Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice

Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice

by Herbert P. Ginsburg
     
 

ISBN-10: 0521496853

ISBN-13: 9780521496858

Pub. Date: 04/28/2010

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

The first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method, a flexible, deliberately non-standardized technique for investigating children's thinking. The book aims (1) to show that the clinical interview method, in the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, is superior to standard assessments of children's thinking and (2) to help

Overview

The first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method, a flexible, deliberately non-standardized technique for investigating children's thinking. The book aims (1) to show that the clinical interview method, in the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, is superior to standard assessments of children's thinking and (2) to help researchers and practitioners in psychology, education, and related fields learn to conduct clinical interviews and teach the method to students.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780521496858
Publisher:
Cambridge University Press
Publication date:
04/28/2010
Pages:
296
Product dimensions:
6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.00(d)

Table of Contents

1. The need to move beyond standardized methods; 2. What is the clinical interview? Where did it come from? Why do it?; 3. What happens in the clinical interview; 4. Not a cookbook: guidelines for conducting a clinical interview; 5. Evaluating clinical interviews: how good are they; 6. Towards the future: the clinical interview and the curriculum; Appendix.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >