Emerald (Chase Family Series, Book 2)

Emerald (Chase Family Series, Book 2)

4.2 82
by Lauren Royal

View All Available Formats & Editions

A Top 10 Nook Bestseller by a New York Times Bestselling Author!

England & Scotland, 1667

Jason Chase, the Marquess of Cainewood, is out to bring a blackguard to justice when he crosses paths with a woeful Scottish lad. When the lad turns out to be a lovely Scottish lass, he realizes she must be the notorious bounty hunter

…  See more details below


A Top 10 Nook Bestseller by a New York Times Bestselling Author!

England & Scotland, 1667

Jason Chase, the Marquess of Cainewood, is out to bring a blackguard to justice when he crosses paths with a woeful Scottish lad. When the lad turns out to be a lovely Scottish lass, he realizes she must be the notorious bounty hunter Emerald MacCallum. Convinced they're after the same man and her very life may be in danger, Jason decides he must keep Emerald close...

In Caithren Leslie's view, there couldn't be enough distance between her and the handsome but overbearing Englishman. She's searching for her wayward brother, but Jason won't let a little thing like the truth interfere with his absurd conviction that she's living under an assumed identity. Mindful of the dangerous traveling conditions, Cait grudgingly accepts his protection. Until, that is, she begins to suspect that mistrust isn't the only emotion between them...and their mission for justice just might turn out to be a quest for love...

Book Details

• Humorous historical romance
• Book Two of Lauren Royal's Chase Family Series
• Special Author's Cut Edition
• A full-length novel of 118,200 words (about 475 book pages)
• R-rated content: Steamy love scenes!
• Originally published by Penguin Putnam (Signet)

This Author's Cut Edition e-book has been completely revised from the original and includes Bonus Material: an Author's Note, a preview of Lauren's next book, and a link to an online contest where you can enter to win a piece of jewelry featured in one of Lauren's books.

• Top 10 Bestseller on Nook, Kindle, and iBooks!
• Finalist for the Booksellers' Best Award and RWA Award of Excellence!

Connecting Books

While EMERALD can be read as a stand-alone novel, many readers enjoy reading it as part of a series. All of Lauren's books feature Chase family members. Should you wish to read them in chronological order, this is the sequence:

Chase Family Series
1666 - AMETHYST (Colin & Amy)
1667 - EMERALD (Jason & Caithren)
1667 - FOREVERMORE (Cameron & Clarice)
1668 - AMBER (Trick & Kendra)
1673 - VIOLET (Ford & Violet)
1677 - LILY (Rand & Lily)
1677 - ROSE (Kit & Rose)

Regency Chase Family Series
1815 - LOST IN TEMPTATION (Tristan & Alexandra)
1816 - TEMPTING JULIANA (James & Juliana)
1817 - THE ART OF TEMPTATION (Sean & Corinna + Griffin & Rachael)

Specially Priced Boxed Sets

Keywords: Restoration, Charles II, Chase Family, sexy, 1600s, trilogy, road story, English inns, castle, marquess, 17th century, wedding, aristocrat, nobility, wealthy, rich, highlander, humor, comedy, romantic comedy, travel, marriage, love, family life, friendship, english, england, london, scottish, scotland, love, romantic, historical romance best sellers, authors, series, novels, sex, ebooks, nook books

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Author - Kira Morgan
"Captivating historical romance. Fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare will love Lauren Royal!"
Romance Reviews Today - Carol Durfee
"An exciting, adventurous tale that will keep you up past your bedtime...I highly recommend Emerald!"
Romantic Times Magazine - Kathe Robin
"A lively, fast-paced romance...glittering gem of a novel."
Midwest Book Review - Midwest Book
"A passionate tale that brings late seventeenth-century England vividly alive...fast-paced and filled with action from the very first page to the climax."

