English Tea Murder (Lucy Stone Series #17)

English Tea Murder (Lucy Stone Series #17)

3.6 23
by Leslie Meier
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Between a busy family and her duties as a reporter for the Tinker's Cove Pennysaver, Lucy Stone could use a break. So when a friend tells her about a trip to England sponsored by Winchester College, she jumps at the chance for a girls getaway. But when tour leader Professor George Temple dies mid-flight after an asthma attack, Lucy's glad she packed her

See more details below

Overview

Between a busy family and her duties as a reporter for the Tinker's Cove Pennysaver, Lucy Stone could use a break. So when a friend tells her about a trip to England sponsored by Winchester College, she jumps at the chance for a girls getaway. But when tour leader Professor George Temple dies mid-flight after an asthma attack, Lucy's glad she packed her sleuthing skills. . .In London, Professor Quentin Rea, a ladies' man and former flirt of Lucy's, arrives to take over the tour—and she finds that while his hairline has receded, his amorous intentions have not. Lucy also begins to notice peculiar behavior among other members of the group. And when she discovers all of them have pasts connected to the late Professor Temple, she suspects his death was an elaborate act of revenge. Then another tour member dies, and Lucy is suddenly ensnared in a daring scheme that could lead her to a mastermind of murder—or make her the next victim. . ."Leslie Meier writes with sparkle and warmth." –Chicago Sun Times"Leslie Meier has created a town I'd like to live in and sleuth I'd love to meet." –Jill Churchill"Fans of Murder, She Wrote may want to try this latest in a series that is well written and enjoyable." –The Evansville Courier and Press

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Meier's sprightly 17th Lucy Stone mystery (after 2010's Wicked Witch Murder), the intrepid Tinker's Cove, Maine, reporter joins a tour group sponsored by Winchester College for her first trip overseas. Soon after the group's plane departs Boston for London, their affable guide, Winchester professor George Temple, dies of an apparent asthma attack, but the plane continues across the Atlantic. When attractive Quentin Rea, a former English professor of Lucy's, replaces Temple as the group leader at short notice, Lucy is dismayed to find the incorrigible flirt still smooth talking the ladies. Meanwhile, Lucy senses that others on the tour, despite their nonchalance, have something to hide. Eventually, Lucy realizes that everyone had a reason to want Temple dead. Though patches of travelogue tend to overshadow the mystery solving, the unusual ending will leave readers much to debate. (July)
Library Journal
Lucy (Gingerbread Cookie Murder) heads to England in her 16th outing, but the tour group leader dies on the plane.
Kirkus Reviews

Tinker's Cove's star reporter Lucy Stone (Wicked Witch Murder, 2010, etc.) and three chums take an action-packed trip to England.

Although her daughter Elizabeth's final year at Chamberlain College poses financial challenges for the Stone family, Lucy can't resist a bargain: only $2,000 (including airfare) for a nine-day study-abroad run by nearby Winchester University. Sue Finch talksPennysavereditor Ted Stillings into giving Lucy time off. After all, Ted's wife Pam is going along too. So is mutual friend Rachel Goodman. The tour gets off to a slightly rocky start, since its leader, George Temple, dies of anaphylaxis on the plane ride over. But after a brief interview with John Neal of the Metropolitan Police, it's all good. The friends set off, along with Autumn, Jennifer, Caroline and Will, the four Winchester students, Jennifer's granddad, Caroline's folks and Will's mom, for the Desmond Hotel, where Lucy promptly e-mails the college president asking for a replacement for Temple. (Her mobile doesn't work overseas, and London hotels evidently have no phones.) While they wait for a reply, Sue takes her friends shopping in Portobello Road. Come Monday morning, Quentin Rea arrives to take over as tour leader. Energetic Rea takes the group to Hampton Court, Brighton, Bath, Salisbury and Stonehenge. But he poses complications for Lucy, who during her student years was drawn into a not-quite-improper relationship with the literature professor. As their travels unfold, their relationship heats up, until a series of half-overheard conversations and near-miss accidents persuades Lucy that George Temple's death was no accident.

Short on sense but long on scenery, Lucy's 19th is best suited for those in search of a quick glide through England's top tourist attractions.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780758277589
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
01/03/2012
Series:
Lucy Stone Series , #17
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
28,341
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >