteering with the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center in Washington State when a malnourished eaglet with two broken wings was brought in for treatment. Knowing that it would never be able to fly but hopeful that it would participate in their raptor educational programs, the staff nursed the eagle, dubbed Freedom, back to health. Guidry played a significant part in its rehabilitation and formed a special bond with this majestic bird. In 2000, Guidry was diagnosed with stage three non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. During the grueling months of chemotherapy, it was the time spent with Freedom that brought him comfort and gave him a will to fight. Guidry is a gifted wordsmith who, like the Native American storytellers from whom he draws inspiration, vividly describes the breathtaking beauty of the landscape and the dedicated staff who expend their time, energies, and, in some cases, their fortunes rescuing wildlife. VERDICT In the tradition of Irene Pepperberg's Alex & Me, this heartwarming, engrossing story will attract patrons who enjoy personal narratives about the human-animal bond.—Florence Scarinci, Nassau Community Coll. Lib., Garden City, NY

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061992414
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/04/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
224
Sales rank:
599,175
File size:
1 MB

Videos

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"Listeners will never believe that narrator John Pruden didn't himself fall in love with this beautiful bird of prey. The way he tells of the two beings—one bird, one human, each bringing freedom from peril to the other—sounds as intimate as life itself." —-AudioFile

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >