Faure: Pelléas et Mélisande, Après Un Rêve, Pavane, Elégie, Dolly Suite

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (6) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $10.43   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/25/1990
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028942308923
  • Catalog Number: 423089
  • Sales rank: 14,743


Disc 1
  1. 1–5 Pelléas et Mélisande, incidental music and suite for orchestra, Op. 80 - Gabriel Fauré & Boston Symphony Orchestra (20:43)
  2. 2 Après un rêve ("Dans un sommeil"), song for voice & piano, Op. 7/1 - Gabriel Fauré & Boston Symphony Orchestra (3:20)
  3. 3 Pavane, for orchestra & chorus ad lib in F sharp minor, Op. 50 - Gabriel Fauré & Boston Symphony Orchestra (6:53)
  4. 4 Élégie for cello & piano or orchestra in C minor, Op. 24 - Gabriel Fauré & Boston Symphony Orchestra (6:53)
  5. 9–14 Dolly, suite for piano, 4 hands or orchestra, Op. 56 - Gabriel Fauré & Boston Symphony Orchestra (18:06)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Seiji Ozawa Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Listen to it and enjoy

    The composer, pianist and organist Gabriel Urbain Fauré (b 1845 -d1924) was, perhaps, the first French composer of his contemporaries, and his musical élan charmed many Twentieth Century composers. His sympathetic and pleasing melodic language impacted the methods of structuring and teaching music with respect to the composition and progression of chords - a combination of three or more notes that blend harmoniously when sounded together. <BR/><BR/>At the end of his life he had severe hearing impairment, that rendered him deaf. <BR/><BR/>His childhood was spent with a foster-nurse, and then at nine, he studied for some eleven years the organ and choir as part of religious ceremony. <BR/><BR/>Faure was lucky to have had the opportunity to follow his courses with several outstanding French contemporary musicians, like Camille Saint-Saëns, who introduced him to the music of several celebrity composers, including Franz Liszt and Robert Schuman. Later on he travelled to Weimar where he also met Liszt and Cologne to see Richard Wagner's production: the Ring. <BR/><BR/>In this recording we have: Pelléas et Mélisande, Op. 80, Après un rêve, Op. 7, Pavane, Op. 50, Élégie, Op. 24, and Dolly, Op. 56, 6-pieces Suite for piano at 4 hands -"Berceuse", "Mi-a-ou", "Le Jardin de Dolly", "Kitty-Valse", "Tendresse", "Le Pas Espagnol" -. Composed between 1893 and 1912 - <BR/><BR/>Faure's music during this period transfuses a cauldron of love and agony, personal grief may have influenced his composition but enriched the world's musical repertoire. <BR/><BR/>Dolly suite is lovely, initially composed for piano duet in 1893-97 dedicated to Miss Helene Bardac - dolly - to whose mother Emma (later Debussy's second wife) Faure was greatly affectionate at the time. <BR/><BR/>Listen to it and enjoy.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews