Essential Delius: 150th Anniversary Edition

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $6.75   
  • New (4) from $6.75   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 1/10/2012
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • EAN: 5099908421029
  • Catalog Number: 84210
  • Sales rank: 17,943


Disc 1
  1. 1 On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring, tone poem for orchestra (Pieces for small orchestra, No. 1), RT vi/19/1 - Frederick Delius & Vernon Handley (5:46)
  2. 2 Summer Night on the River, tone poem for orchestra (Pieces for small orchestra, No. 2), RT vi/19/2 - Frederick Delius & Vernon Handley (6:27)
  3. 3 The Walk To the Paradise Garden, for orchestra (Interlude from "A Village Romeo & Juliet") - Frederick Delius & Thomas Beecham (9:50)
  4. 4 A Song Before Sunrise, for small orchestra, RT vi/24 - Frederick Delius & Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (6:11)
  5. 5 La Calinda, for orchestra (arrangement by Fenby of the dance from Act 2 of Koanga) - Frederick Delius & John Barbirolli (4:34)
  6. 6 Norwegian Sleigh Ride, RT ix/3 - Frederick Delius & Thomas Beecham (5:30)
  7. 7 Fennimore and Gerda Intermezzo, for orchestra (arr. by Fenby from interludes from opera "Fennimore and Gerda") - Frederick Delius & Vernon Handley (4:58)
  8. 8 Irmelin, prelude for orchestra, RT vi/27 - Frederick Delius & John Barbirolli (5:49)
  9. 9 Summer Night on the River, tone poem for orchestra (Pieces for small orchestra, No. 2), RT vi/19/2 - Frederick Delius & Richard Hickox (6:34)
  10. 10 Paris: A Nocturne (The Song of a Great City), for orchestra, RT vi/14 - Frederick Delius & Charles Mackerras (21:41)
Disc 2
  1. 1 In a Summer Garden, rhapsody for orchestra, RT vi/17 - Frederick Delius & Vernon Handley (14:17)
  2. 2 Hassan, incidental music, RT i/9: Intermezzo - Frederick Delius & Thomas Beecham (2:25)
  3. 3 A Song of Summer, for orchestra, RT vi/26 - Frederick Delius & John Barbirolli (11:17)
  4. 4–5 To be sung of a summer night on the water, songs (2) for chorus, RT iv/5 - Frederick Delius & Choir of King's College, Cambridge (4:17)
  5. 5 Late Swallows, for strings (arr. by Fenby from the 3rd movement of String Quartet No. 2) - Frederick Delius & John Barbirolli (10:48)
  6. 6 A Dance Rhapsody (No. 2), for orchestra, RT vi/22 - Frederick Delius & Thomas Beecham (7:43)
  7. 7 Cynara, song for baritone & orchestra, RT iii/5 - Frederick Delius & Charles Groves (9:33)
  8. 8 Brigg Fair (An English Rhapsody), for orchestra, RT vi/16 - Frederick Delius & Richard Hickox (16:02)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    An essential collection

    What more can one say about Delius that hasn't been said already? So I won't try. This particular collection of 19 tracks includes all his greatest hits and some seldom-heard selections ("Fennimore and Gerda" and two songs "to be sung on a summer night on the water"). All are performed with elegant clarity and professionalism, most by the London philharmonic and symphony orchestras. A beautiful collection on two discs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews