Finding Your Way: The Art of Natural Navigation

Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (4) from $3.86   
  • New (1) from $175.00   
  • Used (3) from $3.86   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$175.00
Seller since 2015

Feedback rating:

(215)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
In the tradition of Edward Abbey and Edward Wilson, naturalist Jennifer Owings Dewey has done an amazing job writing about her outdoor adventures. While the title is a bit deceptive, Ms. Dewey has created a passionate picture of the outdoors. Her book presents a series of anecdotes, which, rather than describing the mechanics of finding one's way in the wilderness, actually describe the emotions it evokes. Ms. Dewey creates an almost poetic tone with her writing, allowing the reader to become immersed in these short stories. Stephen Trimble's photographs further bring out the emotions the author is eliciting in the text. This is a good book for students to read to kindle a passion for our natural world. The bibliography is detailed and provides for further reading. 2001, The Millbrook Press, $23.90. Ages 8 to 13. Reviewer: John D. Orsborn
School Library Journal
Gr 5-7-Dewey takes armchair travelers on a fascinating journey as she describes her experiences of being lost in the Jornada del Muerto Desert in New Mexico, the Antarctic wilderness, and in Tierra del Fuego. The interesting scientific details and engaging nature writing and observation mixed with a sense of adventure will captivate readers. The author describes how it feels to be lost and disoriented, and includes tips on and clues for using nature to regain one's sense of balance and place. Small sketches provide interesting tidbits of information about the surrounding landscapes, and clear color photos illustrate each chapter. Readers will learn some basics of orienteering through Dewey's travelogues as she describes the steps she took to find her way. However, this information is really secondary. What will remain in readers' minds is the author's acceptance and enjoyment of the journey, her wonder and feelings of connection to the natural world, the certainty that by using her senses she will find her way, and her fearlessness. Readers looking for real-life adventure and survival stories will enjoy this engaging account.-Jennifer Ralston, Harford County Public Library, Belcamp, MD Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780761309567
  • Publisher: Lerner Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 4/28/2001
  • Format: Library Binding
  • Pages: 64
  • Age range: 9 - 11 Years

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)