Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow [NOOK Book]

Overview

In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That's what Erasmus Hobart – school teacher, history fanatic, time-traveller – wants to find out. In this, his first adventure, Erasmus takes his time-travelling privy back to mediaeval Nottingham in his quest for knowledge. But with homicidal knights, amorous female ...
See more details below
Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook - ePub edition)
FREE

More About This Book

Overview

In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That's what Erasmus Hobart – school teacher, history fanatic, time-traveller – wants to find out. In this, his first adventure, Erasmus takes his time-travelling privy back to mediaeval Nottingham in his quest for knowledge. But with homicidal knights, amorous female outlaws and mischievous squirrels complicating his investigation, will he uncover the truth in time to get back and mark 4A's history homework?
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780007510825
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 12/6/2012
  • Sold by: Harper Collins UK
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition description: ePub edition
  • Pages: 300
  • Sales rank: 52,293
  • File size: 2 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Slow start

    It was a very slow start. I thought I would like this more because of the comparrisons to Adams. Instead, I found the humor contrived. Eventaully the story picked up and I was able to finsh the book with no regrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Middle Ages Crazy

    Humorous adventure story about a schoolteacher. Erasmus Hobart teaches history and physics to adolescent boys, and has an interest in medieval England. Using apparatus he has built in secret, Erasmus conducts an unorthodox research project on the Nottingham area in the time of Prince John. As a history teacher, Erasmus is not surprised to find that some things in the past are not exactly as we have been told. But when a couple of important events and relationships are the exact opposite of folklore, Erasmus wonders whether he can nudge history back onto the right course.

    The most amusing incidents involve a pair of information brokers who hold down the corner table in a rough roadside tavern.

    This is a short book, and a quick read. I found it enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Lots of fun

    The comparisonwith douglas adams are apt. This is witty and fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)