Eater of Souls (Lord Meren Series #4) by Lynda S. Robinson, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Eater of Souls (Lord Meren Series #4)

Eater of Souls (Lord Meren Series #4)

5.0 1
by Lynda S. Robinson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Someone—or something—is slaying innocent persons on the night streets in the royal city of Memphis. Frightened citizens believe it is the gruesome work of the Devourer, the eater of souls, one of the most fearsome gods in the Egyptian pantheon. Even Lord Meren, the Eyes and Ears of Pharaoh, is baffled by this series of horrific crimes whose victims have

Overview

Someone—or something—is slaying innocent persons on the night streets in the royal city of Memphis. Frightened citizens believe it is the gruesome work of the Devourer, the eater of souls, one of the most fearsome gods in the Egyptian pantheon. Even Lord Meren, the Eyes and Ears of Pharaoh, is baffled by this series of horrific crimes whose victims have only one thing in common: the grisly manner of their deaths.

Is the evildoer truly the Devourer, risen from the netherworld, or just a mere mortal? Between Lord Meren and the truth lie dangerous mysteries—in the city's back alleys and in the bosom of his own noble family. . . .

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Lord Meren, the Eyes and Ears of 14-year-old Pharoah Tutankhamun, decides in the fourth in this excellent series (after Murder at the Feast of Rejoicing) to look into the death of Queen Nefertiti, whom he thinks, contrary to popular belief, was poisoned. Although Kysen, his adopted son and fellow detective, sees the project as a foolhardy risk to their lives and position, Meren is determined. Meanwhile, Memphis is plagued by a series of killings in which the victims' hearts are gouged out and, in each case, replaced by a white feather. Meren isn't told of the killings of these commoners, however, and continues his personal inquiry while juggling his position at court, monitoring political and geopolitical tremors and coping with turmoil at home (his younger daughter is being courted by a vain young prince). But when a Hittite prince who had insulted Pharoah is murdered like the others, Meren must put aside his inquiry into the queen's death (which Robinson plans to explore over three novels) to investigate. All the clues indicate the culprit is the god Ammut, the Devouress, the Eater of Souls, who carries out the sentences levied by Anubis, who weighs the souls of the dead. If Ammut is responsible, Meren can do nothing about the rampage. But if a mortal is the killer, Meren knows it's his job to catch the man or woman. Robinson again brings ancient Egypt alive in all its detailed specificity while offering a timeless tale of serial killings and the lust for power. Mystery Guild featured alternate; author tour. (May)
VOYA - Tom Pearson
Lord Meren, the Eyes and Ears of Pharaoh, is up to his own ears in intrigue. The reigning pharaoh, Tutankhamun, is only fourteen years old, and it is Meren's job to see that Tut lives to be fifteen. It appears that Nefertiti, a royal wife of the previous pharaoh, Anknaten, did not die of natural causes, and Meren suspects that the killer is now part of Tutankhamun's court. This problem is not Meren's only worry, however. Ankhesenamun, royal wife of Tutankhamun, is the daughter of Anknaten. Ankhesenamun blames a number of persons, Meren included, for Tut's decision to abandon both her heretic father's precepts and the new city he built, Horizon of Aten. She has some sort of revenge in mind, and Meren must keep one step ahead of her if he is to safeguard the lives of his family and himself. Meanwhile, a series of horrifying murders has been plaguing the area. The murders are being committed either by a supernatural creature, Eater of Souls, or by someone who wants it to look as if a demon had dispatched the victims. Meren must figure out if the killer is a mythological nightmare or a master of misdirection. This is the fourth in a series set in ancient Egypt. Robinson has an encyclopedic knowledge of Egyptian history and mythology, and a sure touch when it comes to plot and characterization. Lost times and places spring to vivid life at her bidding. Fans of Ellis Peters and Lindsey Davis should take special note: here is another series of historical mysteries for you to enjoy. Now my complaint: my advance proof review copy of this book sports a cover likely to appeal only to Egyptologists. Am I the only person who thinks that a book titled Eater of Souls could profitably sport a depiction of that mythological demon on its cover? Click together the heels of your magic slippers if you think I'm right (think of the free trip to Kansas you get as a result, as icing on the cake). VOYA Codes: 5Q 3P S (Hard to imagine it being any better written, Will appeal with pushing, Senior High-defined as grades 10 to 12).
