Elimination Night: A Novel

Overview

For readers of The Devil Wears Prada and fans of TV shows like American Idol and America’s Got Talent comes Elimination Night, an uproariously funny look at the backstabbing, ego clashes, and 24–7 snafus that transpire behind the scenes of one of the country’s smash talent programs. 
 
Sasha King dreams of being a serious novelist and living the good life with her AWOL hunk of a boyfriend, Brock. But her day job as an assistant ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (45) from $1.99   
  • New (22) from $1.99   
  • Used (23) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

For readers of The Devil Wears Prada and fans of TV shows like American Idol and America’s Got Talent comes Elimination Night, an uproariously funny look at the backstabbing, ego clashes, and 24–7 snafus that transpire behind the scenes of one of the country’s smash talent programs. 
 
Sasha King dreams of being a serious novelist and living the good life with her AWOL hunk of a boyfriend, Brock. But her day job as an assistant producer of Project Icon, the once-mighty ratings juggernaut that’s recently taken a hit in the Nielsen’s ratings, keeps her working nonstop. She’s got her hands full with the show’s two new celebrity judges, entrepreneur-actress-singer Bibi Vasquez (“Crew to be forbidden to make eye contact with Artist AT ALL TIMES,” reads her contract) and rock legend Joey Lovecraft, a priapic wild man who doesn’t even own a TV (it goes against the teachings of his guru, Tibetan high lama Yutog Gonpo).
 
As the competition among the hopeful, young would-be stars—including the foul-mouthed Mia Pelosi and the chaps-wearing Jimmy Nuggett—heats up, Sasha finds herself constantly putting out fires. A date with a mysterious stranger makes her rethink her devotion to Brock. And then an unexpected revelation rocks her world.
 
A frighteningly smooth host (Wayne Shoreline), muckraking gossip columnists, and powerful people named Nigel round out the pure madcap reading pleasure of Elimination Night, a book so hilariously accurate about the inner workings of the talent show machine that it had to be written anonymously.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
This trivial behind-the-scenes look at a talent show takes jabs at American Idol. Project Icon has lost its star judge, the snarky Nigel Crowther, and after many mishaps replaces the show’s judges with Joey Lovecraft, “the devil” on the panel, with a history of drug and alcohol addiction that led to the demise of his band; Bibi Vasquez, a pop singer famous for her big rear end; and session musician Jason Dee turned JD Coolz, the overweight “American everyman.” The narrator is Sasha King, called “Bill” by her boss because she is assuming the duties of the ailing male assistant producer, the lackey in charge of rallying the big egos as they continuously stir up trouble on- and off-set. The transparency of the book’s American Idol characterization is annoying and uninspired. Attempts throughout at satire, not only of television and reality television but also of corporate and American culture (a big corporation is called “The Big Corporation,” for instance) fall flat. The odds that this book will be eliminated in the first round are high. (Jan. 8)
From the Publisher
“Anyone who has ever watched American Idol, and that will be almost everyone, will have the immense satisfaction of the ‘inside scoop,’ real or not.” —Kirkus Reviews

Elimination Night is as absorbingly entertaining as a certain televised singing competition. The anonymous author's biting roman à clef may seem fueled by hyperbolic satire, but that is the only rational response to the manic microcosm it depicts. Even a noted curmudgeonly judge from the U.K. would have to pass this full-throated send-up on to the next round with flying, hilarious colors.” Teddy Wayne, author of The Love Song of Jonny Valentine and Kapitoil

From the Publisher

“Anyone who has ever watched American Idol, and that will be almost everyone, will have the immense satisfaction of the ‘inside scoop,’ real or not.” —Kirkus Reviews

Elimination Night is as absorbingly entertaining as a certain televised singing competition. The anonymous author's biting roman à clef may seem fueled by hyperbolic satire, but that is the only rational response to the manic microcosm it depicts. Even a noted curmudgeonly judge from the U.K. would have to pass this full-throated send-up on to the next round with flying, hilarious colors.” Teddy Wayne, author of The Love Song of Jonny Valentine and Kapitoil

Library Journal
Released by a Houghton Harcourt imprint distributed by Amazon Publishing's East Coast Group, this is a roman à clef by someone working behind the scenes at a top TV talent show—here called Project Icon. With a 100,000-copy first printing.
Kirkus Reviews
Written anonymously (by an insider?), this thinly veiled account of American Idol's first season with Steven Tyler and JLo is a hilarious tour into the world of reality divas. Sasha King is a recent college grad working on her Novel of Immense Profundity. While struggling on the second paragraph, she takes a position at the Rabbit Network as an assistant's assistant, but when her boss, Bill, becomes injured, Sasha (known as the new Bill to everyone on set) becomes the acting assistant producer of Project Icon. Since the flaky judge disappeared and the mean judge, Nigel Crowther, left to start his own talent competition, Project Icon is in the hot seat; ratings have been down, and they need to find two judges before Rabbit's owner, Sir Harold Killoch, cuts the show. After the kind of surreal demands only the most childish humans--stars--can negotiate, rock icon Joey Lovecraft and actress-singer-merchandiser Bibi Vasquez come on board. The novel's impersonation of Steven Tyler's verbal gymnastics is so dead-on, so charmingly nutty, kudos are in order. Bibi Vasquez (the JLo stand-in) comes off less attractively--as a driven, foulmouthed hunter, out for blood, even if she's not sure why. The most sneering portrait is reserved for the show's host, Wayne Shoreline, a workaholic sociopath who is sexually neutral and whose culinary tastes are satisfied at the pet store. Occasionally, Sasha has a few moments to devote to a personal life: trying to reconnect with her stoner boyfriend in Hawaii, working on her novel (which consists of deleting most of the first paragraph) and even finding happiness tentatively with an LA guy, found by her nosy Russian landlord. But of course, even Sasha knows her life pales under the starlight of the Icon universe, what with the drugs, the sex and the scandal lurking at every turn. Anyone who has ever watched American Idol, and that will be almost everyone, will have the immense satisfaction of the "inside scoop," real or not.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780547942070
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Publication date: 1/8/2013
  • Pages: 304
  • Sales rank: 753,371
  • Product dimensions: 6.20 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Anonymous is a writer with first-hand knowledge of the behind-the-scenes workings of a top TV talent show.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)