FANG Free Preview (Maximum Ride Series #6) [NOOK Book]

Overview

FANG WILL BE THE FIRST TO DIE.

For years, Max has been desperately on the run from evil forces trying to prevent her from her destiny to save the world -- but nothing has ever rocked her world like this horrifying prophetic message . Fang is Max's best friend, her soul mate, her partner in leading the flock of winged children. A life without Fang is unimaginable.

Max's desperate desire to protect Fang brings the two closer than ever. But their ...

See more details below
FANG Free Preview (Maximum Ride Series #6)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook - Free Preview)
FREE

Overview

FANG WILL BE THE FIRST TO DIE.

For years, Max has been desperately on the run from evil forces trying to prevent her from her destiny to save the world -- but nothing has ever rocked her world like this horrifying prophetic message . Fang is Max's best friend, her soul mate, her partner in leading the flock of winged children. A life without Fang is unimaginable.

Max's desperate desire to protect Fang brings the two closer than ever. But their world is turned upside down yet again when another winged boy, the beautiful Dylan, is introduced into the flock. Raised in a lab, like the flock, he exists for only one reason: He was created to be Max's perfect other half.

Now a battle of science against soul and perfection versus passion unfolds, twists and turns . . . A meanwhile, the apocalypse is coming.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940000728741
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Publication date: 2/9/2010
  • Series: Maximum Ride Series , #6
  • Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition description: Free Preview
  • Sales rank: 11,014
  • Age range: 13 - 17 Years
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

James Patterson
Not making any bones about his bid for success, James Patterson once declared he wanted to be known as “the king of the page-turners.” While that may seem like a pretty grand ambition, Patterson is as worthy of that title as any author working today.

Biography

James Patterson had been working as a very successful advertising copywriter when he decided to put his Masters degree in English to a somewhat different use. Inspired by bestselling hair-raising thrillers like The Day of the Jackal and The Exorcist, Patterson went to work on his first novel. Published in 1976, The Thomas Berryman Number established him as a writer of tightly constructed mysteries that move forward with the velocity of a bullet. For his startling debut, Patterson was awarded the prestigious Edgar Award for Best First Mystery Novel—an auspicious beginning to one of the most successful careers in publishing.

A string of gripping standalone mysteries followed, but it was the 1992 release of Along Came a Spider that elevated Patterson to superstar status. Introducing Alex Cross, a brilliant black police detective/forensic psychologist, the novel was the first installment in a series of bestselling thrillers that has proved to be a cash cow for the author and his publisher.

Examining Patterson's track record, it's obvious that he believes one good series deserves another…maybe even a third! In 2001, he debuted the Women's Murder Club with 1st to Die, a fast-paced thriller featuring four female crime fighters living in San Francisco—a homicide detective, a medical examiner, an assistant D.A., and a cub reporter. The successful series has continued with other numerically titled installments. Then, spinning off a set of characters from a previous novel (1998's When the Wind Blows), in 2005 he published Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment. Featuring a "flock" of genetically engineered flying children, the novel was a huge hit, especially with teen readers, and spawned a series of vastly popular fantasy adventures.

In addition to continuing his bestselling literary franchises, Patterson has also found time to co-author thrillers with other writers—including Peter de Jonge, Andrew Gross, Maxine Paetro, and Howard Roughan—and has even ventured into romance (Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas, Sam's Letters to Jennifer) and children's literature (santaKid). Writing at an astonishing pace, this prolific author has turned himself into a one-man publishing juggernaut, fulfilling his clearly stated ambition to become "the king of the page-turners."

Good To Know

Patterson's Suzanne's Diary For Nicholas was inspired by a diary his wife kept that tracked the development of their toddler son.

Two of Patterson's Alex Cross mysteries (Along Came a Spider and Kiss the Girls) have been turned into films starring Morgan Freeman; in 2007, a weekly television series premiered, based on the bestselling Women's Murder Club novels.

Read More Show Less
    1. Hometown:
      Palm Beach, Florida
    1. Date of Birth:
      March 22, 1947
    2. Place of Birth:
      Newburgh, New York
    1. Education:
      B.A., Manhattan College, 1969; M.A., Vanderbilt University, 1971
    2. Website:

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 2244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(910)

4 Star

(370)

3 Star

(399)

2 Star

(220)

1 Star

(345)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2264 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    disappointed

    Very disappointed that my "free" ebook only was a chapter long- then it says you can go to the website to download the entire book- NOT

    137 out of 147 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    What a ripoff!

    False advertising. This professed to be a complete book. It was not. Barnes and Noble---forget it!

    68 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    Not The Whole Book

    I'm sick of the Barnes & Nobles Free EBOOKS that don't admit to being just a chapter or two. It's fine but let me know so I don't get all excited. Don't waste your time unless you've never even glanced at a Maximum Ride novel.

    66 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Not a complete book

    I wish b & n would tell you if these free books were samples or complete books. Just because it's free doesn't mean they should not tell you it's only a chapter or two.

    44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Only 5 chapters.

    OK, this is only a free sample. Not the whole book, but it was still GREAT! I preordered the real book, and I am waiting for the real deal to come out.

    42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    My daughter was soooooo disappointed....

    I am also agreeing with all other posters that this was a real disappointment when thinking we were getting the entire book. I did see on one screen where it said it was a 'preview', but not on the first ordering screen.

    Shame on Barnes and Noble for misrepesenting what you were actually getting.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    why did i by a nook instead of kindle?

    This is not free...false advertising. So far I have gotten nowhere with these so called free books that end up being 1 to 5 chapters. At least come up with maybe lending for some books and give us a time limit to read them...grr

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Not the Whole the Book!

    I agree with so many others, I hate it when you find out that you are only getting a little bit of a book. I could not tell you if I liked it, the preview I got was not enough to enjoy and yet not enough to make me want to buy the book to find out. I wish they would state that is a preview not the whole book. I guess the book could be worth reading, but who knows?

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Deceptive methods by BN

    On the description for Maximum Ride #6, these exact words were used: "Note: Start to warm up -- for a limited time you can get Book One of Fang: A Maximum Ride Novel, for Free!" Nowhere does that say "you will get the first few chapters". It says "Book One". I'm sitting in a hotel room on a Saturday night, bored to tears, with next to zero internet. So, why not buy a couple of books to get through the next couple weeks?

    I've read half a dozen of Mr. Patterson's books in print, but I won't be reading this one. Or any of the others in the series. Or, Stephen King's "The Stand" which was in my shopping cart when I realized that I had 41 pages instead of a full book. If BN can't do better than repackaging Project Gutenberg books, scans from Google Books, and an occasional current release, then we should all buy an iPad or Kindle2 and hope for some relief later in 2010.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    rip-off

    I agree with other postings... the "free" e-books thus far have been a HUGE disappointment. I've had my nook for several months and have only found 1 worth the time to read. They've been short, incomplete or just pure trash. B&N needs to step up and quit misrepresenting what it is really offering... which is....????

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Once again suckered for a chapter.

    I really wish there was some way to determine if you are getting a book - as advertised - or jsut a couple of chapters. I find that I need to take multiple steps with each download - first order, then check to see if there is really a book there. I have no problem with sample chapters if they are labled as such! Bad B&N,

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I think I can do better somewhere else.

    Where are the thousands of "free" books you claim to have?
    How do I get to the million free books I am told I can download from Google (part of you advertizing)?

    Your books are listed as "Free" but I find it is only a sample after I download it. Lousy way to do business.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    Why advertise as free

    At least when Amazon says it's free it's true!!!!! You don't know that it's only a preview until you click in to it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    WOW

    This was just.. wow. it was like JP just thought: "Gee, what else can I throw in here?" It's gotten to too many turns and changes, its just so many patches zipped up in one book. SOOO dissapointing. :(

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    IT SAYS PREVIEW< OBVIOUSLY IT"S NOT A WHOLE BOOK..........

    Not to be horrible, but it does say "PREVIEW" right next to the title, so you should ride your haughty high horse to another ebook website. These books are FREE stop complaining. A review saying "hey this book was only 14 pages" is great to see, but cheap complainers need to zip it. James Patterson is a great author, and he needs to make a living so he has a free "preview" to suck you in hook , line, and sinker.........Maybe you should be more appreciative to the fact that there are FREE ebooks to download at all......... (in response to short-changed)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Short changed!

    I was very disappointed to find that the ebook I downloaded was just the first 41 pages. Isn't that false advertising???? I thought maybe I had clicked on the sample download, but when I went back to try to download the book I was told I already had it. This sort of chinzy dealing is enough to make me not purchase any of his books. I hope he gets to read these reviews. Maybe he will take some action.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    why recommend 49 pages of nuthing

    hahahaha

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    Disappointed -not a whole book - just a chapter

    Can you say "bait and switch"! Just a chapter, not a whole book. Let's be a bit more above board when trying to push books, B&N.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MAX has maxxed out for me

    When I first found the Maximum Ride series, I devoured them - they were fresh, fun, and a fast read. But, alas, the sparkle has gone for me. Each one has been more of the same. And somehow, I did not feel a sense of urgency when the team was saving the world (seemed like a lot of didactic preaching to me). Neil Gaiman and Phillip Pullman, who also sometimes write for younger audiences, seems to develop more diverse plots and intriguing characters. Unfortunately, after reading the first "book" of 41 pages, I was not enticed to read more. It was a book I could and did easily put down.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Fang

    I absolutely loved the preview!! i never saw Dylan coming. I highly reccomend this book. It comes out tomorrow and I'm already jumping in my seat with excitement!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2264 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)