The Enchantment Emporium

The Enchantment Emporium

4.0 85
by Tanya Huff
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

First in a brand-new urban fantasy series from the author of The Blood Books

The Gale family can change the world with the charms they cast, and they like to keep this in the family. Alysha Gale is tired of having all her aunts try to run her life, both personally and magically. So when the letter from her Gran arrives willing her a "junk" shop in

Overview

First in a brand-new urban fantasy series from the author of The Blood Books

The Gale family can change the world with the charms they cast, and they like to keep this in the family. Alysha Gale is tired of having all her aunts try to run her life, both personally and magically. So when the letter from her Gran arrives willing her a "junk" shop in Calgary, Alysha jumps at the chance. It isn't until she gets there that she realizes her customers are fey. And no one told her there's trouble brewing in Calgary-trouble so big that even calling in the family may not save the day...

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Fantasy buffs will find plenty of humor, thrills and original mythology to chew on, along with refreshingly three-dimensional women in an original, fully realized world." —Publishers Weekly

“It’s a great adventure, full of music and magic and just a little goofy at times, thanks to the delightful oddities of the Gales.” —Locus

"Combine Huff’s ability to blend ancient traditions seamlessly into the modern world and make them seem perfectly normal with her characters who are appealing and fun to hang out with, and you’re in for an amazing read." —Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Publishers Weekly

Thoughtful and leisurely, this fresh urban fantasy from Canadian author Huff (Valor's Trial) features an ensemble cast of nuanced characters in Calgary, Alberta. Headstrong young museum research assistant Allie Gale takes over her missing grandmother's titular junk-shop, which is supposedly crucial to the local community. When Allie arrives to find a leprechaun, a monkey's paw and a magic mirror, she realizes her grandmother didn't mean the human community. After spotting low-flying dragons and other UnderRealm creatures in the neighborhood, Allie calls on the help of her powerful family of modern, benevolent Toronto witches, who attempt to visit via a spacetime-spanning Wood until something shadowy begins pushing them out in inconvenient locales like Haiti. Fantasy buffs will find plenty of humor, thrills and original mythology to chew on, along with refreshingly three-dimensional women in an original, fully realized world. (June)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
VOYA - Kristin Anderson
Twenty-four-year-old Allie Gale has recently lost her job and returned to the home of her very large and very magical family. When Allie receives a mysterious letter from her grandmother in Calgary, Allie ventures away from home to take over the operation of her grandmother's junk shop. It quickly becomes clear that the shop has been serving the local fey community and that something sinister is brewing. A tangled plot involving dragon lords and sorcerers emerges. With the help of friends and family, as well as a bit of romance with the sorcerer's henchman, Allie and the rest of the Gale family unite to save Calgary from going up in flames. Although the world-building at the beginning is a little choppy, overall this novel is a very entertaining and humorous read. The low P score provided here mostly speaks to the fact that the book does not have high teen appeal. Teen urban fairy tends to present a nascent romance as a critical component, but this title presents a heroine who has been thwarted in love, develops a physical relationship with a man, and then slowly falls in love with him. Fans of Melissa Marr and Holly Black, however, who have exhausted all teen titles in the urban faery genre may be intrigued. When recommending to teens, it is important to understand that the book contains more frank discussions of sexuality, in all its limitless possibilities, than even the steamiest of teen titles. Reviewer: Kristin Anderson
Library Journal
Alysha Gale isn't sure what she wants to do with her life. Born into the magical Gale family, she feels that everything is predestined—she'll marry another Gale, have magical children, and, after menopause, become one of the Gale Aunties. Though she tries to live a normal life, she finds her attempt thwarted when her Gran goes missing and leaves Alysha a strange inheritance: a Calgary junk shop that is a hub of activity for the city's fey community. Though Alysha journeys reluctantly to Calgary, she soon realizes that this trip is yet another part of her predestiny as a Gale—something scary is brewing in the prairie province of Alberta, and she needs to help stop it. VERDICT This new urban fantasy by the author of the "Blood" vampire mysteries (the basis for Lifetime's now canceled Blood Ties series) will appeal to fantasy fans who enjoy supernatural phenomena in real-world settings and urban fantasy readers who are bored with the grittier side of the genre. A good readalike is Laura Anne Gilman's "Retrievers" series.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780756406059
Publisher:
DAW
Publication date:
06/01/2010
Series:
Enchantment Emporium Series , #1
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
546,475
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range:
17 Years

