Fandango Stew

( 4 )

Overview

Chile's good, so is barbecue, but nothing's finer than FANDANGO STEW!
No money? No problem! In this sunny, funny western-style take on the famous folktale “Stone Soup,” two penniless but wily vaqueros (cowboys) trick a whole town into cooking a giant pot of stew for everyone to share.
David Davis's ...
See more details below
Hardcover
$9.44
BN.com price
(Save 36%)$14.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (12) from $3.89   
  • New (4) from $6.50   
  • Used (8) from $3.89   

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids Read to Me - Enhanced, NOOK Edition)
$5.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Chile's good, so is barbecue, but nothing's finer than FANDANGO STEW!
No money? No problem! In this sunny, funny western-style take on the famous folktale “Stone Soup,” two penniless but wily vaqueros (cowboys) trick a whole town into cooking a giant pot of stew for everyone to share.
David Davis's deliciously colorful language and Ben Galbraith's delightful illustrations make this picture book a tasty confection.  
 
Key Selling Points:
A great read-aloud trickster tale
Award-winning author whose books have twice appeared on the Children's Choice Top 100 list
Offers a gentle message about sharing and community-building

About the Author
DAVID DAVIS's picture books include Texas Zeke and the Longhorn, Librarian's Night Before Christmas, and A Southern Child's Garden of Verses. His Jazz Cats, and Ten Redneck Babies were both named to the Children's Choice Top 100 list. An active presenter at schools, conferences, and libraries, David lives in FORT WORTH, TEXAS. Learn more about him at www.davidrdavis.com.
 
About the illustrator
BEN GALBRAITH is author and illustrator of The Three Fishing Brothers Gruff, praised by PW: “Working very much in the vein of Lane Smith, Galbraith produces a book both visually hip and handsome.” Ben lives in NEW ZEALAND. Find out more at www.bengalbraith.co.nz.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Davis (Texas Aesop's Fables) offers a Western version of the "Stone Soup" folktale. He uses a "fandango bean" in the place of the stone and sets the action in a town named Skinflint—populated by a collection of pompous misers who fall like ninepins for the sly patter of Slim and Luis. "This stew smells good, muchachos," Luis says. "Not as tasty as that batch over in Dog Leg Gulch—but good." When Slim says, "It can't be helped, amigo. We had potatoes in Dog Leg Gulch. This is Skinflint," a lawyer goes scurrying for potatoes. Repeated motifs ("Chili's good,/ so is barbecue,/ but nothing's finer than/ fandango stew!") and the mix of cowboy lingo and Spanish words add to the book's read-aloud charm, while Galbraith's (The Three Fishing Brothers Gruff) spreads more than do justice to the story. He crowds his work with handsome period details—brick buildings with false facades, handlebar mustaches, Slim's 10-gallon hat, and Luis's sombrero. The light that falls on all these objects is peculiarly chilly and fresh, adding to the innovative staging of this classic tale. Ages 3–up. (Mar.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 4—Slim and his grandson, Luis, ride into Skinflint hungry enough to "eat a boiled leather boot." Unfortunately, neither has a peso, so it looks like fandango stew for supper again. "Chili's good, so is barbecue,/but nothing's FINER than FANDANGO STEW!" When the sheriff is less than welcoming, they convince the town to let them prepare their famous dish for everyone to share. A big pot, some water, and one exceptional fandango bean will feed them all. Of course, additional ingredients would be much appreciated, and the townsfolk are happy to add potatoes, spices, vegetables, and rice to the kettle. When the stew is done, there's a celebration, and everyone eats their fill. The clever hombres have outwitted an entire populace again, and the next morning they ride off into the sunrise. Cleverly peppered with Spanish words and cowboy expressions, the text will delight young buckaroos. The story is familiar (this is "Stone Soup," the Wild West edition), but the setting breathes some new life into the tale. Readers should be able to translate the Spanish words through contextual clues, and the jargon is delightful. The illustrations, while vivid and full of clever detail, tend to lack dimension. In some scenes, characters appear to be walking on top of buildings, which may be a bit confusing to children. The colors are warm, and a red bandana pattern adorns the endpapers. A great read-aloud for just the right accent.—C. J. Connor, Campbell County Public Library, Cold Spring, KY
Kirkus Reviews

In this flavorful Wild West version of the classic "Stone Soup" tale, penniless Slim and his grandson, Luis, ride into the town of Skinflint, where, in the face of tremendous odds, they manage to rustle up a delicious stew with only one bean, inveigle in participation with his repetition of, "Chili's good, so is barbecue, but nothing's FINER than FANDANGO STEW!" The toe-tapping refrain repeats in two- to 47-part harmony, as the sheriff who wants to run them out of town, the scoffing mayor and the shopkeeper become curious enough to let the two loco hombres make stew for the whole town with just one fandango bean. As the curious townspeople, including the teacher and schoolchildren and the Skinflint Culture Club ladies, gather around, each volunteers ingredients, and each joins in what becomes a fandango stew fiesta and "the best dang stew shindig" ever seen. The chorus of voices repeating the refrain begs to be read aloud with audience participation, and Slim's parting advice that "Any bean makes a fine fandango stew. Just add generosity and kindness," hits the spot. Galbraith's mixed-media illustrations brim with humor, and design elements such as old-timey poster display type and colorful bandana endpapers provide just the right accompaniment to the folksy tale. (Picture book. 3-10)

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781402765278
  • Publisher: Sterling
  • Publication date: 2/1/2011
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 417,292
  • Age range: 3 - 7 Years
  • Lexile: AD820L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 8.80 (w) x 11.00 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great!!!!

    My girls (3 & 5) loved this book!! Soo great! I would highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Excellent Fantastic writing!

    David Davis has hit a grand slam with this book! You must check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Fandango Fantastic! Great reviews in Wall Street Journal and Kirkus!

    David Davis' book says, "Chile's good, so is barbecue, but nothing's finer than FANDANGO STEW!"
    Youngsters and adults will enjoy this rip-roaring fun book based on a Western retelling of "Stone Soup". The timeless message of generosity and kindness will resonate with parents, teachers, librarians and kids. I highly recommend this for your home and school libraries. A great read-aloud with lots of humor and excitement with a Tex-Mex multicultural flavor, too. The detailed and fantastic illustrations are right-on for this child-pleasing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)