Fearless: A Novel by Mike Dellosso, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Fearless: A Novel

Fearless: A Novel

4.4 5
by Mike Dellosso
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


A child mysteriously appears in the lives of Jim and Amy Spencer. Will her presence be a blessing…or a curse?
 
When a nine-year-old girl named Louisa mysteriously appears in the middle of a house fire with no memory of how she got there or where she came from, Jim and Amy Spencer agree to take her in. Wrestling with the recent loss of

Overview


A child mysteriously appears in the lives of Jim and Amy Spencer. Will her presence be a blessing…or a curse?
 
When a nine-year-old girl named Louisa mysteriously appears in the middle of a house fire with no memory of how she got there or where she came from, Jim and Amy Spencer agree to take her in. Wrestling with the recent loss of their own child, Amy is hurt and angry while Jim is just trying to make it through each day and hold their marriage together.
 
For Jim, Louisa is the daughter he always wanted, but Amy isn’t as comfortable with her. The girl has a special gift, and soon that gift will unknowingly push them all into contact with a serial killer who has been terrorizing the small town of Virginia Mills. Only by uniting can Jim and Amy save themselves and Louisa before it’s too late.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781621362418
Publisher:
Charisma Media
Publication date:
05/31/2013
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
435,361
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher

“Mike Dellosso’s Fearless packs an emotional punch. His engaging characters and riveting plot pull the reader right into the story. He’s a true craftsman!” —Tom Pawlik, Christy Award–winning author of Vanish, Valley of the Shadow, and Beckon
 
“What a killer story! With a relentless pace and raw, wounded characters, Fearless kept me up late into the night—I could not read fast enough.” —Ronie Kendig, award-winning, best-selling author of the Discarded Heroes series and Trinity: Military War Dog
 
“Mike spins a tale that combines suspense and compassion, intrigue and hope. Born of fire but created in love, this is a ride that will keep you wondering until you turn the final page.” —Ace Collins, best-selling author of The Yellow Packard and Darkness Before Dawn

