Firestorm (Weather Warden Series #5) by Rachel Caine | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Firestorm (Weather Warden Series #5)

Firestorm (Weather Warden Series #5)

4.4 80
by Rachel Caine
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Rogue Weather Warden Joanne Baldwin is racing to New York to warn her former colleagues of the impending apocalypse. An ancient agreement between the Djinn and the Wardens has been broken, and the furious Djinn, slaves to the Wardens for millennia, have broken free of mortal control.
 
With more than half the Wardens unaccounted for in the wake of the Djinn

Overview

Rogue Weather Warden Joanne Baldwin is racing to New York to warn her former colleagues of the impending apocalypse. An ancient agreement between the Djinn and the Wardens has been broken, and the furious Djinn, slaves to the Wardens for millennia, have broken free of mortal control.
 
With more than half the Wardens unaccounted for in the wake of the Djinn uprising, Joanne realizes that the natural disasters they’ve combated for so long were merely symptoms of restless Mother Nature fidgeting in her sleep. Now she’s waking up—and she is angry....

Editorial Reviews

bn.com
The Barnes & Noble Review
In Rachel Caine's Weather Warden novel, Mother Earth is having a nightmare about an unstoppable plague spreading across her vastness: humanity.

Slowly awakening from an eons-long slumber, the matronly planetary spirit is reacting to her horrific visions and trying to heal herself by inflicting her surface with weather-related catastrophes including hurricanes, earthquakes, and out-of-control wildfires. To complicate matters for humanity, the only faction that has any chance of battling Earth's barrage of deadly disasters, the Weather Wardens, are involved in its own apocalyptic conflict. The Djinn, mystical creatures who have been subjugated by the Wardens for centuries, are now free, and some have vowed bloody retribution. The role of planetary savior falls to Joanne Baldwin, a former Weather Warden whose magical abilities and past experience with the Djinn (one was -- and still is -- her lover) makes her the perfect person to try and somehow communicate with the planetary mind. Her quest to avoid the bloodthirsty Djinn and get a message to Mother Earth (or one of her Oracles) becomes more difficult when a madman abducts her sister, her supernatural lover disappears, and she discovers that she is the proud mother of a beautiful and precocious half-bred Djinn daughter!

This highly palatable blend of contemporary fantasy and paranormal romance should appeal to fans of authors like Charlaine Harris, Kim Harrison, and Julie Kenner -- as well as to aspiring meteorologists everywhere. Laurell K. Hamilton meets the Weather Channel! Paul Goat Allen
Weather Warden Joanne Baldwin faces stormy times in the tempestuous fifth installment of this hit series. She must put her personal problems behind her as she rallies the Weather Warden troops to suppress the rebellious Djinn while managing the threat of a potentially explosive Mother Earth. Fast-paced fun for readers of Jim Butcher, Laurell K. Hamilton and MaryJanice Davidson.
From the Publisher
“[As] swift, sassy, and sexy as Laurell K. Hamilton!”—Mary Jo Putney

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101128800
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/05/2006
Series:
Weather Warden Series , #5
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
93,661
File size:
456 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Rachel Caine is the author of more than twenty novels, including the "Weather Warden" series. She was born at White Sands Missile Range, which people who know her say explains a lot. She has been an accountant, a professional musician, and an insurance investigator, and still carries on a secret identity in the corporate world. She and her husband, fantasy artist R. Cat Conrad, live in Texas with their iguanas, Popeye and Darwin; a mali uromastyx named (appropriately) O’Malley; and a leopard tortoise named Shelley (for the poet, of course).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Firestorm (Weather Warden Series #5) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Warriors
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Um but we are cats we cant build
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was in trouble mom took my nook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Furnishes the living roo with a red couch with silver pillows. Then puts a black coffie table in the living room. Then puts a tv in the room with every single video game system in the world. And the games too. The she places a waterbed with black boarder and silver sheets and red pillows.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Make bed in corner of den
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Phelps or lochte?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You think you have figured out what has happen, but the she throughs you a curve and you are hooked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago