Finding Your Way: The Art of Natural Navigation

Finding Your Way: The Art of Natural Navigation

by Jennifer Owings Dewey
     
 

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
In the tradition of Edward Abbey and Edward Wilson, naturalist Jennifer Owings Dewey has done an amazing job writing about her outdoor adventures. While the title is a bit deceptive, Ms. Dewey has created a passionate picture of the outdoors. Her book presents a series of anecdotes, which, rather than describing the mechanics of finding one's way in the wilderness, actually describe the emotions it evokes. Ms. Dewey creates an almost poetic tone with her writing, allowing the reader to become immersed in these short stories. Stephen Trimble's photographs further bring out the emotions the author is eliciting in the text. This is a good book for students to read to kindle a passion for our natural world. The bibliography is detailed and provides for further reading. 2001, The Millbrook Press, $23.90. Ages 8 to 13. Reviewer: John D. Orsborn
School Library Journal
Gr 5-7-Dewey takes armchair travelers on a fascinating journey as she describes her experiences of being lost in the Jornada del Muerto Desert in New Mexico, the Antarctic wilderness, and in Tierra del Fuego. The interesting scientific details and engaging nature writing and observation mixed with a sense of adventure will captivate readers. The author describes how it feels to be lost and disoriented, and includes tips on and clues for using nature to regain one's sense of balance and place. Small sketches provide interesting tidbits of information about the surrounding landscapes, and clear color photos illustrate each chapter. Readers will learn some basics of orienteering through Dewey's travelogues as she describes the steps she took to find her way. However, this information is really secondary. What will remain in readers' minds is the author's acceptance and enjoyment of the journey, her wonder and feelings of connection to the natural world, the certainty that by using her senses she will find her way, and her fearlessness. Readers looking for real-life adventure and survival stories will enjoy this engaging account.-Jennifer Ralston, Harford County Public Library, Belcamp, MD Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780761309567
Publisher:
Lerner Publishing Group
Publication date:
04/28/2001
Pages:
64
Product dimensions:
7.50(w) x 9.00(h) x (d)
Age Range:
9 - 11 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >