Fall (Witch Season Series)

Fall (Witch Season Series)

4.5 8
by Jeff Mariotte

View All Available Formats & Editions

Summer's over. Kerry, Josh, Brandy, Scott, and Rebecca have left their California share and returned to school. Once, there was nothing better than the freedom and energy rush of college. But in the wake of such a life-altering summer, campus life leaves the friends feeling restless — and bored.
Kerry, for one, barely leaves her


Summer's over. Kerry, Josh, Brandy, Scott, and Rebecca have left their California share and returned to school. Once, there was nothing better than the freedom and energy rush of college. But in the wake of such a life-altering summer, campus life leaves the friends feeling restless — and bored.
Kerry, for one, barely leaves her dorm room. She keeps reading Daniel's journals over and over, searching for a clue to solve the mystery that is Season Howe. But answers aren't to be found — until the evil witch is finally spotted in Las Vegas.
The five friends trek to the city of sin, rallying to fight Season. She destroyed something important to them, and they all seek revenge. Unfortunately the season won't end without her taking something else: a life even more precious than the first....

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Kerry Profitt, first introduced in Witch Season: Summer, is now a freshman at Northwestern University in Witch Season: Fall by Jeff Marriotte. Daniel Blessing, the witch born in 1704 whom readers met in the previous book, is now dead, and the powerful witch Season is gone. Or is she? Kerry's nightmares are back, and her journey to locate Daniel's mother may invite Season's return. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Kerry Profitt is back and she's seeking revenge. When readers last left her in Witch Season: Summer, Kerry's world had been turned upside down as she was introduced to a life of magic, murder, and tragic love. Now she is determined to avenge the deaths of one of her roommates and of her boyfriend, Daniel. Daniel was a good witch who was killed in a fight with an evil witch named Season. With this hatred bubbling inside her, Kerry leaves her life as a college student and seeks out Daniel's mother in the Great Dismal Swamp of Virginia. Mother Blessing, another powerful witch, agrees to teach Kerry witchcraft in order to help her destroy Season once and for all. Kerry's former roommates, all characters from the first book, help her. While Kerry struggles with her lessons and her new way of life she learns a lot about who she is and what she is capable of. She pours over Daniel's old journals and writes entries in her own as she tries to process what is happening and how to defeat Season. The action all comes down to a showdown between Season and Mother Blessing in the Swamp as Kerry looks on. She learns that no one can truly be trusted and that she must rely on herself to see her mission through. The ending is a bit of a cliffhanger, leading obviously into the third book in this series. KLIATT Codes: S—Recommended for senior high school students. 2004, Simon & Schuster, Pulse, 294p., Ages 15 to 18.
—Erin Darr
School Library Journal
Gr 7 Up-College freshman Kerry and her friends continue the hunt for the evil witch Season, who killed Kerry's boyfriend, Daniel Blessing. With the help of his mother, a powerful witch in her own right, Kerry begins to learn the basics of witchcraft, teams up with old friends, and faces Season in a Las Vegas casino. Mariotte continues the saga that began in Summer, and it is apparent that there will be a Winter because Season has yet to be bested. Kerry is a determined protagonist. Mother Blessing is equally strong with the patience and wisdom of age. The plot is predictable, with more questions than answers at the end. In some ways, it reads like a movie director's notes, with Kerry's diary entries filling in details. While the two flow together, there is little that creates and sustains mood, tension, and thrill for readers. This book pales in comparison to Cate Tiernan's "Sweep" series (Penguin). However, readers who enjoyed the first title in this series may be looking for this one.-Molly S. Kinney, Nova Southeastern University, Ft. Lauderdale, FL Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

Turtleback Books: A Division of Sanval
Publication date:
Witch Season Series
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Jeff Mariotte is the author of more than forty-five novels, including the supernatural thrillers Season of the Wolf, River Runs Red, Missing White Girl, and Cold Black Hearts; the thriller The Devil’s Bait, the horror epic The Slab, the Dark Vengeance teen horror quartet, and others, as well as dozens of comic books, notably Desperadoes and Zombie Cop. He has written books, stories, and comics set in beloved fictional universes, including those of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel, CSI and CSI: Miami, The Shield, Criminal Minds, Conan, Superman, Spider-Man, Hellraiser, and many more, and is a two-time winner of the Scribe Award presented by the International Association of Media Tie-inWriters. He’s a co-owner of the specialty bookstore Mysterious Galaxy in San Diego, and lives in southeastern Arizona on the Flying M Ranch. Please visit him at JeffMariotte.com or Facebook.com/JeffreyJMariotte.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Fall 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This series is amazing! It's suspensful and it really gets your imagination going. The whole time I was reading it I didn't want to put it down. I was too excited to see what would happen next.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is really a page turner.i started with the special addition for books one and two and was very quick to buy winter and spring.this book takes you on a journey to an undiscovered land but still inside the real world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book ok. I liked the last book better, but this book had a surprise ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Those who have read it can imagine my disappointment when kerry was about to discover a secret about mother blessing when the book ended. The only reason I don't give it a fivestar is because they shoudld've given more hints as to mother blessing's secret.
Guest More than 1 year ago
first of all i gotta say the cover your seeing on bn.com is different from the actual, real cover you see when you buy the book Fall. this time Kerry wants revenge on the murders of Daniel and Mace at the hands of Season. Well everyone is off to start college again in different states, Kerry going to Northwestern University to start college. She decides to take a trip to see Mother Blessing to train her as a witch so she can battle Season and stop her before she kills anyone else.. little do they know that Josh has found Season hiding in Las Vegas. well, unfortunately she does kill someone, as she kills another member of the summer group which is now down to 4. at the end of the book, Kerry founds a little about a secret that Mother Blessing is holding regarding Season...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great easy read book for magic lovers! 'Witch Season: Summer,' has a great plot and many interesting twists and turns throughout the book. I do have to say the ending was somewhat sad and if you are romantic person don't read it. If you do read it be prepared to cry! Hopefully my happy ending will come in the next book ' Witch Season: Fall'