×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Every Move She Makes
     

Every Move She Makes

3.9 27
by Beverly Barton
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sleepy Southern Days

As the pampered daughter of one of Spring Creek's most prestigious southern families, Ella Porter has lived her entire life on the straight-and-narrow. And being "good" has kept Ella safe and sane--until now. Suggestive yet ominous letters have been arriving at her office with alarming frequency. Letters that remind her of the

Overview

Sleepy Southern Days

As the pampered daughter of one of Spring Creek's most prestigious southern families, Ella Porter has lived her entire life on the straight-and-narrow. And being "good" has kept Ella safe and sane--until now. Suggestive yet ominous letters have been arriving at her office with alarming frequency. Letters that remind her of the disturbing ones she used to get from Reed Conway--the hellraiser she knew from childhood--after her father prosecuted him for murder. Now Reed's been released from prison, and though Ella finds herself wanting to believe his claims of innocence, she's getting closer than a "good girl" ever should to a man with such a bad reputation. . .

Dangerous Southern Nights

Reed Conway is on a mission: to find out who really murdered his stepfather and put his past behind him. But someone wants to interfere--someone determined to send Reed right back to prison for a brand-new crime. They've made it look like he's still a threat to Ella Porter and her family, when the truth is, the more he sees Ella, the more desperately he wants her. But his attempts to prove his innocence have put both their lives in jeopardy. . .because whoever is stalking Ella will stop at nothing--including murder. . .

Editorial Reviews

bn.com
Beverly Barton is right on target with her exhilarating blend of romantic suspense and southern sultriness in Every Move She Makes. Everyone knows that a Southern girl from a good family should keep her distance from a bad boy like Reed Conway, but the sexy ex-con is hard to resist. Ella Porter, adopted daughter of Alabama senator Webb Porter, knows that giving in to temptation could be dangerous to more than just her reputation. Years ago, just after Reed was convicted of murdering his stepfather, he sent her strange, troubling letters from prison, and now, right after his release, letters start coming again. Yet when Ella (who may have been raised to be a lady but is no coward) confronts Reed, he denies writing them and insists that he was innocent of the murder as well. Reed swears that if they can find the person behind the letters, they'll also find the real murderer and prove that Reed was framed for the crime. Before Ella can wonder who decided that she and Reed should be an investigative team, she and her self-proclaimed partner are passionately involved in a search that leads them ever deeper into danger and desire.
Publishers Weekly
Hot, steamy nights and dark family secrets abound in Barton's (The Protectors, etc.) suspenseful but somewhat convoluted romantic melodrama. When he was 18 years old, handsome bad boy Reed Conway was convicted of a crime he didn't commit killing his abusive stepfather, Junior Blalock. Out on parole after 15 years and back in his hometown of Spring Creek, Ala., Reed is determined to find the real murderer. But it seems everyone had a reason to kill Junior, including Senator Web Porter, the man who prosecuted Reed when he was the county DA. Meanwhile, the murderer, aware of the danger posed by Reed's probing, arranges events that will put the parolee back in the slammer. Complicating matters further is Reed's attraction to Web's daughter, taciturn Ella Porter. Ella is drawn to Reed's raw strength, and together the two overcome their vastly different backgrounds, join forces and try to find the real killer. The narrative's myriad subplots including a romance between Reed's mother and Web, and a sibling rivalry between Ella's aunt and mother may overwhelm the reader, but the novel's sizzling sexual chemistry and high suspense will satisfy sunbathers longing for sultry poolside reading. (Sept.) Forecast: Romances set in the South, especially those with a high sensuality quotient, are in high demand. Barton's latest will appeal to fans of Olga Bicos and Lisa Jackson and will likely garner respectable sales. Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781420118711
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
06/01/2006
Sold by:
Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
136,864
File size:
703 KB

Meet the Author

Beverly Marie Beaver(1946 —2011), better known as Beverly Barton, was an American author noted for her romantic suspense novels. She wrote more than thirty contemporary romance novels and created the popular The Protectors series. Her first Book Yankee Lover was published in 1990. Though best known for her romantic suspense novels, she also wrote historical and paranormal romances.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Every Move She Makes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! Excellent romantic suspense thriller! I read this in one sitting, it was so good I couldn't put it down until I finished! And what a finish! The killers identity had me stumped til the very end! Fastastic plot and story telling! I loved the characters! I've been on a Barton binge the last few weeks and can't get enough! Can't wait to read more! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LUCIARIVERS More than 1 year ago
LOVE THIS STORY, VERY SEXY
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SonyaIA More than 1 year ago
I usually like all of Beverly Barton's books but not this one. No time was spent trying to find the real killer. I almost gave up but after a point I was curious who the killer was. This entire book was based on dysfunctional relationships...... Ellas's parents, her aunt and uncle, Reed's mother and sister. Never was time spent on trying to figure out who framed Reed. If you like suspense don't bother......if you want to read about sex then this your book.
kpal More than 1 year ago
Up until this book I have thoroughly enjoyed and loved all of the Beverly Barton books I've read. I've read at least 4 of her other novels. This one is weak. The main character is supposed to be a Judge and yet there is no way that by reading how this character was written that anyone would buy in a million years that she was a Judge. The characters,storyline and writing was weak and predictable. Not a winner this time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago