Fashion Kitty and the Unlikely Hero

Fashion Kitty and the Unlikely Hero

by Charise Mericle Harper
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fashion Kitty is experiencing a bit of a slump. Lately, there haven't been as many fashion emergencies to solve. But when the principal of her school makes a new rule that everyone has to wear boring school unforms, Fashion Kitty can finally be able to put her fashion talents to use. But what if some kitties don't want her help? And who is the bad kitty who has been

Overview

Fashion Kitty is experiencing a bit of a slump. Lately, there haven't been as many fashion emergencies to solve. But when the principal of her school makes a new rule that everyone has to wear boring school unforms, Fashion Kitty can finally be able to put her fashion talents to use. But what if some kitties don't want her help? And who is the bad kitty who has been leaving gum under the principal's chair? Fashion Kitty learns that it can be the unlikliest of kitties who can teach the most important fashion lessons.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Melissa Joy Adams
Kiki is just a regular kitty but when there is a fashion emergency, she changes into Fashion Kitty, her secret superhero identity, complete with her pink costume and mask. The only problem is, ever since the principal Mrs. Rumple decided to change the school dress code to require school uniforms, there has not been any need for Fashion Kitty. Kiki is just beginning to wonder if she will have to hang up her superhero mask for good when she finally hears a cry for help, but when she show up her help is rejected. Is there another fashion superhero in town? And if so, who is she? In this graphic novel, Harper creates the perfect plot conflict for Kiki, aka Fashion Kitty, the challenge of new school uniforms. Readers, especially those attending schools that require uniforms, will appreciate the amusing plot and Kiki's quirky personality. Harper's bold colorful graphics add to the quirkiness and fun. Reviewer: Melissa Joy Adams
School Library Journal

Gr 3-6

Kiki Kittie and her friends experience a fashion emergency when their school principal forces them to wear uniforms, and Kiki's alter ego, the superhero Fashion Kitty, must come to the rescue. In the meantime Kiki has to deal with sibling rivalry and conflict with close friends. Girls will love the fun cartoon-style art, the graphic-novel format, and the soft color palette. The activities at the end, including paper dolls to cut out and dress, are an extra treat but might be a problem in libraries. Fashion Kitty will likely appeal to fans of Jennifer Holm and Matthew Holm's "Babymouse" series (Random).-Mari Pongkhamsing, St. Perpetua School, Lafayette, CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780786837274
Publisher:
Disney-Hyperion
Publication date:
01/06/2009
Series:
Fashion Kitty Series
Pages:
112
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Charise Mericle Harper has created several picture books for children, including The Monster Show: Everything You Never Knew About Monsters; There Was a Bold Lady Who Wanted a Star; The Trouble with Normal; Itsy Bitsy, the Smart Spider; and Imaginative Inventions. She just launched a new series with Houghton called Just Grace. Charise lives with her family in Westchester, New York.

same as above

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >