The Fairy Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm Series #1) by Michael Buckley, Peter Ferguson |, Audiobook (CD) | Barnes & Noble
The Fairy Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm Series #1)

The Fairy Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm Series #1)

4.6 379
by Michael Buckley, L. J. Ganser
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

With the winning combination of Nancy Drew meets Shrek, this first book in the new Sisters Grimm series will entertain with a hilarious mix of mysteries and fairy tale twists. In the tradition of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles comes a new humorous mystery of fantastic circumstances.

Overview

With the winning combination of Nancy Drew meets Shrek, this first book in the new Sisters Grimm series will entertain with a hilarious mix of mysteries and fairy tale twists. In the tradition of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles comes a new humorous mystery of fantastic circumstances. The Sisters Grimm (Book One): The Fairy Tale Detectives introduces us to two orphaned sisters, Sabrina and Daphne, who are sent to live with their mysterious grandmother, Relda Grimm. Grandmother Grimm lives in a strange town in New York State, known for it's extraordinary number of unexplained and unusual crimes. As soon as the sisters arrive, they begin to unravel a mystery that leads to their ancestors' magical beginnings. Sabrina and Daphne learn they are descendants of the Brothers Grimm, who were actually detectives of the magical phenomenon perpetrated by the Everafters, a parallel race of magical beings. They soon discover it is the Grimm family's legacy to keep the Everafters in line and the two sisters are the sole heirs to this challenge!

In this first book in the series, the girls are pitted against giants, who have been rampaging through town in their search for an Englishman named Jack, currently working at the Big & Tall store. In a new breed of mystery that intermingles humor, excitement, adventure and imagination, The Sisters Grimm Book One: The Fairy Tale Detectives will inject the legends of fairytale with modern day sensibilities and suspense, creating an irresistible combination young readers will love!

Editorial Reviews

KLIATT
Move over Violet, Klaus, and Sunny! You'll be sharing the stage with seven-year-old Daphne and 12-year-old Sabrina, the Grimm sisters, descendents of the Brothers Grimm! Fans of Lemony Snicket will adore this new series. Imagine that the fairy tales we read as kids were actually true and were written down as historical accounts, and the Everafters, the name fairy tale creatures prefer, live alongside humans, using magic to hide their identities. Finally, imagine a destructive giant loose in the town. Welcome to Ferryport Landing, home of Relda Grimm, and grandmother to these girls. After their parents "disappear," they are forced to live in foster care and eventually come to live with their grandmother, who moonlights as a detective. She is also the keeper of Snow White's mirror, which helps her keep the peace between humans and Everafters. Prince Charming is the mayor of the town and appears at first to be responsible for the giant's destruction. The Three Little Pigs are the police force. It is not until the end that we learn that Jack, from "Jack and the Beanstalk," is actually looking for a publicity stunt to return him to his former glory. The twists and turns of the plot, the clever humor, and the behind-the-scenes glimpses of Everafters we think we know, will appeal to many readers. KLIATT Codes: J*—Exceptional book, recommended for junior high school students. 2005, Amulet Books, 304p., Ages 12 to 15.
—Annette Wells
At almost twelve, Sabrina is a savvy survivor. From the day her parents disappeared, she and her younger sister Daphne have been shuffled from one horrible foster home to another. When the book opens, she and Daphne have been sent to Ferryport Landing to a woman who claims to be their grandmother. Unfortunately, Granny Relda is a genuine nut case. However, Sabrina's doubts are dispelled when she sees the giant for herself and meets a host of fairy tale creatures, from Prince Charming to the Big Bad Wolf. When Granny is captured by the giant, Sabrina and Daphne must discover who has let the giant loose and rescue their grandmother. Then Sabrina learns that the Everafters (as the fairytale creatures prefer to be called) can't leave Ferryport Landing until she and her sister are dead! In this modern-day fairytale, Buckley has succeeded in creating a sympathetic heroine with a realistic voice plopped down in a fantastic setting. Most lovers of fantasy fiction will enjoy this book. It may even delight girls who enjoy realistic fiction because of Sabrina's plucky personality. 2005, Amulet Books/Abrams,, 304 pp., Ages young adult.
—Virginia Beesley
School Library Journal
Gr 4-6-Michael Buckley starts off with a bang in this energetic book (Abrams, 2005). Daphne and Sabrina Grimm have been tossed from one bad foster home to another after the disappearance of their parents. Now the grandmother they had been told was dead has sent for them. Naturally there's a measure of distrust, and it only increases when their new home of Ferryport Landing starts getting stranger and stranger. The girls soon learn they are from THE family Grimm, and their new home is full of "Everafters"-fairy-tale and other literary characters who are held in this town by the existence of the Grimms, and who are not necessarily happy with the situation. When Grandma is kidnapped by a giant, the girls must suspend their disbelief and go to her rescue, using whatever magical tools come to hand. But in a world of pixies, witches, and giant-killers, finding a trustworthy companion might be a problem. This is a wild ride with a corrupt Prince Charming, the Three Little Pigs in charge of the police department, and a wise-cracking Puck who may or may not be on their side. Facing problems together stretches the girls' ingenuity, and brings all the Grimms closer, while setting the stage for the next book in the series. L.J. Ganser reads the story with good pacing and a lot of verve, creating different voices and accents for the characters and bringing Buckley's story to vivid life. Listeners will enjoy the fast-paced action and grin at the humor, while delighting in the chance encounters with characters they should recognize from other stories. This definitely bodes well for the rest of the series.-Teresa Bateman, Brigadoon Elementary School, Federal Way, WA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Readers will definitely have to be up on their folktales, as well as children's lit classics in general, to catch all the references in this terrific, head-spinning series opener. Dumped roughly out of foster care into the arms of Relda, a twinkly-eyed woman claiming to be their grandma, Sabrina and Daphne Grimm, 11 and seven, find themselves in Ferryport Landing, a seemingly normal New York town originally (and more accurately) dubbed Fairyport Landing. It's inhabited by the likes of Mayor Charming, three chubby cops named Boarman, Swineheart and Hamstead and vulpine Mr. Canis-all transported overseas for their own safety long ago by four-times-Great Grandpa Wilhelm Grimm. Borrowing a flying carpet and a certain pair of silver slippers from a fashion-conscious Magic Mirror, Sabrina and Daphne quickly find themselves springing the renowned Jack from jail to help deal with a destructive giant who has snatched Relda. All is, however, not as it seems. Rich in well-set-up surprises and imaginatively tweaked characters, this tongue-in-cheek frolic features both a pair of memorable young sleuths and a madcap plot with plenty of leads into future episodes. (Fantasy. 10-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781419387463
Publisher:
Recorded Books, LLC
Publication date:
01/01/2006
Series:
Sisters Grimm Series, #1
Edition description:
Unabridged
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Michael Buckley's previous books include a New York Times bestseller, a Kirkus Best Fantasy Book, and two Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum winners. He has written and developed television shows for several networks. He lives with his wife, Alison, in New York City.

Peter Ferguson is a comic book and editorial artist living in Montreal, Canada.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >