Viento: The Garcia Lorca Project

Viento: The Garcia Lorca Project

by Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra

Vince Mendoza has arranged and composed some of the most startlingly impressive symphonic jazz of modern times, but El Viento might be his most ambitious project. Teamed with the Netherlands-based Metropole Orchestra, Mendoza's idea to make grandiose music based on the persona of poet, playwright, painter, and pianist Federico GarciaSee more details below


Vince Mendoza has arranged and composed some of the most startlingly impressive symphonic jazz of modern times, but El Viento might be his most ambitious project. Teamed with the Netherlands-based Metropole Orchestra, Mendoza's idea to make grandiose music based on the persona of poet, playwright, painter, and pianist Federico Garcia Lorca is not only a stroke of genius, but well conceived and executed with the extraordinary talents of this large ensemble. This idea was essentially initialized by Lorca himself in 1931 as the Ur-Lorca Project, formalized in 1979 by vocalist Camaron de la Isla and composer/producer Ricardo Pachon, further formulated by Niko Langenhuijsen and his group Caoutchouc in 1992. By 1998's centennial celebrations of the birth of Lorca, this concept via Langenhuijsen's arrangements had grown into a full-blown fusion of Spanish flamenco, big-band jazz, and Lorca's word play as performed live in Utrecht. Ten years later, the modernized concepts of Lorca (who died in 1936) come to full fruition via Mendoza and Metropole. This was far from a simple feat, as Mendoza's jazz-oriented charts are both beautifully soaring and complex in their development. The band pulls it off brilliantly, with encouragement from the magnificent lead singers Eva de Dio or Rafael de Utrera, expressing the folkloric Spanish style, the cante jondo (deep song), duende fever, and flamenco-inspired music so much a part of this culture. High drama is the key to these compositions, especially during the three-part suite "Historietas Del Viento," composed and arranged by Langenhuijsen. Upper horizon strings and a vocal choir moves to a rich, jazzed samba/flamenco-flavored chart, and the acoustic or electric guitar of Daniel Mendez, with a 12/8 section driving the expressive, emotional singing of De Dio to conclusive heights. Joan Albert Amargos contributes charts of traditional pieces; the spoken word intro to jazz waltz swinger "De Los Cuatros Muleros" and tender "Los Mozos De Monleon" with an oboe or harp respectively brightening things up. Pachon revisits two of his compositions -- "La Cancion Del Mariquita" via Mendoza's chart in a majestic and upbeat flamenco as lofty high strings hover over Marc Scholten's Michael Brecker-like neo-bop tenor sax solo, and "La Leyenda Del Tiempo," which again showcases the tenor, this time inspired by dance tap from Daniel Navarro, hand clapping, and a quick, joyous refrain. Two other traditional pieces are adapted by Mendoza, as "La Tarara" uses the most folkish acoustic approach with strings and an excited flamenco-derived pace, while "Sevillanas Del Siglo XVIII" is the group at its most festive, using castanets and a 6/8 shout-out vocal style for purely seductive, fever-pitched purposes. This was originally a 90-minute concert presentation, edited and abridged somewhat here for the CD format. If you are familiar with Lorca's poems, you will certainly hear them come to life on this remarkable recording, but if discovering them for the first time, you can easily be captivated by their beauty, strength, and resolve so much the centerpiece of Spanish heritage, an old world, heartfelt passion that still remains in our modern era. Bravo!

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:
Act Music + Vision


  1. La Canción del Mariquita  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  2. Historietas del Viento I: El Viento  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  3. Historietas del Viento II: Viento Estancado  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  4. Historietas del Viento III: La Brisa  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  5. La Tarara  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  6. De Los Cuatros Muleros  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  7. Sevillanas del Siglo XVIII  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  8. La Nana del Caballo Grande  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  9. Los Peregrinitos  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  10. Ángeles Negros  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  11. Los Mozos de Monleón  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra
  12. La Leyenda del Tiempo  -  Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vince Mendoza & the Metropole Orchestra   Primary Artist
Vince Mendoza   Indexed Contributor,Conductor
Bart Van Lier   Trombone,Group Member
Max Boeree   Saxophone,Group Member
Lucia Domski   Violin,Group Member
Linda Dumessie   Violin,Group Member
Wim Grin   Cello,Group Member
Henk Heijink   Trumpet,Group Member
Jan Hollander   Trumpet,Group Member
Leo Janssen   Saxophone,Group Member
Dennis Koenders   Violin,Group Member
Wim Kok   Violin,Group Member
Roel Koster   Group Member
Dan Navarro   Dancer,Soloist
Marijn Rombout   Violin,Group Member
Efrain Toro   Percussion
Hans Vroomans   Piano,Group Member
Arlia de Ruiter   Violin,Group Member
Elin Carlson   Choir, Chorus
Ruud Breuls   Trumpet,Group Member
Jelle Schouten   Trumpet,Group Member
Peter Tiehuis   Electric Guitar,Group Member
Mieke Honingh   Viola,Group Member
Daniel Mendez   Guitar,Soloist
Erica Korthals Altes   Violin,Group Member
Jos Beeren   Saxophone,Group Member
Julia Jowett   Viola,Group Member
Arend Liefkes   Double Bass,Contrabass (Vocal),Group Member
Marc Scholten   Saxophone,Group Member
Joke Schonewille   Harp,Group Member
Janine Abbas   Flute,Group Member
Willem Luijt   Oboe,Group Member
Jan Oosting   Trombone,Group Member
David Peijnenborgh   Violin,Group Member
Mariël Van Den Bos   Flute,Group Member
Marianne Van Den Heuvel   Violin,Group Member
Jan Willem Van Der Ham   Bassoon,Group Member
Herman Van Haaren   Violin,Group Member
Jan Bastiani   Trombone,Group Member
Jaap Branderhorst   Double Bass,Group Member
Frank Wardenier   Percussion,Group Member
Murk Jiskoot   Percussion,Group Member
Bastiaan Van Der Werf   Cello,Group Member
Jennifer Barnes   Choir, Chorus
Cindy Bourquin   Choir, Chorus
Udo Demandt   Cajon,Soloist
Emile Visser   Cello,Group Member
Sarah Koch   Violin,Group Member
Martin van den Berg   Trombone,Bass Trombone,Group Member
Iris Schut   Viola,Group Member
Annie Tangberg   Cello,Group Member
Jascha Albracht   Cello,Group Member
Vera Laporeva   Violin,Group Member
Paul van der Feen   Saxophone,Group Member
Hans Van Der Zanden   Group Member
Alexandra Welch   Viola,Group Member
Maarten Jansen   Cello,Group Member
Arno van Nieuwenhuize   Drums,Group Member
Daniel Navarro   Dancer
Janine Teepen   Bassoon
Seija Teeuwen   Violin

Technical Credits

Vince Mendoza   Producer
Andy Waterman   Engineer
Ricardo Pachon   Composer
Geoff Pesche   Mastering
Eduardo Reyes   Percussion Engineer
José Heredia   Composer
Niko Langenhuijsen   Arranger,Composer
Traditional   Composer
Eduardo Arroyo   Cover Art
Jonathan Allen   Engineer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >