Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues: A White Trash Zombie Novel

Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues: A White Trash Zombie Novel

4.6 18
by Diana Rowland
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Angel Crawford is finally starting to get used to life as a brain-eating zombie, but her problems are far from over. Her felony record is coming back to haunt her, more zombie hunters are popping up, and she’s beginning to wonder if her hunky cop-boyfriend is involved with the zombie mafia. Yeah, that’s right—the zombie mafia.

Throw in a secret

…  See more details below

Overview

Angel Crawford is finally starting to get used to life as a brain-eating zombie, but her problems are far from over. Her felony record is coming back to haunt her, more zombie hunters are popping up, and she’s beginning to wonder if her hunky cop-boyfriend is involved with the zombie mafia. Yeah, that’s right—the zombie mafia.

Throw in a secret lab and a lot of conspiracy, and Angel’s going to need all of her brainpower—and maybe a brain smoothie as well—in order to get through it without falling apart.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the series:

“Rowland’s delightful novel jumps genre lines with a little something for everyone—mystery, horror, humor, and even a smattering of romance. Not to be missed—all that’s required is a high tolerance for gray matter. For true zombiephiles, of course, that’s a no brainer.” — Library Journal

An intriguing mystery and a hilarious mix of the horrific and mundane aspects of zombie life open a promising new series from Rowland…. Humor and gore are balanced by surprisingly touching moments as Angel tries to turn her (un)life around.” — Publishers Weekly

"If you missed My Life as a White Trash Zombie, Rowland’s truly wonderful series starter about new zombie Angel Crawford, be sure to rectify that mistake and also pick up the next chapter about this amazingly engaging heroine. Rowland has come up with a perfect blend of creepy, scary, yet emotionally touching adventures for her gutsy and endearing heroine. Angel’s evolution from depressed loser to young woman learning to trust her instincts is entertainment at its best. Do not miss out on this exceptional series!" — RT Book Reviews

Equally gross and heartwarming, disgusting and rivetingMy Life as a White Trash Zombie is a clever read. If you like to see a flawed heroine pull herself back up, and can handle visceral imagery, it’s a brilliant book. Fans of Carolyn Crane, Stacia Kane and Allison Pang will dig on this one. Big time.” — Vampirebookclub.net

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780756407506
Publisher:
DAW
Publication date:
07/03/2012
Series:
White Trash Zombie Series, #2
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
369,145
Product dimensions:
4.00(w) x 6.70(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1

“So you hiding a body in here or sumthin’?”

The speaker gave a rasping chuckle as I pulled open the door of my storage unit, but behind his show of amusement was an avid curiosity that he was clearly desperate to satisfy. His question held a certain irony, considering that he fit the image of a serial killer a lot more than I did. Greasy black hair hung in lank tendrils from beneath a soiled Saints ball cap, his “Stor-This!” t-shirt with cut-off sleeves revealed slender arms with a surprising amount of muscle definition, and he apparently had the nervous habit of biting his nails—so severely that the tips of several fingers bore scabs.

On the other hand, I was the one who had a large chest freezer in a storage unit. Okay, yeah, so maybe that was a teensy bit suspicious. I could practically see the possibilities whirling behind his yellow-tinged eyes. Perhaps I was hiding the body of a past boyfriend? Maybe a parent? How about a too-nosy storage unit manager?

“Nah,” I replied with a friendly smile. “I won one of those grocery store shopping sprees and didn’t have any room back at my house to put a freezer. Didn’t want all the stuff I got to go to waste, y’know?” I flipped the lid of the freezer open so that he could see the contents. He peered in, hungry curiosity shifting to disappointment as he took in the sight of several dozen frozen dinners, various plastic containers, and a couple of slabs of ribs wrapped in plastic. Definitely no corpses. Even the ribs were obviously non-human in origin.

“Oh. Yeah, okay. Makes sense.” He straightened and stepped back as I placed two more plastic containers in the freezer.

“Made a big batch of soup yesterday,” I explained as the hunger nudged at me. It wanted what was in those containers, but I was trying hard to be super careful about not splurging. I knew I needed to ration my supply carefully. I had a nice surplus right now, however, I’d learned from hard experience not to depend on that. “I ran out of room in the fridge at home,” I continued, “so I figured I might as well put it out here for later on.” I closed the lid, made sure it was fully clasped. “Sorry, no bodies!” I said with a laugh.

His mouth twisted into an answering smile, but it was clear I’d ceased to be interesting now that he knew there was nothing mysterious to be found in storage unit number five-three-four. Good thing he had no idea that the contents of the freezer were far worse than a corpse.

He wandered back up to the office while I closed and locked the unit. There was nothing at all that said I had to show him what was in my unit, but I knew damn well that if I hadn’t let him look he’d have probably broken in to satisfy his curiosity, and then I’d have run the risk that the contents of the freezer would be ruined.

The slabs of ribs were exactly what they appeared to be—and from pigs, not humans—but the soup and the frozen dinners contained my very prized stash of about three months’ worth of brains.

Yes, human brains.

Hello, my name is Angel, and I’ll be your zombie today.

Read More

Meet the Author

Diana Rowland has lived her entire life below the Mason-Dixon line. She has worked as a bartender, a blackjack dealer, a pit boss, a street cop, a detective, a computer forensics specialist, a crime scene investigator, and a morgue assistant, which means that she's seen more than her share of what humans can do to each other and to themselves. She won the marksmanship award in her Police Academy class, has a black belt in Hapkido, and has handled numerous dead bodies in various states of decomposition. She presently lives in southern Louisiana with her husband and her daughter where she is deeply grateful for the existence of air conditioning. A master of urban fantasy, she’s the author of the Demon series and the White Trash Zombie series. She can be contacted via her website, www.dianarowland.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues: A White Trash Zombie Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
New approach to zombies with likeable characters and compelling action.
Dromon More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book. It was fast paced had a sympathetic main character, and answered issues raised in the first book of this series. I don't know how many books can be developed in this series before it loses steam, but I'm eagerly awaiting the release of the third book.
Supernatural-Mama More than 1 year ago
I love anything with zombies, tv shows, movies, video games, and books so when I saw the title and the bada** artwork on the cover I knew I would love this book and I was right! The characters are realistic the storyline AMAZING, I couldn't put this book down! A+++, I hope there are more to follow!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please I want the third book. This book is a must read for all zombie lovers with a twist! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book! Cant wait til the 3rd one comes out.
girlybookworm More than 1 year ago
All of Rowland's books are awesome, this series is no exception. I devour them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! This series keeps getting better and better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
naturalbri More than 1 year ago
What I Thought: I Loved this book!  I read the first book in the series My Life as a White Trash Zombie and learned how Angel Crawford came to terms with and learned hoe to be a zombie. She went through trials and tribulations, trying to stay under the radar and figure out just how to get brains and the effects of eating them.  In this book, Angel is still learning about her new life, she's got a boyfriend - no not the same junked up one from the beginning of the previous book. Angel is working to make her life better. She's loving her life at the morgue and getting to know those around her. Actually,she's pretty damn good at what she does! Then it all goes to pot.  I love how much Angel grows in this book. We get to see more of her personality, really seeing how she becomes a better person and how she falls into her own as a zombie. Her personality is brilliant. She is a strong-willed and doesn't give up.  The twists and challenges Angel faced were great. I didn't see the twists coming. I thought I knew what was going to happen,but wasn't close. I also thought Angel was excellent at  the challenges she faced, never giving in and often responding with a few curses.  The pace of the book was perfect. It always moved fast enough to keep you on the edge of your seat, but still gives you enough detail to to feel like you know each character.  Overall, I am highly impressed with this book. I am a lover of zombie books, and I find this series refreshing, as it's not your typical zombie read. It gives you a look at zombie life when zombies are good and the people can sometimes be the ones who are bad. It's got action, it's got romance (well, sort of) and it's got lots and lots of attitude. I loved every page and cannot wait to read White Trash Zombie Apocalypse. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and where the author is taking Angel. She's growing, yet still a bit unsure of herself. I like the supporting characters as well with the exception of her boyfriend who I think is overbearing. The plot was more enjoyable than the first book and some loose ends were tied up. Very unique take on zombi-ism and how it works. Looking forward to the next installment in the White Trash Zombie series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could tone back on the profanity a bit.......use a lit LESS of the GD word.....but other than that its a great book and i can't wait for the next one. I love the fact that she isn't this gorgeous, body to diie for type of person. She is your ordinary girl who had a crappy lifestyle and is trying to better herself. I'm glad this isn't about typical zombies, these are actual people living normal everyday life.....well, sorta. :D I highly recommed this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Take a chance and buy this book, it's a must read. Funny, and exciting. (Read the My life as a white trash zombie first!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iwant another, hurry! :)