Emma Lou Diemer: Pacific Ridge

( 1 )
CD (Enhanced)
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $11.62   
  • New (4) from $11.62   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/26/2013
  • Label: Navona
  • UPC: 896931000987
  • Catalog Number: 5898
  • Sales rank: 320,618


Disc 1
  1. 1 Santa Barbara Overture - Emma Lou Diemer & Brynmor Llewelyn Jones (11:17)
  2. 2 Concerto in One Movement for Organ and Chamber Orchestra ("Alaska") - Emma Lou Diemer & Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra (18:14)
  3. 3 Concerto in One Movement for Organ and Chamber Orchestra ("Alaska") - Emma Lou Diemer & Vladimír Válek (27:10)
  4. 4 Untitled CD-ROM Track - Unspecified & Bob Lord
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Emma Lou Diemer is an American original. She is a graduate of t

    Emma Lou Diemer is an American original. She is a graduate of the Eastman School and studied with Howard Hanson, among others. She has a fifty year plus reputation as both a composer as well as a superb concert organist. It is important to note that Diemer was also one of America's first women composers to achieve a national status and it is to her credit that she has shared her skills and love of music with school children for a long time. She even served under a grant as a resident educator-composer in the Arlington VA schools.

    This collection features three of her most important fairly recent works and is well worth discovering! The "Santa Barbara" Overture was written for the Santa Barbara Symphony their outstanding conductor, Giselle Ben-Dor in 1996. Diemer taught at the University of California for many years and remains a professor emeritus. This is a very entertaining and spritely work that echoes music of the many cultures that flavor southern California; including Mexican, Spanish and Native American. The work even closes with bells played on some tubular bells from the Mission Santa Barbara; a very nice touch. This work has shades of Bernstein running through it - not a bad thing - and is quite exhilarating. This performance is by the London Symphony under the baton of Brynmore Lewelyn-Jones.

    The Concerto in One Movement for Marimba is a similarly exciting work, written for the Women's Philharmonic and JoAnn Falletta. The marimba writing is actually very colorful and gives the instrument a real "voice" all its own. The tone throughout is dramatic and somewhat "dark" in places but this is a very fine work in a limited genre. In this recording, soloist Nathan Daughtry does an excellent job and the Slovak Radio Symphony and Joel Suben offer strong backup. I should think that all keyboard percussion players would want to know this work!

    I was also quite impressed with the Concerto in One Movement for Piano. This is a substantial work of nearly thirty minutes and is written as one movement but with three distinct sections. The composer writes a lot of music in single movement form and this piece is characterized by its very spiky, Bartok-like opening and lovely central section that segues into a very rhythmic coda. This particular recording is a re-issue with the same soloist, Betty Oberacker from 1999 and her performance makes a convincing case for this piece being standard contemporary repertoire. The Czech Radio Symphony and conductor Vladimir Valek do a wonderful job as well.

    This recording makes for a great introduction to the music of Emma Lou Diemer; already an important composer, but who is not as widely known as she deserves. Contemporary is frequently a world in which a select become truly well known or at least the latest hot topic. Diemer is one of the many, many quality composers who has earned a spot in American music by being consistently good and writing music that cuts across time and styles. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews