Emily's Ghost

Emily's Ghost

4.0 212
by Antoinette Stockenberg
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

EMILY'S GHOST is a RITA award-winning novel filled with humor, passion, and profound emotion -- a classic of the genre that will appeal to fans of Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy, and Carla Neggers.

A SHOWDOWN between a U.S. Senator who believes in ghosts and a reporter who doesn't. What could possibly go wrong?

Emily Bowditch is a skeptical,

Overview

EMILY'S GHOST is a RITA award-winning novel filled with humor, passion, and profound emotion -- a classic of the genre that will appeal to fans of Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy, and Carla Neggers.

A SHOWDOWN between a U.S. Senator who believes in ghosts and a reporter who doesn't. What could possibly go wrong?

Emily Bowditch is a skeptical, tightfisted Boston reporter who's determined to expose aristocratic Senator Lee Alden's fascination with psychic events and his willingness to waste taxpayer dollars to fund research in it.

Plan A is to gain his confidence by convincing him that she has psychic powers. That flops. Plan B is to accompany the sexy, widowed young senator to a seance and write an expose about it. As seances go, not much happens, despite the disturbing, electrifying tension in the room. It's not until Emily is back in her tiny Boston condo that she realizes she hasn't come home alone. Fergus O'Malley, a handsome 19th century scoundrel hanged for a murder he swears he didn't commit, needs someone to clear him of the crime. Emily, apparently, is it.

And so begins a hair-raising odyssey full of twists and turns and danger on both sides of the veil as Emily tries to navigate between senator and ghost and her growing feelings for both.

Editorial Reviews

Jayne Castle
"EMILY'S GHOST is great fun. A witty, entertaining romantic read that has everything -- a lively ghost, an old murder mystery and a charming romance. Antoinette Stockenberg is a fresh, engaging voice in romantic fiction."
Romantic Times
"Readers looking for highly original and emotionally rich reading will find this outstanding contemporary novel a veritable feast for the senses ... pure and unadulterated reading pleasure."
Jude Deveraux
"I loved EMILY'S GHOST. It's an exciting story with a surprise plot twist."
Sun-Sentinel - Fort Lauderdale
"Stockenberg has fun with a 19th century man confronting 20th century ideas of love, sex and politics by watching Oprah."
Bookstore - Daphne's Dream
"Antoinette Stockenberg is the writer who has made me reconsider 'ghost' romances. Every one that I have read of hers has been compelling and realistic enough that I had no problem suspending my own disbelief in ghosts. Read it; you'll love it!"

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012207722
Publisher:
Antoinette Stockenberg
Publication date:
03/02/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
7,301
File size:
527 KB

Meet the Author

USA Today bestselling novelist Antoinette Stockenberg grew up wanting to be a cowgirl and have her own horse (her great-grandfather bred horses for the carriage trade back in the old country), but the geography just didn't work out: there weren't many ranches in Chicago. Her other, more doable dream was to write books, and after stints as secretary, programmer, teacher, grad student, boatyard hand, office manager and magazine writer (in that order), she achieved that goal, writing over a dozen novels, several of them with paranormal elements. One of them is the RITA award-winning EMILY'S GHOST.

Stockenberg's books have been published in a dozen languages and are often set in quaint New England harbor towns, always with a dose of humor. She writes about complex family relationships and the fallout that old, unearthed secrets can have on them. Sometimes there's an old murder. Sometimes there's an old ghost. Sometimes once-lovers find one another after half a lifetime apart.

Her work has been compared to writers as diverse as Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Mary Stewart by critics and authors alike, and her novels have appeared on bestseller lists in USA Today as well as the national bookstore chains. Her website features sample chapters, numerous reviews, many photos, and an enchanting Christmas section. www.antoinettestockenberg.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Emily's Ghost 4 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 212 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love all her books but this one is by far my all time favorite! I hated to see it end
jbuff1972 More than 1 year ago
Must Read! This is one of 5 books I have read by Antoinette Stockenberg! I can't put her books down! Although they are not in a series, after I finish one I have to read another! I have found a few typos, but the stories are all great! I love Romance and Mystery. This had more of a paranormal twist than her other books I read, but that just made it more suspenseful. Loved it!
RRPNC More than 1 year ago
A great read when you can't put the book down!! Recommend Highly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting characters, great storyline. Loved it!
BeASmith More than 1 year ago
As first I wasn't sure I would like this book but then I started reading it and I was hooked. It was hard to put down and I looked forward to reading it every night. I would recommend this book to everyone.
Lady1 More than 1 year ago
Love Stockenberg, if she has written it, I am reading it. Emily's ghosts are great!!! Enjoy!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stockenberg writes fun novels that are great beach reads. There is a lot of supernatural events that move plot along. Her books are inexpensive for nook readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was mesmerized with the characters in this story. Totally charming concept and made me look at 'politicians' in a little more believable light. (I really want to BELIEVE in politicians; that there are 'nice' guys out there...unfortunately history and newsreports make it difficult at best sometimes! Great story line. Keep em coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been reading several of her books and this one was one of the best. Keeps your interest and is a pleasant read. Would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a romance with mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down i honestly luved it
H1950sl More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed reading all of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was different than any story I have read. Combination of ghost, politics and love! I really enjoyed it and you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It felt good reading this book
Maggie59MS More than 1 year ago
I wasn't too sure about this book since I had read something else by the author that was just OK - but I took a chance and LOVED IT! Couldn't put it down - interesting mix of romance, mystery and paranormal. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was I thought the ending was a bit rushed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had a great reading expirience
carjeff7 More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyable reading.
Fanaken More than 1 year ago
Most enjoyable. Stockenberg keeps one glued to the pages - it's difficult to put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was such a fun read. She has become one of my favorite authors.
DGrama More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT!!! Ms. Stockenberg writes in a way that grabs you at the first word and doesn't let you go until the last word. Hate to see each book end, but then can't wait to start the next one. PLEASE, keep them coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
With 370 some pages it was hard to put down. The interaction of the the people was fantasic. You really got caught up w the story. You really need to read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emily's Ghost was a page turner. Some spots were slow, but really got moving when she meets the Senator and the Ghost.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think i found my new favorite author!
RainyGirl More than 1 year ago
I needed something light and witty and 'Emily's Ghost' fit the bill. Emily doesn't believe in ghosts. But her romance with a charming Senator is almost nipped in the bud when she gets involved with Fergus O'Malley--a ghost who has some serious issues to resolve before he can 'move on.' As in great old movies like 'Topper' and 'Hold That Ghost,' the skeptical, level headed Emily finds herself in situations she never could have imagined. Can she clear Fergus? Can she protect the Senator? Will she ever learn to just relax and accept happiness? Sit back and enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed.
Norma2 More than 1 year ago
Like this author tremendously! Heed the name of the book. It really is about ghosts.