Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry (Emmy and the Rat Series #3)

Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry (Emmy and the Rat Series #3)

4.8 13
by Lynne Jonell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Emmy was not an ordinary girl. She could talk to rodents. She could shrink to the size of a rodent. And just a few weeks ago, she had even become a rodent to defeat her evil former nanny, Miss Barmy.

Emmy's parents, unaware of their daughter's other life, ship her off to visit two elderly aunts in Schenectady. Emmy figures her life will be

Overview

Emmy was not an ordinary girl. She could talk to rodents. She could shrink to the size of a rodent. And just a few weeks ago, she had even become a rodent to defeat her evil former nanny, Miss Barmy.

Emmy's parents, unaware of their daughter's other life, ship her off to visit two elderly aunts in Schenectady. Emmy figures her life will be ordinary at last, if rather boring. But she didn't count on her friend Ratty, whose search for his long-lost Ratmom brings him more than he bargained for.

Here is the third book in the acclaimed Emmy series, complete with a flip book feature (bats!).

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Highly entertaining plot ... Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Quirky, imaginative tale.” —School Library Journal

Children's Literature - Denise Daley
Emmy has a special secret: she can communicate with rats. Her rat friend Raston can even shrink Emmy to a rat's size if he gently bites her and Raston's sister Cecelia can turn Emmy back into a person by kissing her on the cheek. The problem is that the evil rat Miss Barmy wants to become human and she and her abiding counterpart Cheswick are scheming to kidnap Cecelia. When Emmy is sent to live with her two elderly aunts, the rat friends learn that the tears from Raston's mom can make people young. The old aunts are enjoying their newfound youth and climbing in the church belfry when the tears wear off and they are suddenly aged again. Can Emmy and her friends help the elderly aunts safely and secretly out of the belfry? Will Emmy and her friends be able to escape Miss Barmy's wicked plotting? This novel has multiple storylines and each one is a bit farfetched. The plot is creative but at times it is also a bit creepy and parts may go over the head of younger readers. For example, Raston's mom has a root beer problem and is referred to as a sleazy drunk. Still, the overall adventure will appeal to readers who may find Emmy's experience exciting. The illustrations are simple black and white borders that decorate each page. Reviewer: Denise Daley
School Library Journal
Gr 3–6—Emmaline Addison, the girl who communicates with rodents, is back with her recipe-loving, bewhiskered friend, Ratson. In this third critter adventure, two mysterious letters arrive from Schenectady. The first invites Sissy to a reunion with her long-lost Ratmom. The second asks Emmy to visit her great-aunts. These letters are actually part of a diabolical plot masterminded by evil Miss Barmey, Emmy's former nanny-turned-rat. She plans to kidnap Sissy and use the rat's magical kisses to restore herself to human form. Once transformed, she will take revenge on Emmy (and her little rats too). Now Emmy and friends must rescue Sissy, find the real Ratmom, stop Miss Barmey's dastardly plot, and prove to her parents that she is indeed a responsible daughter. Predictably, good prevails over evil. Just the same, readers will cheer when Miss Barmey and henchman Cheswick Vole find themselves behind bars. Although some background is provided, readers unfamiliar with Emmy's previous adventures may be confused. Additionally, the length may intimidate reluctant readers. Still, fans of the protagonist will delight in this quirky, imaginative tale. Bean's very batty flip-book art adds to the fun.—Alissa J. LeMerise, Oxford Public Library, MI
Kirkus Reviews

Ten-year-old Emmy Addison returns with rodent pal Raston Rat to prove she's a responsible kid who still has what it takes to outwit her former nanny, the devious Jane Barmy, in this fast-paced sequel toEmmy and the Home for Troubled Girls(2008).

Fresh from their unscrupulous ventures three weeks ago, when they were transformed into rats, shameless Jane Barmy and her besotted partner in crime, Cheswick Vole, resurface, intent on revenge. While vandalizing Emmy's bedroom to frame her for irresponsibility, the dastardly duo learn Professor Capybara has developed patches embedded with kisses from Raston's sister Sissy that can turn them back into full-sized humans. Together they steal Capybara's formula, dupe Emmy's parents into sending her to visit her great aunts in Schenectady and trick Sissy to go with Emmy to find her "Ratmom." In Schenectady, bats "ratnap" Sissy, who's forced to produce more patches while Emmy discovers her elderly great aunts barely surviving on their own. Using every transforming rodent trick (bites, kisses and reverse aging tears), Emmy and Raston crash a river-rat bar, scale a batty belfry and stow away on a train, attempting to rescue Sissy and save the aunts. The complicated, improbable but highly entertaining plot showcases brave, responsible Emmy and hilarious, irresponsible Raston. Bats appropriately swirl in the flip-book feature.

Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades.(Fantasy. 9-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781466803817
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication date:
07/05/2011
Series:
Emmy and the Rat Series , #3
Sold by:
Macmillan
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
739,797
File size:
363 KB
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Lynne Jonell is the author of the novels Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat, Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls, and The Secret of Zoom, as well as several critically acclaimed picture books. Her books have been named Junior Library Guild Selections and a Smithsonian Notable Book, among numerous other honors. She teaches writing at the Loft Literary Center and lives with her husband and two sons in Plymouth, Minnesota.

Jonathan Bean has a master's degree in illustration from the School of Visual Arts in New York. He has illustrated several books for young readers, including Mokie and Bik. He lives in New York City.


Lynne Jonell is the author of the novels Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat, Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls, and The Secret of Zoom, as well as several critically acclaimed picture books. Her books have been named Junior Library Guild Selections and a Smithsonian Notable Book, among numerous other honors. Born in Little Falls, Minnesota, Jonell grew up in a suburb of Minneapolis. She now teaches writing at the Loft Literary Center and lives with her husband and two sons in Plymouth, Minnesota, in a house on a hill.
JONATHAN BEAN received an M.F.A. from New York's School of Visual Arts and now lives in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. A two-time winner of the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, for At Night and Building Our House, he is also the illustrator of Big Snow, two picture books by Lauren Thompson, and Bad Bye, Good Bye by Deborah Underwood.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not the best of the series, but REALLY nice!
Fluter More than 1 year ago
This is a book I could not put down. Once I started reading it, I couldn't stop! You have to read this book, you will be glad you did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this bok. In fact, I have not read the first book of this series. Only the second.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the whole series of these books and I would recomend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THESE BOOK! I've only read the first one and i loved it I acually got to meet the author at a festival and she read a little bit to us and it was reallygood and she is really nice to.
Caroline_xyz More than 1 year ago
I recommend it for anyone and everyone who read the first two books of the series, i read them twice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are you sad because my best friend named tabby is going to utah and then to guam. This makes me so sad because i m really going to miss the fun that weve had for the past 3 years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this the last book? I hope not. I love thisseries!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MAKE A RUN FOR IT! AS FAST AS YOUR LITTLE LEGS CAN TAKE YOU! SEE WHAT SHE DID TO STORM!! ASK HER!!!! GOOOOO MY LITTLE ONES GOOOOOO! *hands each a lollipop a pat on the head a kiss on the cheek and disapears in a puff of smoke*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are u all right
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ummm hello?