Emma in Charge

Emma in Charge

by David McPhail
     
 

Emma is back! This time, the little bear with a big heart wants to be the boss.Emma shepherds her little flock of favorite toys through a busy schedule—there's breakfast and schooltime, a fun recess and music, and even a checkup at the doctor. After a full day, Emma gathers up the brood for a class trip and finally—a nap with Dad. Whew! Being in charge

…  See more details below

Overview

Emma is back! This time, the little bear with a big heart wants to be the boss.Emma shepherds her little flock of favorite toys through a busy schedule—there's breakfast and schooltime, a fun recess and music, and even a checkup at the doctor. After a full day, Emma gathers up the brood for a class trip and finally—a nap with Dad. Whew! Being in charge sure is hard work! Beloved author-illustrator David McPhail offers up another sweet and funny tale in this well-loved series, in the tradition of Fix-it, Emma's Pet, and Emma's Vacation.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The lovable cub from Fix-it, Emma's Pet and Emma's Vacation puts her dolls through their paces-eating breakfast, teaching them their ABCs, visiting the doctor-and finally cuddling up with her father in the hammock, in Emma in Charge by David McPhail. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature
The delightful Emma is back in a new adventure just perfect for the pre-school crowd. Readers follow the cuddly bear through her very busy day. Her dolls are gathered for breakfast before they are off to "school" to learn to add and their ABC's, and to practice inside-the-line coloring. There is time for a noisy recess jumping on the bed and a field trip to the zoo where they see the Big Cat—the family cat curled peacefully on a comfy chair—sleeping. At the end of the day the dolls are packed in the wagon for a walk among the flowers and that is where Emma spies the best thing of the day—Daddy comfortable in the hammock. Naptime time with Daddy was just what Emma needed for "being in charge had tuckered Emma right out." McPhail's warm, droll watercolors expertly capture all the nuances of Emma's busy day. Never bossy but always in charge, Emma plans activities that bring her great joy and young readers will see a bit of themselves in the imaginative and thoroughly charming Emma. 2005, Dutton, Ages 3 to 6.
—Beverley Fahey
School Library Journal
PreS-K-Emma is back. After having breakfast with her parents, the little cub lines up her dolls for a day at her very own school. White backgrounds frame the warm watercolor illustrations that offer snapshots of the youngster's activities and provide a suitable space for the simple sentences that appropriately describe them. Emma leads the dolls and clown through their math and ABCs, coloring and music time, and recess. She even gives them a checkup with her doctor's kit before it's time for a field trip to the zoo, where they watch the family cat sleep. Finally, the young bear leads her charges out to the garden where her mother is planting flowers, and a ride in the wheelbarrow leads to the hammock where father is sleeping. After a busy day of being in charge, Emma and her students are ready for naptime with Dad. This delightful picture book will resonate with readers who have taken charge of their toys and their imaginations.-Kristine M. Casper, Huntington Public Library, NY Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Emma, McPhail's delightful little bear, assumes teaching responsibilities for her three dolls, taking them through their day: breakfast, school, a doctor's appointment. Sure, this story has things to say about taking command and the importance of learning, but McPhail's knack is in the heart-gladdening touches he invests in his illustrations, artwork as fine as old china (if your china comes burnished with softened colors). The clown doll, naturally, is always clowning around in his silent way. It looks like the dolls are nodding off in math class. Are they alive? Well, sometimes, sometimes not. McPhail's not obviously showing his hand, for half the pleasure is in the mystery of it all. Imagination is a good thing to exercise, so let it run and play. That's why readers keep coming back to McPhail's books, and ever will. (Picture book. 3-5)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780525474111
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/28/2005
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
8.38(w) x 8.28(h) x 0.37(d)
Age Range:
3 - 6 Years

Meet the Author

David McPhail is the acclaimed author of many popular books for children, including Fix-It; Pigs Aplenty, Pigs Galore!; and Pigs Ahoy! (all Dutton and Puffin). He is also the illustrator of Jan Waldron's Angel Pig and the Hidden Christmas and John Pig's Halloween (both Dutton). He lives in Newburyport, Massachusetts.

David McPhail is the acclaimed author of many popular books for children, including Fix-It; Pigs Aplenty, Pigs Galore!; and Pigs Ahoy! (all Dutton and Puffin). He is also the illustrator of Jan Waldron's Angel Pig and the Hidden Christmas and John Pig's Halloween (both Dutton). He lives in Newburyport, Massachusetts.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >