Fangbone! Third-Grade Barbarian (Fangbone!Third Grade Barbarian Series #1)

Fangbone! Third-Grade Barbarian (Fangbone!Third Grade Barbarian Series #1)

5.0 2
by Michael Rex
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As seen on Disney XD, a hilarious graphic novel perfect for fans of Captain Underpants!
Eastwood Elementary has a new student, and he's nothing like the other kids in 3G. Fangbone is a barbarian warrior from another world! And he's been charged with the task of keeping a deadly weapon from Skullbania's vilest villain, Venomous Drool. Can Fangbone's new

Overview

As seen on Disney XD, a hilarious graphic novel perfect for fans of Captain Underpants!
Eastwood Elementary has a new student, and he's nothing like the other kids in 3G. Fangbone is a barbarian warrior from another world! And he's been charged with the task of keeping a deadly weapon from Skullbania's vilest villain, Venomous Drool. Can Fangbone's new classmates team up to help him triumph over hound-snakes, lava-ferrets, and his first pop quiz?


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Flat, primitive art in yellow and gray brings to mind “what if the Wimpy Kid was instead Conan’s kid?” The book’s not attractive, but it is easy to read and very expressive. It looks like something a classmate might have scribbled on notebook paper and passed around, providing a sense of “I could do this!” The familiar plot sends the young Fangbone, normally picked on by the bigger warriors, on a mystical quest that, if successful, will reward the clan with victory against the enemy army. The young fighter is surprised to find that his mission involves blending in at an elementary school, which leads to much culture-clash humor. It’s cute, funny, and will win over most readers with its commitment to its premise. It’s even heartwarming, as Bill (Fangbone’s friend, previously thought to be a loser) learns confidence, and Fangbone gains an appreciation for teamwork during a dodgeball-like game. The modern touches—such as hot wings and Bill’s ADD medicine—ground the book, while jabs at school philosophy through the character of the goofy principal will entertain adult readers. Ages 7–9. (Jan.)
School Library Journal
Gr 2–4—Residing in roughly the same territory as Dav Pilkey's recent gross-out graphic novel, The Adventures of Ook and Gluk (Scholastic, 2010), Fangbone! is the goofy first installment in a series that will likely be a hit with reluctant readers. In Fangbone's homeland of Skullbania, supporters of evil Venomous Drool are poised to take over. All they have to do is piece together all the body parts of their ruler. To keep this from happening, the young barbarian is sent to our dimension with Drool's big toe—the final piece of the puzzle. Along the way, Fangbone enters third grade, learns about our world, builds an army, and fights off a variety of monsters sent from Skullbania to retrieve the toe. The humor is nonstop—sometimes sly, other times, just corny. The panel layout and basic cartoon illustrations are simple and clear. The orange and brown color scheme is a bold choice that isn't traditionally appealing, but suits the book well and certainly sets it apart. An entertaining mix that will find many eager boy readers, Fangbone! should receive a warm welcome in any collection.—Travis Jonker, Dorr Elementary School, MI
Kirkus Reviews
A lackluster graphic-novel offering for the young-male reading set, full of gross-outs, slapstick humor and out-of-this world adventures. In the far-away world of Skullbania, fledgling barbarian Fangbone has to suffer the injustices of being little: He gets no respect, no one listens to him and the elders mock him with humiliating requests ("Pick the spider eggs out of my armpit!"). When he volunteers to guard the Big Toe of the detested overlord Drool, he is sent with it to the safety of our world by a powerful Skullbanian sorcerer. Fangbone ends up in class 3G, an unfortunate and uncoordinated motley crew who desperately needs help to win their upcoming beanball tournament (it's "like dodgeball, but the balls are smaller and you throw harder"). Fangbone--who has a wickedly advantageous barbarian throwing arm--needs an army, and the two groups find each other to be extremely beneficial. The illustrations are done in a drab yellow and gray palette and wind their jaundiced way through this predictable plot distinguished by expected formulaic silliness. This series opener offers little novelty--readers will have seen similar tropes explored in Captain Underpants or Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady series. The expected blend of boogers, barbarian battles and beanballs may hold some appeal for young boys seeking hijinks over highbrow literature. (Graphic fiction. 9-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101550427
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
01/05/2012
Series:
Fangbone!Third Grade Barbarian Series , #1
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
128
Sales rank:
984,434
Lexile:
GN310L (what's this?)
File size:
36 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
7 - 9 Years

Meet the Author

Michael Rex lives in the Bronx, New York.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Fangbone! Third-Grade Barbarian 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
{}:::::::[:::::::::::::::::::::::::>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont even know if this works on the nook simple touch...