The Far Side of the Stars (RCN Series #3)

( 1 )

Overview

While the Republic of Cinnabar is at peace with the Alliance, warriors like Lt. Daniel Leary and Signals Officer Adele Mundy must find other work—like escorting a pair of wealthy nobles on an expedition to the back of beyond! The Princess Cecile, the corvette in which they carved their reputations in letters of fire, has been sold as a private yacht, but she still has her guns, her missiles, and her veteran crew. Daniel and Adele will need all of those things as they face winged dragons, an Alliance auxiliary ...

See more details below
Paperback (Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)
$7.19
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$7.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (56) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $4.11   
  • Used (49) from $1.99   
The Far Side of the Stars

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price

Overview

While the Republic of Cinnabar is at peace with the Alliance, warriors like Lt. Daniel Leary and Signals Officer Adele Mundy must find other work—like escorting a pair of wealthy nobles on an expedition to the back of beyond! The Princess Cecile, the corvette in which they carved their reputations in letters of fire, has been sold as a private yacht, but she still has her guns, her missiles, and her veteran crew. Daniel and Adele will need all of those things as they face winged dragons, an Alliance auxiliary cruiser, jealous lovers, and a mysterious oracle which really does foresee the future. That won't be enough, though, when they penetrate a secret Alliance base and find a hostile fleet ready for a war that will sweep Cinnabar out of a strategically crucial arm of the galaxy. Preventing that will involve skill, courage, and more luck than a sane man could even pray for; and it will require a space battle on a scale that a tiny corvette like the Princess Cecile has no business being involved in. But she'll be in the middle of it anyway, because Daniel, Adele, and their Cinnabar crew would never turn their backs on a fight!

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
The Barnes & Noble Review
Lieutenant Daniel Leary and Warrant Officer Adele Mundy are back in The Far Side of the Stars, the third book in David Drake's RCN series (With the Lightnings and Lt. Leary, Commanding). A marked departure from his popular military science fiction novels (Warlord, Conqueror, etc.) and bestselling Lord of the Isles fantasy saga, Drake's RCN series is best described as high space opera. Protagonist Leary is part John Wayne, part Don Juan, as he travels the galaxy killing villains and seducing damsels in the name of the Republic of Cinnabar Navy.

In The Far Side of the Stars, the recent armistice between Cinnabar and the Alliance of Free Stars has led to many ships being decommissioned. One of those ships is the Princess Cecile, the legendary warship involved in many of Leary's past heroics. A couple of snobbish nobles purchase the ship, turn it into a private yacht, and hire Leary and his crew -- which includes information specialist Mundy -- to guide them on a tour throughout the largely unexplored Galactic North. While the aristocrats search for wild alien creatures to hunt down and kill as trophies, Leary manages to discover a priceless long-lost artifact, become one with a primitive deity, and spark another war!

Fans of Simon R. Green's Deathstalker novels and David Feintuch's Seafort saga should give Drake's RCN series a try if they haven't already. It's space opera the way it's supposed to be: breakneck-paced, overflowing with action, populated with larger-than-life characters, more than a little irreverent, and just plain entertaining. Paul Goat Allen

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780743488648
  • Publisher: Baen
  • Publication date: 11/28/2004
  • Series: RCN Series , #3
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 528
  • Sales rank: 315,863
  • Product dimensions: 4.60 (w) x 6.90 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Adventures of Adele Mundy & Daniel O'Leary

    One of a series by David Drake. Well defined, interesting characters. Entertaining stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)