Echoes of a Shattered Age (Legend of Takashaniel, Book 1) (For fans of Paul S. Kemp, Terry Brooks, R. A. Salvatore, Brandon Sanderson, Weis and Hickman, David Farland, Robert Jordan) [NOOK Book]

Overview

Technology exists in human history.

The gun has fallen. The sword has arisen. The world grows wild and dangerous.

An ancient evil bridges the earth plane and the abyss, bringing a massive horde of the most feared monsters in all the ...
See more details below
Echoes of a Shattered Age (Legend of Takashaniel, Book 1) (For fans of Paul S. Kemp, Terry Brooks, R. A. Salvatore, Brandon Sanderson, Weis and Hickman, David Farland, Robert Jordan)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

Technology exists in human history.

The gun has fallen. The sword has arisen. The world grows wild and dangerous.

An ancient evil bridges the earth plane and the abyss, bringing a massive horde of the most feared monsters in all the five hells.

The Children of the Gene: Warriors blessed by the Gods. Kenyatta and his friends stand against the denizens of the abyss while on the path to discovering their unique abilities.

Through light and darkness, destruction and chaos, the Children of the Gene battle towering demons to defend their world against everlasting darkness.


Echoes Of A Shattered Age explores a fantasy world born from our own. Fans of epic fantasy in the vein of R A Salvatore, Terry Brooks, and Brandon Sanderson, will enjoy this first entry to the Legend of Takashaniel Trilogy
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

www.rhodesreview.com - Rick Rhodes
If you get the opportunity, grab this book. It’s available for both the nook and Kindle. I think you’d enjoy the story, especially if you’re a fan of stories like the Lord of the Rings.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940013654259
  • Publisher: Tal Publishing
  • Publication date: 10/18/2011
  • Series: Legend of Takashaniel Series , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 480
  • Sales rank: 55,292
  • File size: 1,021 KB

Meet the Author

About the Author

R. J. Terrell was instantly a lover of fantasy the day he opened R. A. Salvatore’s: The Crystal Shard. Years (and many devoured books) later he decided to put pen to paper for his first novel. After a bout with aching carpals, he decided to try the keyboard, and the words began to flow. When not writing, he enjoys reading, videogames, and long walks around Stanley Park in Vancouver BC.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Let me first say that this is not my normal genre. However I was

    Let me first say that this is not my normal genre. However I was intrigued enough to take a try and I was not disappointed. I was drawn into the characters especially Kenyatta. R.J. Terrell used the characters conversations to help describe them. It was as if I could hear them speaking within this beautiful setting. As I continued to read I realized that this wasn't just a fantasy novel there was so much more. Even as the setting changed, the descriptions were still vivid. There was action and drama wrapped up in a powerful story about the world. It is a must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    This is without a doubt the worst book I have ever read. I chos

    This is without a doubt the worst book I have ever read. I chose it based on B&N referral for fans of Brandon Sanderson. The plot is mediocre at best. The characters are flat, especially the heroes. The dialogue is horrible. I don't mind the attempt at realism in how they speak, such as Mark Twain used in Tom Sawyer; however, in this book it is just painful. The worst aspect of the book, Nook e-book, was the horrible grammar in the non-dialogue sections. Books are supposed to be edited. There were so many errors, peace instead of piece, wait instead of weight; but, the worst was winded instead of wound. There were also numerous mismatches of tense. .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Great book!

    This book pulls you in and keeps you wondering what will happen next. I like to read more fantasy books and, although this was a easier read, it delivered! Its fun and exciting and very descriptive of fights that last a while which I really liked. I would recommend reading this if you are looking for a easy read that still manages to keep you entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Friend/Crush Problems

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Interesting ideas but sadly executed

    If only someone would have edited this book it might be a good story. Lots of detail, but a very choppy and disjointed flow. Poor grammer, missing words, mis-spellings galore, stilted language. Great descriptions of monsters, weapons, fight scenes, but the character sketches, plot and dialog were thin and obvious. I wanted to like this book and actually read the whole thing hoping it would get better... It didnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Confusing

    Ninjas? Really? This is pretty absurd, and lacks cohesion. No back story either. And the dialogue is horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Bad

    No plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    Truly well-written with a plot and characters that pull the read

    Truly well-written with a plot and characters that pull the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)