Library Journal
Tutankhamun's investigative agent Lord Meren suspects that the death of Nefertiti, wife of Akhnaten, was murder. As he searches among those at court for a murderer, he disturbs the status quo. Meanwhile, several horrible deaths terrify the public. First of a trilogy on Nefertiti's death, this is another entrancing historical. From the author of Murder at the Feast of Rejoicing (LJ 2/1/96).
School Library Journal
YASet in Egypt during the fifth year of the boy king Tutankhamun's reign, this mystery packs a double wallop. Not only is there a serial killer that could, in fact, be Ammut, the Eater of Souls from the "other side," but there is also a wonderful view of ancient Egyptian culture. Lord Meren, the Eyes and Ears of the Pharaoh, investigates secrets, crimes, and intrigues in order to protect the young king. Meren is aided by his adopted son, 18-year-old Kysen, and a superhero type charioteer, Abu. Two teenage daughters and their concerns round out the characters and invite modern teens to draw comparisons. While trying to solve the riddle of Queen Nefertiti's death, Lord Meren must investigate the grotesque slayings of the "Devouress." Part crocodile, lion, and hippo, the killer slices and dices its victims and then eats their hearts. From wigs, clothing, and jewelry, to the mound of refuse and sewage outside the walls of each home, ancient Egypt comes sharply into focus. In this well-crafted book, Robinson breathes life into the two-dimensional pictures most YAs associate with Egypt of the Pharaohs. The fourth in the Lord Meren series, and first in a trilogy of Lord Meren/Nefertiti mysteries, it will send many teens looking for Murder at the Feast of Rejoicing (1996), Murder at the God's Gate (1995), and Murder in the Place of Anubis (1994, all Walker).Carol DeAngelo, formerly at Fairfax County Public Library, VA
Kirkus Reviews
When the boy pharaoh Tutankhamen wants to know who poisoned Nefertiti, Great Royal Wife of Akhenaten, Tutankhamen's heretic predecessor on the Egyptian throne, he naturally turns to Lord Meren, his Eyes and Ears. But Meren, just as zealous as his king to root out the mystery behind Nefertiti's death, has his hands full already with a brutal series of killings in Memphis. The victims—an inoffensive farmer, a tavern woman, a thief—don't seem to have anything to do with each other—except that they've all been stunned, slashed and hacked to death with razor-sharp claws, and relieved of their hearts. A terrified witness identifies the killer by her crocodile head, lion's paws, and hippo's hindquarters as the goddess Ammut, the Devouress, Eater of the Dead, against whom there can be no remedy. But when Prince Mugallu, the quarrelsome Hittite king's emissary, becomes the latest victim, Meren finds himself with a potential diplomatic disaster—just at the time that he's trying to repel Lord Reshep, the fawning, narcissistic suitor who's attached himself to Meren's willing daughter Isis. (Now why doesn't the Devouress dispatch him?)

Lord Meren's fourth case (Murder at the Feast of Rejoicing, 1996, etc.) taxes all his skills as investigator, statesman, warrior, householder, and father, while displaying his author's powers of invention and intrigue at their peak—and still leaving plenty of mystery for two promised sequels on Nefertiti's murder.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345395337
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/28/1998
Series:
Lord Meren Series, #4
Pages:
288
Product dimensions:
4.19(w) x 6.90(h) x 0.56(d)

Meet the Author

Lynda S. Robinson holds a Ph.D. in anthropology, with a concentration in archaeology, from the University of Texas at Austin. She is the author of three earlier Lord Meren mysteries: Murder in the Place of Anubis, Murder at the God's Gate, and Murder at the Feast of Rejoicing. In addition to her crime fiction, she also writes romance novels under the name Suzanne Robinson. She lives in Texas.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Eater of Souls (Lord Meren Series #4) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago