Firestorm (Weather Warden Series #5) [NOOK Book]

Overview

Rogue Weather Warden Joanne Baldwin is racing to New York to warn her former colleagues of the impending apocalypse. An ancient agreement between the Djinn and the Wardens has been broken, and the furious Djinn, slaves to the Wardens for millennia, have broken free of mortal control.

 

With more than half the Wardens unaccounted for in the wake of the Djinn uprising, ...
See more details below
Firestorm (Weather Warden Series #5)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Rogue Weather Warden Joanne Baldwin is racing to New York to warn her former colleagues of the impending apocalypse. An ancient agreement between the Djinn and the Wardens has been broken, and the furious Djinn, slaves to the Wardens for millennia, have broken free of mortal control.

 

With more than half the Wardens unaccounted for in the wake of the Djinn uprising, Joanne realizes that the natural disasters they’ve combated for so long were merely symptoms of restless Mother Nature fidgeting in her sleep. Now she’s waking up—and she is angry....



Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
The Barnes & Noble Review
In Rachel Caine's Weather Warden novel, Mother Earth is having a nightmare about an unstoppable plague spreading across her vastness: humanity.

Slowly awakening from an eons-long slumber, the matronly planetary spirit is reacting to her horrific visions and trying to heal herself by inflicting her surface with weather-related catastrophes including hurricanes, earthquakes, and out-of-control wildfires. To complicate matters for humanity, the only faction that has any chance of battling Earth's barrage of deadly disasters, the Weather Wardens, are involved in its own apocalyptic conflict. The Djinn, mystical creatures who have been subjugated by the Wardens for centuries, are now free, and some have vowed bloody retribution. The role of planetary savior falls to Joanne Baldwin, a former Weather Warden whose magical abilities and past experience with the Djinn (one was -- and still is -- her lover) makes her the perfect person to try and somehow communicate with the planetary mind. Her quest to avoid the bloodthirsty Djinn and get a message to Mother Earth (or one of her Oracles) becomes more difficult when a madman abducts her sister, her supernatural lover disappears, and she discovers that she is the proud mother of a beautiful and precocious half-bred Djinn daughter!

This highly palatable blend of contemporary fantasy and paranormal romance should appeal to fans of authors like Charlaine Harris, Kim Harrison, and Julie Kenner -- as well as to aspiring meteorologists everywhere. Laurell K. Hamilton meets the Weather Channel! Paul Goat Allen
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101128800
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 9/5/2006
  • Series: Weather Warden Series , #5
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 320
  • Sales rank: 94,124
  • File size: 322 KB

Meet the Author

Rachel Caine is the author of more than twenty novels, including the "Weather Warden" series. She was born at White Sands Missile Range, which people who know her say explains a lot. She has been an accountant, a professional musician, and an insurance investigator, and still carries on a secret identity in the corporate world. She and her husband, fantasy artist R. Cat Conrad, live in Texas with their iguanas, Popeye and Darwin; a mali uromastyx named (appropriately) O’Malley; and a leopard tortoise named Shelley (for the poet, of course).
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Oooh

    Werecats!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    V

    Um but we are cats we cant build

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Waterpelt

    Warriors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Smudgepelt to Lilysoul

    I was in trouble mom took my nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Spottedkit

    Runs onto a crowd of warriors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Sunglow

    Phelps or lochte?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Shimmer

    Furnishes the living roo with a red couch with silver pillows. Then puts a black coffie table in the living room. Then puts a tv in the room with every single video game system in the world. And the games too. The she places a waterbed with black boarder and silver sheets and red pillows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Lilyblossom

    Make bed in corner of den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Break through

    You think you have figured out what has happen, but the she throughs you a curve and you are hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Weather Wardens

    Having read other books by Ms. Caine, I found these to be the best. Intriguing concept for magic, exciting characters and central heroine. Ms. Caine keeps you on the end of your seat and get ready for a ride if you read these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best in series

    In this book theres always something going one, always another twist just around the corner. This is a book i couldnt put down until i finished it. The only down side: you have to read the first 4 books or u'll have no idea whats going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Weather Warden Series is a terrific.

    I am really into the para-normal and loved Rachel Caines YA book series involving the Morganville Vampires. I decided to read her Weather Warden series since her YA books were so good. The Weather Wardens are fun, sexy, intriguing, mystical and powerful. The love relationship between Joanna (the main character) and a Dinja (David - a Genie) is well worth the read alone. I do not watch the weather channel the same way anymore. The weather and how the characters control it is so unique and interesting. I would suggest reading the whole series from the beginning, since the majority of the characters are in all of the books. Reading from the beginning will give the story a better flow and understanding for you. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    i loved this book its one of the best books i've ever read and i think every one should read this book it was so good i finished it in a day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this serius, its my favorite one and this is also one of my favorite book!!!!!!!!!!!It has everything i love it in, and even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)