BN.com Gift Guide

Firebrand: An Elemental Novel [NOOK Book]

Overview

In this sequel to the dystopian fantasy-adventure ELEMENTAL, which James Dashner called "fantastic," the stakes are life-or-death and nothing is as it appears to be.

Thomas and his friends have rescued the Guardians and commandeered the pirates' ship, but the pirates still hold fast to Roanoke Island. Using his newly discovered element, Thomas hears a radio message calling for refugees to head to Fort Sumter. They sail south, but quickly ...
See more details below
Firebrand: An Elemental Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$14.99
BN.com price

Overview

In this sequel to the dystopian fantasy-adventure ELEMENTAL, which James Dashner called "fantastic," the stakes are life-or-death and nothing is as it appears to be.

Thomas and his friends have rescued the Guardians and commandeered the pirates' ship, but the pirates still hold fast to Roanoke Island. Using his newly discovered element, Thomas hears a radio message calling for refugees to head to Fort Sumter. They sail south, but quickly discover that their elements wane as they leave Roanoke behind. There is something sinister going on in the refugee colony too. From the perilous food-gathering squads, to the constant threat of rat infestation, to dangerous secrets, Thomas and his colonists begin to realize that this promising new world may be even more terrifying than the one they left behind.

Fans of The Maze Runner and Ship Breaker will love the fast pace, high stakes, and touches of romance in this thrilling novel by an award-winning author.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Courtney Huse Wika
At the end of Elemental (Dial, 2012/Voya August 2012), the future looked uncertain for Thomas, his friends, and the Guardians. Firebrand finds them attempting to cope, post-battle. They have lost loved ones, the Guardians are at odds, and Thomas is attempting to reconcile the revelation of his element. While they have commandeered the pirates’ ship, they have no home to which they can return. Thus, when they uncover a mysterious message claiming that safety lies at Fort Sumter, they set their sails for the refugee camp. There, they are welcomed into the village by the chief, and with food, water, and shelter, they attempt to leave the past behind to settle into their new roles in the camp. This security is short-lived, however, as Thomas and his crew begin to uncover the chief’s true intentions. Trapped, and with their elements’ potencies strained without the connection to Roanoke Island, this could be the end for Thomas and the Guardians. Firebrand is the next installment of this dystopian series, which rewrites the history of the Lost Colony with paranormal mythology. Here, Thomas and his friends begin to uncover the connection between their elemental abilities and the lost colony of Roanoke, where over one hundred English settlers apparently vanished into the wilderness in the fourteenth century. In addition to the historical elements, the plot finds depth in Thomas’s struggle with issues of guilt, ethics, and loyalty. A page-turner with a dose of mystery and adventure, this series will interest fans of fantasy, history, and romance. Reviewer: Courtney Huse Wika; Ages 11 to 18.
School Library Journal
02/01/2014
Gr 7–10—At the end of Elemental (Dial, 2012), Thomas was focused on defeating pirate captain Dare and his crew, and saving the Guardians-the colonists of postapocalyptic Roanoke Island-during a hurricane. Now that this task is accomplished and the storm has passed, the teen and his friends find themselves scrambling to escape as their enemies try to retake their ship. Thomas uses his newfound Element-supernatural powers derived from the elements-to channel energy into the ship's radio and hear a message directing refugees to Fort Sumter. Their journey down the coast of a plague-ridden U. S. is fraught with peril. But life at Fort Sumter is not ideal, either. While the adults are losing their powers the further they are from home, Thomas and his friends still have theirs, and try to keep these abilities hidden. Thomas struggles with trust in Chief, who runs the Fort, and his people. A dangerous mission out of their new home reveals who they can and cannot trust, and an enemy from the past reappears. The adolescents gain a better understanding of their unique abilities and the vastness of the country, and the way they adjust to these facts is realistic. The ever-present worry of contracting the Plague, along with the mystery of whether the protagonist's brother is the cure to the pandemic, adds tension to the story line. The fast-paced action is balanced throughout, and the cliff-hanger ending will leave fans waiting impatiently for Thomas's fate.—Kelly Jo Lasher, Middle Township High School, Cape May Court House, NJ
Kirkus Reviews
2013-10-02
The second installment of the Elemental series sees Thomas and his friends leaving Hatteras Island for new dangers (Elemental, 2012). Having rescued both themselves and the Guardians from the pirate captain Dare, Thomas, his brother, Griffin, and the other Elemental castaways sail their way south toward a refugee camp at Fort Sumter, near Charleston, S.C. The body count on their ship is steadily rising, however, and their supernatural powers--the ability to harness the different elements such as fire, water and wind--are fading the further they move away from Hatteras; readers know there's more peril to come. John's ability to spin a good plot has improved since the first installment, and this sequel moves briskly, particularly on the perilous voyage from Hatteras to Fort Sumter, where the danger and drama run high. What's curious, however, are his choices of historical landmarks for the setting. Readers may find themselves struggling to see connections between the two, since the events that took place there are so many years apart. Though there's some back story provided to explain the displacement of the Elementals, less information is given as to why these settlements have arisen in this new dystopian world hundreds of years later. Perhaps all will be revealed in another sequel. (Post-apocalyptic adventure. 12-16)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101600061
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 11/14/2013
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 304
  • Sales rank: 85,209
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author


Antony John is the Schneider Award-winning author of Five Flavors of Dumb, Thou Shalt Not Road Trip, and Elemental. For many years he was a regular visitor to the Outer Banks. He was bewitched by the beauty of the landscape and fascinated by the legends that surrounded them. Although Elemental and Firebrand are set in the future, they have their origins in the islands' remote past—an era of sailing ships, small, independent colonies, and still-unsolved mysteries. Antony now lives with his family in St. Louis, Missouri.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I really liked this one I can't wait to see what happens next. 

    I really liked this one I can't wait to see what happens next. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    AMAZING

    Couldn't wait for this one to come now i cannot wait fir the next one. Keep up the great book LONG LIVE THE ELEMENTALS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)