Meet the Author

 
Mike Dellosso is the author of numerous novels of suspense, including Darkness Follows, Darlington Woods, and Scream. He is an adjunct professor of writing at Lancaster Bible College and frequent contributor to Christian websites and newsletters. Mike is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers association, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance, the Relief Writer’s Network, and FaithWriters, and he plans to join International Thriller Writers. He earned his BA degree from Messiah College and his MBS from Master’s International School of Divinity. He lives in Hanover, PA, with his wife and daughters. 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Fearless: A Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fearless, by Mike Dellosso, is a Christian mystery/thriller in the vein of  Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker.  It starts of a little bit slow, allowing the reader some time to get to know the characters, and it follows three primary story lines. The book is 286 pages long, and it took me quite a few of them to feel like I had a firm handle on those plot lines. The action takes place in plot #1, which follows the movements and rationalizations of a serial killer, while the emotional and developmental part of the book occurs in plot #2, where a mysterious little girl appears in a burning house and continues to surprise everyone from then until the end of the book. Plot #3 follows a woman with an abusive live-in boyfriend. These stories seem entirely unconnected, but Dellosso's talent shows in the skill with which he manages to weave them all together. Dellosso's writing is engaging and easy to read, making this a great book for someone who doesn't have a large chunk of time to sit and read but instead reads in spurts in the doctor's office or on the bus. The story is a bit slow, however, until about halfway through, and picks up considerably towards the end. The characters are believable and round; due to the nature of the genre they each harbor specific emotional and/or spiritual wounds. Sometimes the way these wounds or the characters' thoughts about them are described feels repetitive. All in all, this isn't great literature - but it doesn't claim to be! It is a good, fun book that is great for summer reading. It's worth putting on your list!
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
When I picked up this book I new the premise of it from the back cover, it was awesome. What a page turner it became, and loved the short chapters. You never saw what was going to happen next. Once you open the cover your hooked. Be ready for a great, suspenseful journey. We open the story with Jake trying to wake up, he can't breath...there is a fire. All of a sudden there is a little 9 year old girl there, telling him that all is ok. She even has his cat in her arms, he had been trying to find. Where had she come from?? A rather odd situation, a child out of no where. The Police Chief Doug Miller, wants what is best for the Child, and until we find out who she is. He has Jim and Amy Spencer take her. Now Jim takes to the child immediately, but Amy is still struggling with her grief of loosing her daughter, before she was born. What will it take for Amy to come around? Are they in danger from the events that circle this child? How about with the serial murders that are all of a sudden happening. You are going to be so surprised by the ending...it is a page turner. I loved it, and highly recommend you read it! I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
libraryboy More than 1 year ago
She just appeared out of nowhere.  First the fire was about to take Jake's life, the next she was  kneeling down with him telling him things she couldn't possibly know.  And where did she come  from?  Fire was all around them, but they were able to make it out alive.  This young girl, Louisa,  who appeared out of nowhere is headed temporarily to live with Jim and Amy Spencer.  Jim and Amy have helped out in the past with temporary shelter, but this time it's a little different.  Amy has just recently had a miscarriage and is finding it difficult to get past the hurt and move on.  Upon  meeting Louisa, she again tells Amy things that she shouldn't know and these things put Amy ill  at east around her.  One day on the playground, Louisa "prays" for a young girl with Multiple Sclerosis  and the young girl is healed.  Another time she "prays" for a young boys tumors and they disappear.   As word get around about the "miracle worker", Jim and Amy close ranks around her to protect her.   In the meantime, there's a killer on the loose.  Bodies are turning up each day and the Police Chief is  no closer to solving that case, then he is to finding out where Louisa came from.  Does Louisa hold some kind of healing power? Can Amy let go of the hurt caused by her miscarriage? Will the killer be  found before the next body is discovered? Who is this little girl and what is her story?  If you think I'm going to give it away, FORGET IT!  GO BUY THE BOOK! I have read pretty much every book by Mr. Dellosso and I could venture to state a very obvious comment.  He keeps getting better with each book that he writes.  I truly enjoy reading an author over a span of several books to see their writing style evolve and improve.  There's nothing worse  to me than an author who found the "secret" novel once and keeps churning that same storyline out for 15 books thinking they still have it.  I can tell you, if you read one of Mr. Dellosso's books, you  will need to read them all because they are all so different.  The twists and turns that he provided in  this book kept me guessing as to how it would end and how everything would be connected.  Just  like a well-oiled machine, Mr. Dellosso has this book finely tuned and ready for anybody to pick up and enjoy. Is this a guy's book?  This is a quintessential guy's book.  Mystery, adventure, murder you name it.  If these are the elements of a great novel that you love to crack open, then this new novel by  Mr. Dellosso is for you! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mike Dellosso is one of my favorite authors and he does not disappoint with his new thriller Fearless. The mystery and suspense are great. I love the characters and felt a part of the book, something that is important to me when I read. I love how he tells a story. Few authors can take take you from the worst evil to the best love as he can.
onedesertrose More than 1 year ago
From mystery/thriller author, Mike Dellosso, comes his newest book, Fearless! It’s the story of one little girl, Louisa, who is fearless in the midst of evil. When she prays, people are healed–at least most. She first appears in the midst of Jake Tucker’s fire, which was almost done in by a pot of eggs. With no knowledge of who she is and where she is from, Doug Miller, the local Chief of Police, ask Jim and Amy Spencer to take Louisa in until they find out who she is and where she belongs. Though they have been foster parents for years, Amy and Jim are reeling over the miscarriage of their baby. Amy is mostly spooked by the little girl’s actions, but Jim has taken a fatherly liking to her, which endears him to me. She seems to be the daughter they lost. After Louisa prays for and heals different children, the town’s people all want healing. That opens the door to wreak havoc with the Spencer’s in more ways than one. You will find that people aren’t always who they appear to be. To up the ante in his book, the town of Virginia Mills has a serial killer on their hands. The police have no clues, no evidence and no idea who the perpetrator is. There are few common denominators amongst the victims. The murders happen once a day for seven days in a row. The police are stymied. Mike’s unique style of supernatural thrillers comes alive one more time in Fearless. His use of metaphors opens your eyes to comprehend situations in a broader, more vivid view. He touches on several issues that intertwine throughout the story–domestic abuse, revenge, murder, miscarriage, childhood abuse, miracle healings, faith, and respect. Mike’s superb writing interweaves all these issues and more throughout the chapters and keeps you on the edge of your seat, trying to help the individuals that are being targeted. But you are helpless, as are most of the victims! If you love thrillers, you will enjoy this book! It will intrigue you and set you on edge from page one to the very end. But do be aware, there are gruesome scenes that may be disturbing. This e-book was provided by the author through The Darlington Society in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received for my review.