BN.com Gift Guide

Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice

Hardcover (Print)
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $130.49
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (4) from $130.49   
  • New (2) from $130.49   
  • Used (2) from $150.99   

Overview

The first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method, a flexible, deliberately non-standardized technique for investigating children's thinking. The book aims (1) to show that the clinical interview method, in the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, is superior to standard assessments of children's thinking and (2) to help researchers and practitioners in psychology, education, and related fields learn to conduct clinical interviews and teach the method to students.

Presents guidelines to help conduct clinical interviews, how to evaluate them, incl. case study.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"This is a book that knows where it's going and heads there with authority." David Kirshner; Mind, Culture, and Activity: An International Journal
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780521496858
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication date: 4/28/2010
  • Pages: 296
  • Product dimensions: 6.20 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Table of Contents

Preface
Acknowledgments
1 The Need to Move Beyond Standardized Methods 1
2 What Is the Clinical Interview? Where Did It Come From? Why Do It? 30
3 What Happens in the Clinical Interview? 70
4 Not a Cookbook: Guidelines for Conducting a Clinical Interview 115
5 Evaluating Clinical Interviews: How Good Are They? 159
6 Toward the Future: The Clinical Interview and the Curriculum 209
Appendix Transcript of the Interview with Toby 231
Notes 249
References 261
Index 271
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)