Meet the Author

Tanya Huff may have left Nova Scotia at three, and has lived most of her life since in Ontario, but she still considers herself a Maritimer. On the way to the idyllic rural existence she shares with her partner Fiona Patton, six cats, and a chihuahua, she acquired a degree in Radio and Television Arts from Ryerson Polytechnic—an education she was happy to finally use while writing her recent Smoke novels. Of her previous twenty-three books, the five—Blood Price, Blood Trail, Blood Lines, Blood Pact, Blood Debt—featuring Henry Fitzroy, bastard son of Henry VIII, romance writer, and vampire are among the most popular.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Enchantment Emporium 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 85 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the plot was good, but I LOVE all the characters I hope this is a series!!
Pasilla More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down once I started. I hope she continues this as a series. It would be great to know what happens with everyone. Lots of potential for other stories. Very magical--fantastic, but somehow very believable.
Flit More than 1 year ago
This 'family' develops by hints and tidbits. A mixture or witches and perhaps druids, They are adults who joke about each other but love each other. There ARE sinister things going on. She can build the suspense craftily, and love her brand of humor, and her dragonlords!
Chocolate-Peanut-Butter More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Tanya Huff's writing style, and this book is packed with intriguing ideas. The Gale family, their magic, their relationships, are all fascinating. Even though I liked the main character and the story line, I found myself getting a bit annoyed at the constant repetition of how scary the Aunties are supposed to be. I got it in the first chapter. And the second. And the third... Still, a fun read! If you're a fan, you'll love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a complete joy to find. The author took me to a whole new world of magic. Please keep writing!
8ntFrogn More than 1 year ago
This book was very entertaining. You have to read the whole thing to get answer to the questions. The characters are fun and Charlie is my kind of girl. Tanya Huff always makes me laugh with her humor. So if you want to read something to relax with on a rainy day or lazing by the pool you won't be disappointed.
Koneko_no_Yami More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed The Enchantment Emporium. I found the characters fun and interesting and the situation fairly original. The plot was reletively unpredictable - I was suprised at least twice by plot twists - and I found the in-joke Sci Fi references funny. However, the whole time I was reading I felt as if there was something I missed. Was this book two of a series? Had there been a short story I hadn't known about? NOTHING about the world is explained. Most of it you can pick up from context, although it's often 50 pages later that an obscure magical factiod becomes clear. Honestly, the lack of exposition was kind of refreshing, but slightly unnerving. Still, worth reading.
snapeysmom More than 1 year ago
If you've read Summon the Keeper, or actually any of Tanya Huff's books and loved them, I think you willo also love Enchanment Emporium!
anne_jindra 27 days ago
Allie Gale is away from her family for the first time- and Gale girls don't leave home. Why not? Because they're all natural witches, and the men too. An entire family of natural born psychics who keep everything that they can in the family makes for a tightly knit, homey, experience growing up, but it's a little much for a twenty-something in the twenty first century. So she takes off for Western Canada and an eclectic shoppe which could use a girl with her talents. What she doesn't count on is that an evil that's followed her family before has been waiting for one of them to stray. What that evil doesn't count on is her cousin, who can walk the Wild Ways without using the old, raw, Celtic magic of her family. When her cousin takes off to join her, there's no stopping it. Charlie is as fey as they come, able to bend the possibilities of green places and simply step out. Allie was always one of her favorites, and she thinks the Aunties are a little bit much as well, although they do make one mean pie. Slipping away is out of the question with a family like that, and Allie finds herself tangled back up in family matters, enchantments, old grudges and- somehow- dragons. http://badfantasyrx.blogspot.com/2016/09/tanya-huff-enchantment-emporium.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book can't wait to read more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Make sure you pay attention from the beginning because there is a lot going on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MaryKingsley More than 1 year ago
Sign me up for the next book! Reminds me of DeLint a little.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago