Far From Home
  • Far From Home
  • Far From Home

Far From Home

3.0 3
by Anne DeGrace
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption….A story that will impact our own lives profoundly.”
—Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home—a thoughtful

See more details below

Overview

“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption….A story that will impact our own lives profoundly.”
—Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home—a thoughtful and lovely novel about the chance encounters that can change our lives forever. Paulette Jiles, the New York Times bestselling author of Enemy Women, calls Anne DeGrace “a gifted story teller” and Far From Home “thoroughly enjoyable.” The story of a lost teenager who finds herself in a diner in the middle of nowhere, Far From Home is superb introduction for U.S readers to a talented writer who has already made a splash in her native Canada.

Editorial Reviews

Owen Sound Sun Times (Ontario)
“Deliciously written.”
Katrina Kittle
“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption, FAR FROM HOME will change the way you interact with strangers.”
Publishers Weekly
A diner waitress in late 1970s Canada listens to her customers' stories in DeGrace's plodding second novel (after Treading Water). Young Jo leaves an unfortunate situation at home, only to land a waitress gig at a roadside cafe in the middle of nowhere. One windy day sends several travelers to Jo's tables, and each is more than ready to share their story: an elderly woman with nothing to lose, a ruined young businessman on the run, a well-meaning Mountie with a crisis and many more, all in one way or another connected to a hitchhiking hippie named Pink. The parade of archetypes through the diner is a weak stand-in for a plot, and reading their painfully predictable backstories is equivalent to a dose of Ambien. The lack of insight and drama is terminal. (Nov.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061728808
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
11/10/2009
Pages:
258
Sales rank:
1,450,590
Product dimensions:
5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.64(d)

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

Katrina Kittle
“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption, FAR FROM HOME will change the way you interact with strangers.”

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >