×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

False Positive
     

False Positive

3.7 3
by Andrew Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

For fans of Craig Johnson and James Lee Burke—False Positive follows up the powerful punch of Andrew Grant’s novel RUN with a staggering second dose of thrills and suspense that is just as smart, atmospheric, and soul-searing.
 
Alabama detective Cooper Devereaux makes no apologies for his luxe lifestyle or the way

Overview

For fans of Craig Johnson and James Lee Burke—False Positive follows up the powerful punch of Andrew Grant’s novel RUN with a staggering second dose of thrills and suspense that is just as smart, atmospheric, and soul-searing.
 
Alabama detective Cooper Devereaux makes no apologies for his luxe lifestyle or the way he does his job. Most cops haven’t lived the kind of life he has—starting out as an orphan, raised by a grizzled cop savior—and most don’t use his kind of high-risk tactics. But he may have met his match in fellow detective Jan Loflin, who’s fresh off a long undercover stint in Vice when they’re partnered on a case that will test them both beyond their direst nightmares.
 
A seven-year-old boy has disappeared from his home in the Birmingham suburbs. But the more Devereaux digs into the missing child’s background, the more he discovers about his own, eventually shaking loose a series of harrowing truths—about bloodlines, mass murder, obsession, and what two damaged detectives have in common with the innocent victim they’re so desperate to save. This twisty page-turner—the debut of the Detective Cooper Devereaux series—hurtles at a mile a minute through an action-packed search for a missing child, culminating in an ending that no reader will see coming.

Praise for False Positive
 
“A fast-moving thriller . . . Readers who like defects in their heroes will love this guy, who knows he’s not as good as he’d like to be. The final twist comes just as all finally seems well with the world. A dark, enjoyable novel. One of Grant’s better works.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“Smashing.”Booklist
 
“Engrossing . . . Action-driven, the book’s pace never stops until the startling conclusion, which will chill to the core.”RT Book Reviews (Top Pick!)
 
Praise for Andrew Grant’s RUN
 
“An adrenaline-fueled thrill ride that will have your head spinning and your heart pounding.”—Joseph Finder
 
“High stakes, high tension, and nonstop action . . . Hang on and enjoy this smart, original, and fast-paced adventure.”—Hank Phillippi Ryan
 
“Relentless, twisty, and blistering fast, it’s a book you don’t dare start at bedtime.”—Sean Chercover
 
“A whizbang of a novel with just the right dose of smart-ass.”—Chelsea Cain
 
“Breathtakingly fast-paced.”—Harlan Coben
 
“A perfect thriller—smart, fast, and blazing with nonstop surprises.”—Robert Crais

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for False Positive
 
“A fast-moving thriller . . . Readers who like defects in their heroes will love this guy, who knows he’s not as good as he’d like to be. The final twist comes just as all finally seems well with the world. A dark, enjoyable novel. One of [Andrew] Grant’s better works.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“Smashing.”Booklist
 
“Engrossing . . . Action-driven, the book’s pace never stops until the startling conclusion, which will chill to the core.”RT Book Reviews (Top Pick!)

Praise for Andrew Grant’s RUN
 
“An adrenaline-fueled thrill ride that will have your head spinning and your heart pounding.”—Joseph Finder
 
“High stakes, high tension, and nonstop action . . . Hang on and enjoy this smart, original, and fast-paced adventure.”—Hank Phillippi Ryan
 
“Relentless, twisty, and blistering fast, it’s a book you don’t dare start at bedtime.”—Sean Chercover
 
“A whizbang of a novel with just the right dose of smart-ass.”—Chelsea Cain
 
“Breathtakingly fast-paced.”—Harlan Coben
 
“A perfect thriller—smart, fast, and blazing with nonstop surprises.”—Robert Crais

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345540768
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/28/2016
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
224,028
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 7.50(h) x 1.40(d)

Meet the Author

Andrew Grant is the author of RUN and False Positive. He was born in Birmingham, England. He attended the University of Sheffield, where he studied English literature and drama. He ran a small independent theater company, and subsequently worked in the telecommunications industry for fifteen years. Grant and his wife, the novelist Tasha Alexander, divide their time between Chicago and the United Kingdom.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

False Positive 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
gloriafeit 6 months ago
This first in a new series by Andrew Grant introduces us to Birmingham, Alabama detective Cooper Devereaux. He is partnered with equally unconventional Jan Loflin, just coming off a long undercover stint in Vice, tasked with finding a seven-year-old boy who has disappeared from his suburban home. Devereaux himself has just recently been taken off suspension. Suffice it to say that he has an unconventional way of doing his job, which had ultimately caught up with him. From the publisher: The more Devereaux digs into the missing child’s background, the more he discovers about his own, eventually shaking loose a series of harrowing truths - - about bloodlines, mass murder, obsession, and what two damaged detectives have in common with the innocent victim they’re so desperate to save. Complicating things even further is Devereaux’ discovery of the dead body of a woman at one point in his investigation. It soon becomes apparent that the boy’s kidnapping is just the latest in a long list of kidnappings whose victims were all orphans. Devereaux, an orphan himself, becomes even more deeply emotionally involved than he had been. This is so much more than just a police procedural, filled as it is with unraveling truths dealing with bloodlines, mass murder, and obsession, much of that in Devereaux’ own background. Interspersed between many chapters are extracts from Police Files and Court records on Devereaux, calling into question just what is and is not true about him. As well, the reader doesn’t discover the identity of the kidnapper (till then just referred to as “the woman”) until quite late in the book, and the suspense abounds until, and even after, that point. And the meaning of the title, “False Positive,” doesn’t become apparent until just a bit earlier than that. Devereaux’ father, also a cop, had been killed, or so he had always believed, in the line of duty, nearly 40 years ago. Just one of many things as to his own background which he discovers during the course of the investigation, to his shock and dismay. And the turn the novel takes as it nears its end is thoroughly unexpected. This suspenseful novel is recommended.
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
I loved this book - it grabbed my attention from the first page and kept me engaged until the very last page. It is a well crafted mystery/thriller based on a horrific premise that kept me guessing through most of the book. Cooper is a police detective that is at the top of his game, but plays it right on the edge. That has led to many problems over the course of his career, so when he lands a missing child case he will leave no stone unturned to find the child.....legal or less than legal. Then the search becomes even more personal and he will do anything to find the child. If you like a well crafted and fast moving book, you have found it in False Positive. This is a must read for fans of the genre. I have added the author to my must read authors' list.
SUEHAV More than 1 year ago