Product Details

Novelty Books
Publication date:
Chase Family Series , #2
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Sales rank:
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Emerald 4.2 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 82 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First of all to the people who use these reviews as their private chat room: shame on you. Stop it. Second this story was even better than the first one. I lobed Cait's character. She was one strong and fistey girlwho didn't change all through the book. I like this author so much I think I will keep going with all her other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though it was a longer story my attention was held throughout i will now read the next book in the series thank you for your expertise!! You are a gifted writer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Jason's book, but so far my favorite was the first Colin & Amy's story. I am looking forward to Kendra book!
lalamia More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed in this book. I loved the 1st one. Couldn't put it down. This one starts off too slow. I couldn't get into the characters. It was a long book, over 800 pages. I wanted to stop reading it so many times. It kept repeating storyline. The first one was great I hope the 3rd is better then the second.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you ever wanted to read a worthwhile series, this is it. Suspense, love, a little sex, laughter, tears, this book and the whole series has it all. Ms. Royal has a get way in a writing style, that pulls you into the Chase Family lives! (Ljb)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would read this book again as it had everything in it. Laughter, tears, sadness, and  colorful people in it.
Kimberly_Book_Addict More than 1 year ago
Lauren Royal’s Jewel Trilogy is hands down one of my favorite romantic book series’ that I have read to date. The only other series that can come close in my eyes is Tessa Dare’s Spindle Cove series. Both have really interesting hero/heroines that aren’t weak-minded and make the series worth continuing. Not only that, but the plots are creative and different! Enjoying the creativity that the Jewel Trilogy offers, I delved right into Emerald, book two of the trilogy! A continuation of the tale of the Chase family of England in the 1660′s, Emerald details the life of Jason Chase, the Marquess of Cainewood. On a quest to bring Geoffrey Gothard, a noted murderer to justice. Jason searches the countryside, battles with Gothard, who escapes, inadvertently injures an innocent man, and finally passes out due to wounds sustained in the battle. In Scotland, Caithren Leslie has a problem. She must marry within the year in order to claim her estate, or else it will revert to her brother Adam, who has not been present for many years. Caithren, dressed as a man, travels to find her brother and bring him back to sign away the rights to the estate, only to run into Jason on his quest to find Gothard. Jason soon discovers that this “lad” is actually a lassie, and he surmises that she is the famed Scottish bounty hunter Emerald MacCallum, looking for Gothard. Although at first Caithren wants to be rid of this “commoner” (Jason does not tell her he is of noble birth), she soon realizes that she is falling for him. Jason, too, becomes enamored with this mysterious woman, and does everything in his power to not let her get away. Will they unite? Will either of them be able to capture Gothard? I enjoyed the fact that the plot was not essentially driven by events that ultimately made Jason and Caithren get together. The sub-plots of Caithren searching for her brother and Jason searching for Gothard created depth in a genre that I haven’t typically associated depth with. Most romances that I’ve read are uni-dimensional, while with Royal’s work we see two individuals whose feelings change over time in response to external events. As I stated earlier, our hero/heroine combination are anything but weak-minded. Jason is a moral paragon, constantly trying to do right by those around him and see that justice is served to those who attempt to do wrong to those he cares about. His entire journey is started because Gothard nearly killed a little girl who lives in the village that is under his care. A five-year-old girl who is no relation to him still is worthy enough in his eyes to risk his own life in the pursuit of justice for her. Caithren, on the other hand, is willfully independent and refuses to be backed into a corner by her father’s will. She will not see her beloved land fall to her irresponsible rolling stone of a brother. She sets out on her own journey to make sure that if the land cannot be hers without marriage, it falls to her cousin, who is equally deserving of it. Royal’s creation of all of these characters is a testament to her creative mind, and is also a testament to the fact that romance novels can have just as much depth as any other genre out there. I highly suggest that if you’re into historical fiction you give this a try, as the history alone is a blast to read, and the dash of romance makes it that much more fun. (Reflections of a Book Addict)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the second book of the series just as pleasant as the first. The sexual tension between the two main characters was delightfully teasing. It kept my interest throughout. I would recommend this book, and I'm looking forward to reading the third in the series next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book could have been 200 pgs shorter. It would have been much better!! It was very slow in the middle
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
She pads in silently
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great escape fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Romance, adventure, and history all togather who doesn't like that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lores you to the end. More romance scenes would have been nice, however the romance scenes were well written and very enticing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great characters that draws you in. Discriptions that bring it all to life. In a story full of joy, anger, laughter, sorrow, fear, wonder and love in unexpected places
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Riverfloatgirl More than 1 year ago
Very well written, make sure you read all three and then get the flower trilogy. Well worth your time if you like reading books from this time period.