Firebrand: An Elemental Novel

Firebrand: An Elemental Novel

5.0 3
by Antony John
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In this sequel to the dystopian fantasy-adventure ELEMENTAL, which James Dashner called "fantastic," the stakes are life-or-death and nothing is as it appears to be.
 
Thomas and his friends have rescued the Guardians and commandeered the pirates' ship, but the pirates still hold fast to Roanoke Island. Using his newly discovered element, Thomas hears a… See more details below

Overview

In this sequel to the dystopian fantasy-adventure ELEMENTAL, which James Dashner called "fantastic," the stakes are life-or-death and nothing is as it appears to be.
 
Thomas and his friends have rescued the Guardians and commandeered the pirates' ship, but the pirates still hold fast to Roanoke Island. Using his newly discovered element, Thomas hears a radio message calling for refugees to head to Fort Sumter. They sail south, but quickly discover that their elements wane as they leave Roanoke behind. There is something sinister going on in the refugee colony too. From the perilous food-gathering squads, to the constant threat of rat infestation, to dangerous secrets, Thomas and his colonists begin to realize that this promising new world may be even more terrifying than the one they left behind.

Fans of The Maze Runner and Ship Breaker will love the fast pace, high stakes, and touches of romance in this thrilling novel by an award-winning author.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"The eerie setting, with its skeletal buildings and mysterious past, is practically a character in itself." — School Library Journal review of Elemental

"Engaging characters and plenty of mystery, adventure, and action." — Publishers Weekly review of Elemental

Five Flavors of Dumb was the winner of the Schneider Family Book Award

Praise for Firebrand:
“A page-turner with a dose of mystery and adventure, this series will interest fans of fantasy, history, and romance.” –VOYA reviews

VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Courtney Huse Wika
At the end of Elemental (Dial, 2012/Voya August 2012), the future looked uncertain for Thomas, his friends, and the Guardians. Firebrand finds them attempting to cope, post-battle. They have lost loved ones, the Guardians are at odds, and Thomas is attempting to reconcile the revelation of his element. While they have commandeered the pirates’ ship, they have no home to which they can return. Thus, when they uncover a mysterious message claiming that safety lies at Fort Sumter, they set their sails for the refugee camp. There, they are welcomed into the village by the chief, and with food, water, and shelter, they attempt to leave the past behind to settle into their new roles in the camp. This security is short-lived, however, as Thomas and his crew begin to uncover the chief’s true intentions. Trapped, and with their elements’ potencies strained without the connection to Roanoke Island, this could be the end for Thomas and the Guardians. Firebrand is the next installment of this dystopian series, which rewrites the history of the Lost Colony with paranormal mythology. Here, Thomas and his friends begin to uncover the connection between their elemental abilities and the lost colony of Roanoke, where over one hundred English settlers apparently vanished into the wilderness in the fourteenth century. In addition to the historical elements, the plot finds depth in Thomas’s struggle with issues of guilt, ethics, and loyalty. A page-turner with a dose of mystery and adventure, this series will interest fans of fantasy, history, and romance. Reviewer: Courtney Huse Wika; Ages 11 to 18.
School Library Journal
02/01/2014
Gr 7–10—At the end of Elemental (Dial, 2012), Thomas was focused on defeating pirate captain Dare and his crew, and saving the Guardians-the colonists of postapocalyptic Roanoke Island-during a hurricane. Now that this task is accomplished and the storm has passed, the teen and his friends find themselves scrambling to escape as their enemies try to retake their ship. Thomas uses his newfound Element-supernatural powers derived from the elements-to channel energy into the ship's radio and hear a message directing refugees to Fort Sumter. Their journey down the coast of a plague-ridden U. S. is fraught with peril. But life at Fort Sumter is not ideal, either. While the adults are losing their powers the further they are from home, Thomas and his friends still have theirs, and try to keep these abilities hidden. Thomas struggles with trust in Chief, who runs the Fort, and his people. A dangerous mission out of their new home reveals who they can and cannot trust, and an enemy from the past reappears. The adolescents gain a better understanding of their unique abilities and the vastness of the country, and the way they adjust to these facts is realistic. The ever-present worry of contracting the Plague, along with the mystery of whether the protagonist's brother is the cure to the pandemic, adds tension to the story line. The fast-paced action is balanced throughout, and the cliff-hanger ending will leave fans waiting impatiently for Thomas's fate.—Kelly Jo Lasher, Middle Township High School, Cape May Court House, NJ
Kirkus Reviews
2013-10-02
The second installment of the Elemental series sees Thomas and his friends leaving Hatteras Island for new dangers (Elemental, 2012). Having rescued both themselves and the Guardians from the pirate captain Dare, Thomas, his brother, Griffin, and the other Elemental castaways sail their way south toward a refugee camp at Fort Sumter, near Charleston, S.C. The body count on their ship is steadily rising, however, and their supernatural powers--the ability to harness the different elements such as fire, water and wind--are fading the further they move away from Hatteras; readers know there's more peril to come. John's ability to spin a good plot has improved since the first installment, and this sequel moves briskly, particularly on the perilous voyage from Hatteras to Fort Sumter, where the danger and drama run high. What's curious, however, are his choices of historical landmarks for the setting. Readers may find themselves struggling to see connections between the two, since the events that took place there are so many years apart. Though there's some back story provided to explain the displacement of the Elementals, less information is given as to why these settlements have arisen in this new dystopian world hundreds of years later. Perhaps all will be revealed in another sequel. (Post-apocalyptic adventure. 12-16)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101600061
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
11/14/2013
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
89,976
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for Firebrand:
“A page-turner with a dose of mystery and adventure, this series will interest fans of fantasy, history, and romance.” –VOYA reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >