Every Move [NOOK Book]

Overview

Edgy and suspenseful young adult fiction that explores topics teens want to read about.


It begins with a chance encounter: teenage Emily and her friends come to the aid of a stranger who is being bullied by a gang. Emily forgets about the incident, but the young man she helped becomes fixated on her. Only when her real love interest is attacked does she begin to understand that the stranger's interest in her has become a full-blown obsession. Every Move is a realistic but ...

See more details below
Every Move

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$8.95 List Price

Overview

Edgy and suspenseful young adult fiction that explores topics teens want to read about.


It begins with a chance encounter: teenage Emily and her friends come to the aid of a stranger who is being bullied by a gang. Emily forgets about the incident, but the young man she helped becomes fixated on her. Only when her real love interest is attacked does she begin to understand that the stranger's interest in her has become a full-blown obsession. Every Move is a realistic but chilling look at this threatening and all-too-common form of harassment. [Fry Reading Level - 4.2]

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

KLIATT
This thriller set in Calgary is sure to grab the attention of every fan of suspense stories. Emily, a high school junior, finds herself the unwilling object of Michael LaVide's affections. Michael is a shy, introverted computer geek who gives off a creepy vibe right from the start. He lavishes attention on Emily, sending her cards, poems, and e-mails, but it quickly becomes clear that his interest in her is not exactly harmless. He knows every detail of Emily's life, watches her every move, and even manages to get a job at the same cafT where she works in an attempt to keep his eye on her at all times. In Michael's mind, the two are destined to be together and are actually dating. Things come to a head when his stalking of her moves from being annoying to genuinely frightening. Despite being mentally unhinged, Michael is not a wholly unsympathetic character. McPhee adeptly shows him to be a severely disturbed young man, one who can bounce quickly between being kind and, in his own sick way looking out for Emily, to being psychotic. Every Move is suspenseful, if somewhat predictable, with choppy writing. The reader may find herself aggravated with Emily, who seems to wait way too long to involve her parents and the authorities in this case. As is typical in many thrillers, the heroine tends to do exactly what the reader knows she shouldn't do—go outside alone at night, respond to Michael's attention, and so on. The cliffhanger ending leaves this twisted tale of love open and Emily's safety uncertain. Fans of Caroline Cooney, Christopher Pike, or Lois Duncan will be satisfied with McPhee's story. Reluctant readers will keep turning the pages of this fast-paced novel to see whatMichael will do next. KLIATT Codes: JS—Recommended for junior and senior high school students. 2004, Orca, Lorimer, 183p., Ages 12 to 18.
—Amanda MacGregor
VOYA
McPhee, whose other realistic works for teens include Runner (Orca, 2000) and Out of Time (James Lorimer, 2003), explores the demented reality of a stalker whose obsession wreaks havoc in his victim's life. Inspired by actual events, the book is a fictionalized account of the criminal case involving a Canadian woman who was stalked by a high school classmate for nearly two decades. Sixteen-year-old Emily Taylor meets Michael LaVide at Calgary's Cyber Taste CafT, where she works as a barista, unaware that Michael has been covertly following and photographing her for weeks. He soon begins sending Emily seemingly innocuous e-mail and gifts. When she starts dating Daniel, however, Michael's behavior becomes dangerous. Arrested for vandalizing Emily's home, Michael escapes custody and sets fire to the cafT to injure Daniel. Frightened and exhausted, Emily travels to the Mediterranean to distance herself from the nightmarish ordeal, but readers discover that Michael is still tracking her from the hospital to which he has been remanded. The book's first and final chapters-written in Michael's disquieting voice-are chilling, but those between are narrated in third person, subtly detaching readers from Emily's fear, anger, and despair. True crime readers and those with a special interest in the phenomenon of stalking will enjoy this realistic story. The novel lacks the suspense to engage general and reluctant readers without pushing. Nonetheless this book would prove valuable in English and journalism classes to compare and contrast fictionalized narratives with the nonfiction accounts that inspired them. VOYA CODES: 3Q 3P J S (Readable without serious defects; Will appeal with pushing; JuniorHigh, defined as grades 7 to 9; Senior High, defined as grades 10 to 12). 2004, James Lorimer (Dist. by Orca), 184p., pb. Ages 12 to 18.
—Sherry Korthals
CM: Canadian Review of Materials
"Peter McPhee wades into the murky waters of stalking in this short, accessible novel...McPhee nicely balances the up-to-date banter between teens with the hair-raising horror of an innocent girl's unawareness of her stalker. The mood is full of dramatic irony, with the reader gradually realizing that the trusting nature of Emily and her parents is going to result in tragedy."
Resource Links
"Every Move moves along well, with a suspenseful buildup, and addresses a relevant topic. This would be a good paperback selection for a young adult collection."
CM Magazine
"Peter McPhee wades into the murky waters of stalking in this short, accessible novel...McPhee nicely balances the up-to-date banter between teens with the hair-raising horror of an innocent girl's unawareness of her stalker. The mood is full of dramatic irony, with the reader gradually realizing that the trusting nature of Emily and her parents is going to result in tragedy."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781552776049
  • Publisher: James Lorimer & Company Ltd., Publishers
  • Publication date: 6/27/2012
  • Series: Lorimer SideStreets Series
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 1
  • Sales rank: 673,078
  • Age range: 13 - 17 Years
  • Product dimensions: 4.25 (w) x 7.00 (h) x 0.50 (d)
  • File size: 446 KB

Meet the Author

PETER McPHEE, a Southern Alberta-based writer, was for many years an editor and film critic for the Winnipeg Sun. His plays have been produced at Winnipeg's Prairie Theatre Exchange and Calgary's Alberta Theatre Projects. He has written several books for both children and young adults, including Runner and A Way With Horses, both Canadian Children's Book Centre "Our Choice" Selections.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Pretty good read!

    The book kept me on my toes the whole time! Pretty awsome..i didnt like the ending though! I vote for a sequel! PLEASE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)