Embrace

Embrace

4.2 23
by Cherie Colyer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Madison is familiar enough with change, and she hates everything about it. Change took her long-term boyfriend away from her. It caused one of her friends to suddenly hate her. It's responsible for the death of a local along with a host of other mysterious happenings. But when Madison meets a hot new guy, she thinks her luck is about to improve.

Madison is instantly

See more details below

Overview

Madison is familiar enough with change, and she hates everything about it. Change took her long-term boyfriend away from her. It caused one of her friends to suddenly hate her. It's responsible for the death of a local along with a host of other mysterious happenings. But when Madison meets a hot new guy, she thinks her luck is about to improve.

Madison is instantly drawn to the handsome and intriguing Isaac Addington. She quickly realizes he's a guy harboring a secret, but she's willing to risk the unknown to be with him.

Her world really spins out of control, however, when her best friend becomes delusional, seeing things that aren't there and desperately trying to escape their evil. When the doctors can't find the answers, Madison seeks her own.

Nothing can prepare her for what she is about to discover.

Dangerous, intoxicating, and darkly romantic, Embrace is a thriller that will leave you spellbound.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Heather Robertson Mason
After the heartbreak of her boyfriend moving away, Madison is ready for a fresh start. She thinks she has found it in the handsome new boy at school, Isaac. But when Madison's best friend Kaylee begins hallucinating in class and is hospitalized, Madison's world is thrown into chaos. In order to save her friend's reputation, she starts researching mental illness. Instead, she finds information about witchcraft—and Kaylee shows all the signs of someone who has been cursed. If Kaylee has been hexed, who did it? Who else is a witch in her community? And could Madison herself be a witch and not know it? This is another entry into the supernatural craze in young adult literature. It combines romance, fantasy and action/adventure. The seemingly far-fetched idea of a large witch community that no one knows about is explained surprisingly well, and the author keeps to the rules of witchcraft she sets for the characters. Although the stereotypical mean girl is there, most of the female relationships are positive, and a large portion of the book centers on their strong friendship between Madison and Kaylee, a refreshing change from the girl drama that peppers much of this genre. However, the romance portion is melodramatic, and takes away from the story, certainly not worth naming the book after. The cover is misleading with a large set of red lips and little else. The ending of the story is abrupt and does not provide much foreshadowing earlier on. Readers who enjoy books like Twilight and House of Night, would like this book, but readers not already invested in this genre might give it a pass. Reviewer: Heather Robertson Mason

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781936305964
Publisher:
Omnific Publishing
Publication date:
12/20/2011
Series:
Embrace Series, #1
Pages:
206
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.47(d)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >